Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-05-12, 03:12 AM   #13
Vardant
 
Vardant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: EU
Posts: 1,041
Default Re: NVIDIA GeForce 295.51

I can't complain either.
Vardant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-12, 10:31 AM   #14
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: NVIDIA GeForce 295.51

Loving these as well... I think people have system issues that are 99% of the issues not the drivers.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-12, 03:43 PM   #15
i SPY
007
 
i SPY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: You were sayin'
Posts: 290
Default Re: NVIDIA GeForce 295.51

No Bf3 didnt pass, but it took much longer then 290.xx at same timings heh, all 290.xx in matter of minutes now ~ 40-45min..

I played whole map Canals?, but then the server switched to Metro and after ~ 15min it happened - High pitch sound, i raised tRFC from 70 to 76 and it seemed to have helped and stopped, i didnt play long enough to say its 100% cured (with 290.xx i have to use tRFC 80+ even at std 1068mhz).

Also there is some weird stuttering in Metro map (outside) mostly or only Metro, i saw at least 5-6 people reporting the same. It was practically super smooth with 290.xx compared to these 295.xx and without any smoke issues at ultra.. Also they did something with anti aliasing and now its uglier. A lot of objects are either missing AA or very low quality - this is with 4xmsaa, no post aa.


Lame.

And It is still stalling with flash content (10-15sec), usually only when i start the browser for the first time and open flash based site that has youtube videos on it. No issues with aero or anything like that, i saw a few saying its switching aero on and off.. Im using the latest FF10 based browser waterfox 10 (64bit). It happened on FF9 too (32bit).
__________________
intel Q9450 @ 3.656Ghz [1.3875v, LLC off]| GA-X48-DS5 [Memory Enhance: Turbo]|MSi N570GTX TwinFrozrIII OC/PowerEdition|Kingston HyperX 4x2GB PC 8500 @ 1097Mhz [5-5-5-18, 2.25v]| Creative X-FI Pro [SB046A]| Tagan PipeRock 600w [48A]

i SPY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-12, 04:05 PM   #16
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: NVIDIA GeForce 295.51

Quote:
Originally Posted by i SPY View Post
No Bf3 didnt pass, but it took much longer then 290.xx at same timings heh, all 290.xx in matter of minutes now ~ 40-45min..

I played whole map Canals?, but then the server switched to Metro and after ~ 15min it happened - High pitch sound, i raised tRFC from 70 to 76 and it seemed to have helped and stopped, i didnt play long enough to say its 100% cured (with 290.xx i have to use tRFC 80+ even at std 1068mhz).

Also there is some weird stuttering in Metro map (outside) mostly or only Metro, i saw at least 5-6 people reporting the same. It was practically super smooth with 290.xx compared to these 295.xx and without any smoke issues at ultra.. Also they did something with anti aliasing and now its uglier. A lot of objects are either missing AA or very low quality - this is with 4xmsaa, no post aa.


Lame.

And It is still stalling with flash content (10-15sec), usually only when i start the browser for the first time and open flash based site that has youtube videos on it. No issues with aero or anything like that, i saw a few saying its switching aero on and off.. Im using the latest FF10 based browser waterfox 10 (64bit). It happened on FF9 too (32bit).

Drop any CPU / GPU overclocks and test. The issues don't sound Nvidia driver related. Even the weird stuttering, if your PC is too overclocked you may get that before a crash. I had something similar at 4.8Ghz and back off to 4.6 or 4.7ghz and didn't have a problem. For some reason 4.8Ghz CPU overclock wasn't 100% stable in BF3 but all other games were fine...and it would get strangely choppy before it would crash on me too.

