Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-10-03, 10:55 PM   #13
Phorem
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Toronto
Posts: 34
Default

Ya, as I cannot play any games in 64 bit (Savage, UT2003), i have it compiled for 32bit.
__________________
Gentoo Linux-64, AMD64 Athlon 3200, Asus K8V Deluxe, 1 gig(3200 400mhz) ram, GeForce FX5200 128, HP 400i DVD+R+RW, HP ScanJet 2200c, Epson Stylus C84, JVC DRV3000U (firewire - usb), Kodak CX6330
Phorem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-03, 11:53 PM   #14
otan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 20
Default

I think that's a major difference, between our setups.
Because i need linux 64 bit. In 64 bit i can make use
of more main memory like up to 16 GB. Performance is not as important. In my case i want to adress more resources.
I plan to use this System for High memory demanding 3d/2D Application programming.
I think the whole problem is originated, that i am using a 64 bit kernel. If i would have stayed 32 Bit i would have gone with a stable dual Intel Setup. At the moment there is not
even a Windows XP 64 Bit, it is still very much Beta.
cheers
otan
otan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-03, 04:00 PM   #15
Phorem
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Toronto
Posts: 34
Default

I had it working for 64 bit too. It was just a little different. I had to use the *.tar files from Nvidia and again, the agpgart had to be a module and the amd64-agp was in the kernel. I also had to make the same changes as above to my XF86Config. I was also using Mandrake 9.2 AMD64 with a recompiled 2.4.23 kernel when i was doing this. Couldn't get it to go with the 2.6.0-test11 ( i know, lack of skill on my part ).

What kind of 3D programing are ya going to do?
__________________
Gentoo Linux-64, AMD64 Athlon 3200, Asus K8V Deluxe, 1 gig(3200 400mhz) ram, GeForce FX5200 128, HP 400i DVD+R+RW, HP ScanJet 2200c, Epson Stylus C84, JVC DRV3000U (firewire - usb), Kodak CX6330
Phorem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-03, 12:11 PM   #16
otan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 20
Default

it depends, but you can look at my webpage www.filmfx.de.
I will try some new things this weekend, i will try out your suggestions.
thank you very much

otan
otan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-03, 06:40 AM   #17
SnapIT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 154
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Phorem
I had it working for 64 bit too. It was just a little different. I had to use the *.tar files from Nvidia and again, the agpgart had to be a module and the amd64-agp was in the kernel. I also had to make the same changes as above to my XF86Config. I was also using Mandrake 9.2 AMD64 with a recompiled 2.4.23 kernel when i was doing this. Couldn't get it to go with the 2.6.0-test11 ( i know, lack of skill on my part ).

What kind of 3D programing are ya going to do?
I have tried to test that solution using strict 64-bit code, and it will not work with current drivers, not that it matters though, as the 64-bit version of 2.6.0-test12 will include a working agp driver...

(working as in, stable)
SnapIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-03, 07:35 AM   #18
SnapIT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 154
Default

OK, for all of you who are not slackheads or debian freaks, the drivers have been pre-released in the latest SUSE-64...

If you want to you can use the agp driver from SUSE, it is a notch newer than slacks, and about 50 bazillions newer than Debians, if you do not track...

The roadmap hasn't changed though, the stable release will be within two months, i suggest you sit back and wait unless you really, REALLY need 64 bit mode on your driver...
SnapIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-03, 07:42 AM   #19
SnapIT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 154
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Phorem
I had it working for 64 bit too. It was just a little different. I had to use the *.tar files from Nvidia and again, the agpgart had to be a module and the amd64-agp was in the kernel. I also had to make the same changes as above to my XF86Config. I was also using Mandrake 9.2 AMD64 with a recompiled 2.4.23 kernel when i was doing this. Couldn't get it to go with the 2.6.0-test11 ( i know, lack of skill on my part ).

What kind of 3D programing are ya going to do?
I assume that you mean working as in, able to boot and (in some cases, without a kernel panic) run 32 bit apps...

That isn't what i would call working though, be careful regarding what is working and use working (as in pre-alpha) when neccessary...

Why do i even bother? Well, i certainly don't want people to set up crash benign *nix systems, it gives my work a bad rep...

Thanx...
SnapIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-03, 08:28 AM   #20
SnapIT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 154
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by otan
it depends, but you can look at my webpage www.filmfx.de.
I will try some new things this weekend, i will try out your suggestions.
thank you very much

otan
Suggestion... use 3DLabs newer cards, any of them will outperform the quadro with a large margin in OGL, especially in OGL 2.0...

And guess what, for about two to three times the performance, you get to pay a LOT less...

(yes, the driver for the new chipset will be included as part of the Wildcat driver, and no, you cannot use this code with the Nvidia driver legally, not because it is not open, but because it is...)
SnapIT is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-01-04, 01:40 AM   #21
cwall64
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 20
Send a message via Yahoo to cwall64
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SnapIT
OK, for all of you who are not slackheads or debian freaks, the drivers have been pre-released in the latest SUSE-64...

If you want to you can use the agp driver from SUSE, it is a notch newer than slacks, and about 50 bazillions newer than Debians, if you do not track...

The roadmap hasn't changed though, the stable release will be within two months, i suggest you sit back and wait unless you really, REALLY need 64 bit mode on your driver...
SnapIT,
Forgive me but I don't follow the point, I am using SuSE 9.0 for AMD64 with a 5600U, nvidia driver 4499 and I am still having the AGP issues. It will run in PCI mode, but I have constant screen lockups. If I use Option "NvAGP" "2" it will find agp at 8X, but blank/black screen when Nvidia splash image loads (SSH in to see the logs). I am using the newly free ftp version of SuSE - maybe it is lacking this driver?

Chris
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+ | MSI K8T Neo-FIS2R | 1 Gig OCZ Platinum DDR 400 CL 2-2-3-5 | PNY Verto 5700 Ultra AGP | Antec TrueBlue 480W | Cooler Master Wave Case |
cwall64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help Installing NVIDIA Tesla M2070Q in Linux RHEL5 Ferianto85 NVIDIA Linux 0 05-18-12 08:35 PM
Redhat 8.0 NVIDIA works - INSTRUCTIONS STEEL1 NVIDIA Linux 267 04-15-03 06:48 PM
NVIDIA Drivers + Linux 7.3 Works once then quits Yupper3d NVIDIA Linux 3 08-01-02 04:03 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.