Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows 7

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-21-12, 11:32 AM   #25
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: How to make Win7 handle eight GPUs properly ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
Well, the time and recourses spend just to get this working is also expensive for a company.

A GeForce Solution costs around $4800. An equivalent Tesla solution around $19000.

Based on our "rates" at work, you'd probably have 2 work weeks to get it running (and also keep it running!). Otherwise the Tesla solution would be cheaper already.
And that's just considering the cost for 1 person, no resources included. The effective duration would be shorter.

The Tesla solution is not that expensive for a company, big or small.
I've worked for some small companies that would disagree. I mean, he does have 7 GPU's running. Just having issues with that 8th.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-12, 01:01 PM   #26
Romant
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 12
Default Re: How to make Win7 handle eight GPUs properly ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
I don't know if this is related:
http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showtopic=218028
Have you tried updating the BIOS? Maybe contact Tyan?
http://www.tyan.com/support_download...el=B.FT72B7015
Thank you for the link, I will contact those guys to see if they could resolve it.
Tyan - yes, sent them a question, waiting for the answer.
Romant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-12, 02:10 AM   #27
Romant
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 12
Default Re: How to make Win7 handle eight GPUs properly ?

Solution is found, thanks to Tyan support. It is a bug in Win7, system has problems related to RAM counting.

Say, there are 72 gigabytes of RAM installed.

1. Run "msconfig"
2. Click "boot" tab
3. Click "advanced" option
4. Check the "max memory" box, the max memory field will automatically put "73728" (72GB)
5. Enter "72704" and apply the changes, restart the system, the system will run at what appears to be normal speed

The key basically is to change the max memory from whatever it shows to 1GB less than what it shows (subtract 1024).
This will insure proper operation of the system regardless of the total amount of memory installed.
Romant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-12, 08:42 AM   #28
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: How to make Win7 handle eight GPUs properly ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Romant View Post
Solution is found, thanks to Tyan support. It is a bug in Win7, system has problems related to RAM counting.

Say, there are 72 gigabytes of RAM installed.

1. Run "msconfig"
2. Click "boot" tab
3. Click "advanced" option
4. Check the "max memory" box, the max memory field will automatically put "73728" (72GB)
5. Enter "72704" and apply the changes, restart the system, the system will run at what appears to be normal speed

The key basically is to change the max memory from whatever it shows to 1GB less than what it shows (subtract 1024).
This will insure proper operation of the system regardless of the total amount of memory installed.
Awesome, glad you got it working.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-12, 10:04 AM   #29
Romant
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 12
Default Re: How to make Win7 handle eight GPUs properly ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
Awesome, glad you got it working.
Oh yeah, I'm also glad :-) Thank you for your help, constructive comments are always useful.
Romant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-12, 10:54 AM   #30
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: How to make Win7 handle eight GPUs properly ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Romant View Post
Oh yeah, I'm also glad :-) Thank you for your help, constructive comments are always useful.
No problem. When I first read your thread, I thought it had something to do with the system memory, because I've never really seen a Windows 7 install running with so much RAM. The MS specs say it can, but I've never seen it tested.

Despite suspecting the memory as the culprit, I would have never guessed the solution in a million years, though.

EDIT: So, does that fix mean you're not utilizing all 144GB of memory?
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-12, 03:26 PM   #31
Romant
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 12
Default Re: How to make Win7 handle eight GPUs properly ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
EDIT: So, does that fix mean you're not utilizing all 144GB of memory?
Yes, this fix decreases the amount of available memory reported by system to about 140 gigabytes.
Romant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-12, 06:27 PM   #32
teremtetrs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Default Re: How to make Win7 handle eight GPUs properly ?

1. Run "msconfig"
2. Click "boot" tab
3. Click "advanced" option
4. Check the "max memory" box, the max memory field will automatically put "73728" (72GB)
5. Enter "72704" and apply the changes, restart the system, the system will run at what appears to be normal speed

The key basically is to change the max memory from whatever it shows to 1GB less than what it shows (subtract 1024).
This will insure proper operation of the system regardless of the total amount of memory installed.
teremtetrs is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.