Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-12-12, 09:28 PM   #1
shock32638
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Default basemosaic linux

I've been attempting to get basemosaic to work on my system, I currently run 6 monitors off of 3 identical 9500GT cards.
I modified my xorg.conf to use this line.
Code:
 Option         "BaseMosaic" "True"
Option         "MetaModes" "GPU-0.DFP-0: 1680x1050+0+0, GPU-0.DFP-1: 1680x1050+0+1050, GPU-1.DFP-0: 1680x1050+1680+1050, GPU-1.DFP-1: 1680x1050+1680+0, GPU-3.DPF-0: 1680
x1050+3360+0, GPU-3.DPF-1: 1680x1050+3360+1050"
This sortof worked, my first 4 monitors (off of GPU-0 and GPU-1) worked, however monitors 4-5 stayed blank.

I got this in my log
Code:
[    20.350] (WW) NVIDIA(0): Invalid display device in Mode Description
[    20.350] (WW) NVIDIA(0):     "GPU-3.DFP-0:1680x1050+3360+0"
[    20.350] (WW) NVIDIA(0): Invalid display device in Mode Description
[    20.350] (WW) NVIDIA(0):     "GPU-3.DFP-1:1680x1050+3360+1050"
[    20.350] (WW) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode description "GPU-3.DFP-0:1680x1050+3360+0";
[    20.350] (WW) NVIDIA(0):     unable to map to display device
[    20.350] (WW) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode description "GPU-3.DFP-1:1680x1050+3360+1050";
[    20.350] (WW) NVIDIA(0):     unable to map to display device
[    20.351] (II) NVIDIA(0): Validated modes:
[    20.351] (II) NVIDIA(0):    
[    20.351] (II) NVIDIA(0):     "GPU-0.DFP-0:1680x1050+0+0,GPU-0.DFP-1:1680x1050+0+1050,GPU-1.DFP-0:1680x1050+1680+1050,GPU-1.DFP-1:1680x1050+1680+0,GPU-3.DFP-0:1680x1050+3360+0,GPU-3.DFP-1:1680x1050+3360+1050"
[    20.351] (II) NVIDIA(0): Virtual screen size determined to be 3360 x 2100

It is recognizing the gpu3 existing and even correctly detecting my monitors (not in the snippit above) , but then says it can't use it in basemosaic.

Is this a limitation of basemosaic? only 2 GPU's? or is this a limitation of the fact that the 3 cards I have are not a valid SLI configuration (they're only single SLI, thus I can't SLI them together) or something else entirely. I was unable to find any significant documentation outside of the readme, which seemed rather terse.

Any help would be appreciated.
shock32638 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-12, 12:14 AM   #2
Plagman
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Plagman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 254
Default Re: basemosaic linux

The README does state that BaseMosaic isn't supported on GeForce, IIRC.
Plagman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-12, 12:19 AM   #3
Plagman
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Plagman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 254
Default Re: basemosaic linux

Also, the display devices for GPU-3 are typo'ed as "DPF" rather than "DFP" in your first line. Is there any reason your third 9500GT would be GPU-3 rather than GPU-2?
Plagman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-12, 11:22 PM   #4
shock32638
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Default Re: basemosaic linux

Stupid mistake on my part (the DPF vs DFP). it does not make any difference, it still only lights up my first 4 monitors.

I wasn't sure how to interpret this line from the Readme.
"It is also supported on Quadro FX 380, Quadro FX 580 and all G80 or higher non-mobile NVS cards."
If it meant all G80/higher except "mobile NVS cards"
or if it meant all G80/higher NVS cards except the mobile ones.

I was using GPU-3 because my system kept making the NForce 980a/780a GPU-2, and the third card GPU-3.

I've disabled the Onboard video (to make things cleaner) and fixed the DPF/DFP error, however i'm still not getting any video to the last 2 monitors