Passed hours of prime / linx, etc but BF3 caused my PC to crash with the higher CPU overclock. I think you need to back off everything to stock and retest these. Your overclock may need to be backed off a touch.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-12, 04:35 PM   #17
i SPY
007
 
i SPY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: You were sayin'
Posts: 290
Default Re: NVIDIA GeForce 295.51

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman2 View Post
Drop any CPU / GPU overclocks and test. The issues don't sound Nvidia driver related. Even the weird stuttering, if your PC is too overclocked you may get that before a crash. I had something similar at 4.8Ghz and back off to 4.6 or 4.7ghz and didn't have a problem. For some reason 4.8Ghz CPU overclock wasn't 100% stable in BF3 but all other games were fine...and it would get strangely choppy before it would crash on me too.

Passed hours of prime / linx, etc but BF3 caused my PC to crash with the higher CPU overclock. I think you need to back off everything to stock and retest these. Your overclock may need to be backed off a touch.

Im almost 100% sure its nvidia driver, they tried to squeeze some extra perf. out of the system (main ram) and then it started happening 290.37, esp. 290.53.. Most people got BSOD or hard lock freeze, i had a couple too until i changed my timings and voltage.

yeah im at lower OC atm, because with 290.53+ I had to drop down my OC (in signature) or it would freeze, it was fine at 3.6ghz (ram 1080mhz) before 290.xx it would hardlock no matter what tRFC or std 5-5-5-18, even at 5-6-6-18 timings..



Also BF3 is definitely more choppy with 295.51 >> Metro map TDM, even at my standard lower OC that passed 290.53 3-4hr BF3 64player map session (as in signature atm), the rest is ok Caspian Border, Canals etc., ok that's if i ignore lower AA quality.


-----
Edit: its HBAO that leaks memory + effects on ultra that cause see through effect and streaming stutter in Metro level..

Metro - outside (TDM part of the map) starts at 780mb and rises to 1178mb in 1-2min or every respawn,

Canals (TDM part) starts at 900mb rises to ~1240mb. Idk what was with 290.53 didn't monitor it.

With SSAO stays at ~ 1060mb even with effects on ultra. But the streaming choppiness remains, its only 2-3 spots but still kinda annoying (its almost none at effects on high and ssao) and like i said it wasnt so pronounced with 290.xx (HBAO, effects ultra)..


And im back to lower OC, yeah damn BF3 is too much on my MCH with tight ram timings and r290.xx+.
----

Btw, if you crashed in BF3 but passed other stuff like linx/IBT,.., then its your voltage QPI/PPL, cpuv too low or to high, same goes for advanced timings.. Test BF3 and you will see
__________________
intel Q9450 @ 3.656Ghz [1.3875v, LLC off]| GA-X48-DS5 [Memory Enhance: Turbo]|MSi N570GTX TwinFrozrIII OC/PowerEdition|Kingston HyperX 4x2GB PC 8500 @ 1097Mhz [5-5-5-18, 2.25v]| Creative X-FI Pro [SB046A]| Tagan PipeRock 600w [48A]


Last edited by i SPY; 02-05-12 at 11:15 PM. Reason: typos..
i SPY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-12, 11:15 AM   #18
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: NVIDIA GeForce 295.51

I didn't see any difference in high to ultra and it's well documented it's meant for dual GPUs so that people with $1000 in GPUs don't feel ripped off... it's that 11 setting that can make people feel their investment was worth it... in reality I don't see a difference...and I'm using 1 GPU so, oh well.

I run SSAO, High. I know everyone has this intense desire to max everything out... but this is one time where ultra isn't worth it. Drop it to high, use SSAO and voila your problem with stuttering is solved
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-12, 12:01 PM   #19
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: NVIDIA GeForce 295.51

These are working good for me and my Fiance's PC. She has a GTX 260 and was having artifacts in Saints Row 3 but these resolved the issue.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-12, 04:11 PM   #20
i SPY
007
 
i SPY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: You were sayin'
Posts: 290
Default Re: NVIDIA GeForce 295.51

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman2 View Post
I didn't see any difference in high to ultra and it's well documented it's meant for dual GPUs so that people with $1000 in GPUs don't feel ripped off... it's that 11 setting that can make people feel their investment was worth it... in reality I don't see a difference...and I'm using 1 GPU so, oh well.

