Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-27-08, 07:28 PM   #37
JigenD
Registered User
 
JigenD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,070
Default Re: My texturepack for Quake Darkplaces

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spoudazo
WRONG, the displacement/parallax mapping it has isn't parallax occlusion mapping, which I was referring to as "true parallax mapping" because you hardly can use parallax mapping if it's not parallax occlusion mapping, otherwise when you look at things at an angle it looks like garbage.
Wow, you really like to think you know more than you actually do don't you? First off, just because you've named something 'true' doesn't make any such thing as 'fake parallax mapping'. The original definition of parallax mapping WHICH IS TRUE does NOT include occlusion.

However, you're still wrong on ALL POINTS. 'Steep' parallax mapping, as listed in the link before, INCLUDES OCCLUSION BY DEFINITION.

So basically stop talking about **** you don't know.

parallax mapping without occlusion looks fine as long as you don't do something stupid like put it on a model. Also, occlusion won't fix parallax mapping from not looking right at certain angles anyways.
JigenD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-08, 08:05 PM   #38
3DBrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,261
Default Re: My texturepack for Quake Darkplaces

Quote:
Originally Posted by JigenD
Wow, you really like to think you know more than you actually do don't you? First off, just because you've named something 'true' doesn't make any such thing as 'fake parallax mapping'. The original definition of parallax mapping WHICH IS TRUE does NOT include occlusion.

However, you're still wrong on ALL POINTS. 'Steep' parallax mapping, as listed in the link before, INCLUDES OCCLUSION BY DEFINITION.

So basically stop talking about **** you don't know.

parallax mapping without occlusion looks fine as long as you don't do something stupid like put it on a model. Also, occlusion won't fix parallax mapping from not looking right at certain angles anyways.
Have you ever done any mapping or setup materials in Unreal Engine 3?



So much of the stuff looks like garbage once it gets "cooked," I guess that was so the games could be "console-friendly."

Bioshock looks ugly, it's character models look BEYOND ugly (not the intended ugliness), etc.
__________________
"What are politics? Another name for every man getting as much as he can out of the nation. " Charles H. Spurgeon
3DBrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-08, 04:40 PM   #39
JigenD
Registered User
 
JigenD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,070
Default Re: My texturepack for Quake Darkplaces

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spoudazo
Have you ever done any mapping or setup materials in Unreal Engine 3?

So much of the stuff looks like garbage once it gets "cooked," I guess that was so the games could be "console-friendly."

Bioshock looks ugly, it's character models look BEYOND ugly (not the intended ugliness), etc.
That's the Unreal Tournament 3 EDITOR, not UE3... and yes, I actually have, but at least I understand why you're saying the things you are now.

As far as the cooking process, what are you talking about? The lighting model does change from dynamic to lightmaps, and like some others I do miss the dynamic effect. I agree UT3 doesn't look so great overall, but it's not totally because of the consoles. Maybe it's Epic being inept and not knowing the consoles as well as they could. Take a look at stuff like Uncharted or Gran Turismo 5 Prologue on PS3, or Kameo and some parts of Halo 3. The best looking consoles games don't use UE3...

I disagree completely that Bioshock looks 'ugly' by any means. You may not like it, but the majority of people will disagree with you. It's the best looking UE3 game I believe, and it rivals some of the best looking games overall...

[edit : also, just to clarify, that may also be the UE3 (unreal editor 3, not unreal engine 3) that comes with Roboblitz or Gears of War, either way it doesn't make a difference, the editor is toned down for users from the full functionality of the engine that developers would get. Beyond that people who make games (not just mods) can mess with the engine themselves, thereby adding functionality that Epic doesn't sell to you.]
JigenD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-08, 05:31 AM   #40
[BANDIT]
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 152
Default Re: My texturepack for Quake Darkplaces

Btw what can I do with ugly models?
[BANDIT] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-08, 08:03 AM   #41
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: My texturepack for Quake Darkplaces

Quote:
Originally Posted by [BANDIT]
Btw what can I do with ugly models?
unfortunately, nothing yet that I know of.
__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-08, 07:05 AM   #42
rygel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 77
Send a message via MSN to rygel
Default Re: My texturepack for Quake Darkplaces

H her is the link for filefront.
no installer with 3 files.

File1 806 MB
http://files.filefront.com/Texturepa.../fileinfo.html

File2 806 MB
http://files.filefront.com/Texturepa.../fileinfo.html

File3 805 MB
http://files.filefront.com/Texturepa.../fileinfo.html

Rygel
__________________
CRYSIS & WARHEAD TEXTUREUPDATE 2GB / 1.9GB
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=117949
Texturepack_Ultra_for_Quake_Darkplaces 2.73 GB
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...72#post1350472
Doom3 Mod Extreme Quality Mod 818 MB
http://doom3.planet-multiplayer.de/comment.php?2275
Doom3 Mod Extreme Quality Mod update 111 MB
http://doom3.planet-multiplayer.de/d...d.php?view.642
rygel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-08, 12:25 PM   #43
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: My texturepack for Quake Darkplaces

Quote:
Originally Posted by rygel
H her is the link for filefront.
no installer with 3 files.

File1 806 MB
http://files.filefront.com/Texturepa.../fileinfo.html

File2 806 MB
http://files.filefront.com/Texturepa.../fileinfo.html

File3 805 MB
http://files.filefront.com/Texturepa.../fileinfo.html

Rygel
those links just kick you back to frontpage
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-08, 01:59 PM   #44
rygel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 77
Send a message via MSN to rygel
Default Re: My texturepack for Quake Darkplaces

Sh-- filefront has delete the files.
Sorry
__________________
CRYSIS & WARHEAD TEXTUREUPDATE 2GB / 1.9GB
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=117949
Texturepack_Ultra_for_Quake_Darkplaces 2.73 GB
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...72#post1350472
Doom3 Mod Extreme Quality Mod 818 MB
http://doom3.planet-multiplayer.de/comment.php?2275
Doom3 Mod Extreme Quality Mod update 111 MB
http://doom3.planet-multiplayer.de/d...d.php?view.642
rygel is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-17-08, 02:02 PM   #45
evox
:3
 
evox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: India
Posts: 2,254
Default Re: My texturepack for Quake Darkplaces

Quote:
Originally Posted by rygel
Sh-- filefront has delete the files.
Sorry
You should try Mininova's Content Distribution system. I think they'll accept game mods.
http://www.mininova.org/distribution
evox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-11, 03:28 PM   #46
[BANDIT]
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 152
Default Re: My texturepack for Quake Darkplaces


TurboImageHost

What is this? :/ (latest darkplaces, gtx 580 @ win7 x64)
[BANDIT] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-11, 09:00 PM   #47
JohnDio
Registered User
 
JohnDio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: My texturepack for Quake Darkplaces

Offtopic (since it was bumped, though I guess that Rygel is not still around) :

Rygel I remember you were working on a Doom 3 texture pack. Did you abandon it or was it released?
JohnDio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-12, 06:59 AM   #48
[BANDIT]
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 152
Default Re: My texturepack for Quake Darkplaces

Anyone played darkplaces on GTX580?
[BANDIT] is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.