Code:
    Option         "MetaModes" "GPU-0.DFP-0: 1680x1050+0+0, GPU-0.DFP-1: 1680x1050+0+1050, GPU-1.DFP-0: 1680x1050+1680+1050, GPU-1.DFP-1: 1680x1050+1680+0, GPU-2.DFP-0: 1680x1050+3360+0, GPU-2.DFP-1: 1680x1050+3360+1050"
Are there any other hints as to what's going on here?
Code:
[    23.042] (WW) NVIDIA(0): Invalid display device in Mode Description
[    23.042] (WW) NVIDIA(0):     "GPU-2.DFP-0:1680x1050+3360+0"
[    23.042] (WW) NVIDIA(0): Invalid display device in Mode Description
[    23.042] (WW) NVIDIA(0):     "GPU-2.DFP-1:1680x1050+3360+1050"
[    23.042] (WW) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode description "GPU-2.DFP-0:1680x1050+3360+0";
[    23.042] (WW) NVIDIA(0):     unable to map to display device
[    23.042] (WW) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode description "GPU-2.DFP-1:1680x1050+3360+1050";
[    23.042] (WW) NVIDIA(0):     unable to map to display device
[    23.043] (II) NVIDIA(0): Validated modes:
[    23.043] (II) NVIDIA(0):    
[    23.043] (II) NVIDIA(0):     "GPU-0.DFP-0:1680x1050+0+0,GPU-0.DFP-1:1680x1050+0+1050,GPU-1.DFP-0:1680x1050+1680+1050,GPU-1.DFP-1:1680x1050+1680+0,GPU-2.DFP-0:1680x1050+3360+0,GPU-2.DFP-1:1680x1050+3360+1050"
[    23.043] (II) NVIDIA(0): Virtual screen size determined to be 3360 x 2100
[    23.078] (--) NVIDIA(0): DPI set to (90, 88); computed from "UseEdidDpi" X config
[    23.078] (--) NVIDIA(0):     option
[    23.078] (--) Depth 24 pixmap format is 32 bpp
[    23.239] (II) NVIDIA(GPU-2): Display (Acer X223W (DFP-0)) does not support NVIDIA 3D Vision
[    23.239] (II) NVIDIA(GPU-2):     stereo.
[    23.318] (II) NVIDIA(GPU-2): Display (Acer X223W (DFP-1)) does not support NVIDIA 3D Vision
[    23.318] (II) NVIDIA(GPU-2):     stereo.
[    23.320] (II) NVIDIA(GPU-2): NVIDIA GPU GeForce 9500 GT (G96) at PCI:6:0:0 (GPU-2)
[    23.320] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-2): Memory: 524288 kBytes
[    23.320] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-2): VideoBIOS: 62.94.2c.00.91
[    23.320] (II) NVIDIA(GPU-2): Detected PCI Express Link width: 8X
[    23.320] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-2): Interlaced video modes are supported on this GPU
[    23.320] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-2): Connected display device(s) on GeForce 9500 GT at PCI:6:0:0
[    23.320] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-2):     Acer X223W (DFP-0)
[    23.320] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-2):     Acer X223W (DFP-1)
[    23.320] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-2): Acer X223W (DFP-0): 330.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
[    23.320] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-2): Acer X223W (DFP-0): Internal Dual Link TMDS
[    23.320] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-2): Acer X223W (DFP-1): 330.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
[    23.320] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-2): Acer X223W (DFP-1): Internal Dual Link TMDS
[    23.320] (II) NVIDIA: Using 768.00 MB of virtual memory for indirect memory access.
[    23.330] (II) NVIDIA(0): Setting mode
[    23.330] (II) NVIDIA(0):     "GPU-0.DFP-0:1680x1050+0+0,GPU-0.DFP-1:1680x1050+0+1050,GPU-1.DFP-0:1680x1050+1680+1050,GPU-1.DFP-1:1680x1050+1680+0,GPU-2.DFP-0:1680x1050+3360+0,GPU-2.DFP-1:1680x1050+3360+1050"
]
It seems like it says GPU-2 is invalid, but then afterwards detects it. is there some way of getting X to recognize GPU-2 earlier in the process?? or am I going down the wrong road.
shock32638 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-12, 04:08 PM   #5
danix
NVIDIA Corporation
 
danix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 237
Default Re: basemosaic linux

Quote:
"It is also supported on Quadro FX 380, Quadro FX 580 and all G80 or higher non-mobile NVS cards."
If it meant all G80/higher except "mobile NVS cards"
or if it meant all G80/higher NVS cards except the mobile ones.
It means the latter: NVS cards, except for mobile ones. BaseMosaic is not supported on GeForce.
danix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-12, 09:44 AM   #6
Deanjo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 301
Default Re: basemosaic linux

Quote:
Originally Posted by danix View Post
It means the latter: NVS cards, except for mobile ones. BaseMosaic is not supported on GeForce.
Quote:
and all G80 or higher non-mobile NVS cards.
That should really be changed in that sentence to something that makes it a bit more clear like:

Quote:
and all Quadro G80 or higher non-mobile NVS cards.
Deanjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-12, 12:18 PM   #7
bwheaton
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: California
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to bwheaton
Default Re: basemosaic linux

BaseMosaic may not be 'supported' on GeForce cards, but it works on some stuff. One example is the eVGA 2Win cards - with two identical GPUs, linked by an internal PCIe switch. That switch is an NVidia part, afaict, which may be why it works.

Anyhow, you can use BaseMosaic on those. There's a lot of limitations, like with SLI-mosaic - you can't run other GPUs for example. But it works, or did recently (290.10).

Bruce
bwheaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.