I run SSAO, High. I know everyone has this intense desire to max everything out... but this is one time where ultra isn't worth it. Drop it to high, use SSAO and voila your problem with stuttering is solved
Im at lower reso so everything on ultra isn't a problem (except blur off and no post fxaa)
Lowest fps i saw was ~52fps otherwise 69fps cap -BF3 cfg tool fps limit option, default is 200fps.


Anyway it was fine before with 290.53 all on ultra, but now i have to lower those 2 values to get the same perf? idk that sucks., also AA looks worse with 295.51



I hope nvidia fixes all these new issues soon.
__________________
intel Q9450 @ 3.656Ghz [1.3875v, LLC off]| GA-X48-DS5 [Memory Enhance: Turbo]|MSi N570GTX TwinFrozrIII OC/PowerEdition|Kingston HyperX 4x2GB PC 8500 @ 1097Mhz [5-5-5-18, 2.25v]| Creative X-FI Pro [SB046A]| Tagan PipeRock 600w [48A]

i SPY is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-07-12, 09:50 AM   #21
sucko_the_clown
Registered User
 
sucko_the_clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 39
Default Re: NVIDIA GeForce 295.51

The memory leak issues has now been identified by Nvidia:

http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showtopic=222342

I had to revert back to the 285.62 driver. I guess I will wait for the official release...
__________________
Supermicro X8DA6 mobo / Evga 590 GTX / 2x 2.93GHZ Westmere Xeon / 12GB of Samsung DDR3 RAM / 240GB Corsair Force GT SSD / 480GB Corsair Force GT SSD / Samsung 470 series SSD / 3x Crucial M4 512 GB SSD / Plextor PX LB950SA BD Drive /Lite-on iHBS212 BD Drive / Asus VG236 3D 120Hz LCD / Creative X-Fi Fata1ity / Supermicro 747TG-R1400B-SQ Case / Windows 7 Pro SP1 x64
sucko_the_clown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-12, 11:14 AM   #22
i SPY
007
 
i SPY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: You were sayin'
Posts: 290
Default Re: NVIDIA GeForce 295.51

I returned to 290.53 and everything is fine again, im even using lower ram timings from 295.51 driver (same lower OC, ram 1068mhz)

Also yeah there is definitely some kind of vram memory leak with HBAO, with 290.53 it never exceeds 1170mb in any map, usually its ~ 1150mb, also there is no issue with effects on ultra in Metro map.

Anti aliasing is kinda the same though, maybe just a little less jaggies on distant objects..

Same with streaming stutter there is practically none in Metro - outside, im gpu bound in those 2-3 spots 99% usage and its here is where i see min 52fps.
Ah well lol, but still its like night and day compared to 295.51, no hitching when its maxed out.
__________________
intel Q9450 @ 3.656Ghz [1.3875v, LLC off]| GA-X48-DS5 [Memory Enhance: Turbo]|MSi N570GTX TwinFrozrIII OC/PowerEdition|Kingston HyperX 4x2GB PC 8500 @ 1097Mhz [5-5-5-18, 2.25v]| Creative X-FI Pro [SB046A]| Tagan PipeRock 600w [48A]

i SPY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-12, 05:09 PM   #23
Kaguya
Registered User
 
Kaguya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 661
Default Re: NVIDIA GeForce 295.51

Is there a way to extract the Kingdom of Amalur SLI Profile from these drivers and pop them into the current WHQL drivers? Or if someone has these drivers, willing to take a Screenshot of the nVidia Inspector page for this game?
__________________
Intel Core i7 960 @ 3.6Ghz
EVGA X58 3X SLI
OCZ Gold 12GB DDR3
EVGA GeForce GTX 470 x2 SLI
OCZ Vertex 2 EX & Corsair P256
LG GH22NS50 22X DVD-RW SATA
Antec TruePower Quattro 1000w SLI PSU
Acer HN274H 1920x1080 3D Ready LCD
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speakers
Antec 900 Ultimate Gamer Case
Kaguya is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.