Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-10-12, 07:02 PM   #1
siddly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 125
Default Asus Sabertooth 990FX motherboard problem with 560Ti

I guess this is an Asus Motherboard BIOS problem, wondering if anyone has come across it.
NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-295.20.run x86_64 installed. X fails to start unless I use the vesa driver.
# hwinfo |grep -i gfx
Gfx adapter : monochrome
ef2c0 ff 4a 32 47 31 20 2d 20 47 46 58 20 56 49 44 00 ".J2G1 - GFX VID."
str1: "J2G1 - GFX VID"
Internal Designator: "J2G1 - GFX VID"
Model: "ATI RD890 PCI to PCI bridge (external gfx0 port B)"
Device: pci 0x5a14 "RD890 PCI to PCI bridge (external gfx0 port B)"

From dmesg
===========

[ 72.385764] AMD-Vi: Event logged [IO_PAGE_FAULT device=01:00.0 domain=0x0017 address=0x000000021f120200 flags=0x0010]
[ 75.570012] br0: no IPv6 routers present
[ 75.650025] eth0: no IPv6 routers present
[ 80.401869] NVRM: RmInitAdapter failed! (0x27:0x38:1190)
[ 80.401879] NVRM: rm_init_adapter(0) failed

From Xorg.0.log
=============
[ 70.737] (II) Loading sub module "ramdac"
[ 70.737] (II) LoadModule: "ramdac"
[ 70.737] (II) Module "ramdac" already built-in
[ 70.755] (II) Loading /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/drivers/nvidia_drv.so
[ 70.755] (II) Loading /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/libwfb.so
[ 70.755] (II) Loading /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/libfb.so
[ 70.766] (**) NVIDIA(0): Depth 24, (--) framebuffer bpp 32
[ 70.766] (==) NVIDIA(0): RGB weight 888
[ 70.766] (==) NVIDIA(0): Default visual is TrueColor
[ 70.766] (==) NVIDIA(0): Using gamma correction (1.0, 1.0, 1.0)
[ 70.766] (**) NVIDIA(0): Enabling 2D acceleration
[ 80.400] (EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to initialize the NVIDIA GPU at PCI:1:0:0. Please
[ 80.400] (EE) NVIDIA(0): check your system's kernel log for additional error
[ 80.400] (EE) NVIDIA(0): messages and refer to Chapter 8: Common Problems in the
[ 80.400] (EE) NVIDIA(0): README for additional information.
[ 80.401] (EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to initialize the NVIDIA graphics device!
[ 80.401] (II) UnloadModule: "nvidia"
[ 80.401] (II) Unloading nvidia
[ 80.401] (II) UnloadModule: "wfb"
[ 80.401] (II) Unloading wfb
[ 80.401] (II) UnloadModule: "fb"
[ 80.401] (II) Unloading fb
[ 80.401] (EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.
[ 80.401]
Fatal server error:
[ 80.401] no screens found
[ 80.401]
Please consult the The X.Org Foundation support
at http://wiki.x.org
for help.
[ 80.401] Please also check the log file at "/var/log/Xorg.0.log" for additional information.
[ 80.401]

OS is openSUSE 12.2 Milestone 1 with a 3.3-rc6 kernel.
siddly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-12, 10:49 AM   #2
Deanjo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 301
Default Re: Asus Sabertooth 990FX motherboard problem with 560Ti

Quote:
Originally Posted by siddly View Post
I guess this is an Asus Motherboard BIOS problem, wondering if anyone has come across it.
NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-295.20.run x86_64 installed. X fails to start unless I use the vesa driver.
# hwinfo |grep -i gfx
Gfx adapter : monochrome
ef2c0 ff 4a 32 47 31 20 2d 20 47 46 58 20 56 49 44 00 ".J2G1 - GFX VID."
str1: "J2G1 - GFX VID"
Internal Designator: "J2G1 - GFX VID"
Model: "ATI RD890 PCI to PCI bridge (external gfx0 port B)"
Device: pci 0x5a14 "RD890 PCI to PCI bridge (external gfx0 port B)"

From dmesg
===========

[ 72.385764] AMD-Vi: Event logged [IO_PAGE_FAULT device=01:00.0 domain=0x0017 address=0x000000021f120200 flags=0x0010]
[ 75.570012] br0: no IPv6 routers present
[ 75.650025] eth0: no IPv6 routers present
[ 80.401869] NVRM: RmInitAdapter failed! (0x27:0x38:1190)
[ 80.401879] NVRM: rm_init_adapter(0) failed

From Xorg.0.log
=============
[ 70.737] (II) Loading sub module "ramdac"
[ 70.737] (II) LoadModule: "ramdac"
[ 70.737] (II) Module "ramdac" already built-in
[ 70.755] (II) Loading /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/drivers/nvidia_drv.so
[ 70.755] (II) Loading /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/libwfb.so
[ 70.755] (II) Loading /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/libfb.so
[ 70.766] (**) NVIDIA(0): Depth 24, (--) framebuffer bpp 32
[ 70.766] (==) NVIDIA(0): RGB weight 888
[ 70.766] (==) NVIDIA(0): Default visual is TrueColor
[ 70.766] (==) NVIDIA(0): Using gamma correction (1.0, 1.0, 1.0)
[ 70.766] (**) NVIDIA(0): Enabling 2D acceleration
[ 80.400] (EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to initialize the NVIDIA GPU at PCI:1:0:0. Please
[ 80.400] (EE) NVIDIA(0): check your system's kernel log for additional error
[ 80.400] (EE) NVIDIA(0): messages and refer to Chapter 8: Common Problems in the
[ 80.400] (EE) NVIDIA(0): README for additional information.
[ 80.401] (EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to initialize the NVIDIA graphics device!
[ 80.401] (II) UnloadModule: "nvidia"
[ 80.401] (II) Unloading nvidia
[ 80.401] (II) UnloadModule: "wfb"
[ 80.401] (II) Unloading wfb
[ 80.401] (II) UnloadModule: "fb"
[ 80.401] (II) Unloading fb
[ 80.401] (EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.
[ 80.401]
Fatal server error:
[ 80.401] no screens found
[ 80.401]
Please consult the The X.Org Foundation support
at http://wiki.x.org
for help.
[ 80.401] Please also check the log file at "/var/log/Xorg.0.log" for additional information.
[ 80.401]

OS is openSUSE 12.2 Milestone 1 with a 3.3-rc6 kernel.
Disable IOMMU in your motherboard settings. (hint: you have to reset to factory default settings on that motherboard to disable IOMMU the bios has a bug in it that it will render your USB 2 devices useless unless you do a factory reset. Disabling it in the BIOS does not disable the whole thing and the factory reset is the only way to get USB 2 to work again.)

Here is a related thread. http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=159335
Deanjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-12, 08:15 PM   #3
siddly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 125
Default Re: Asus Sabertooth 990FX motherboard problem with 560Ti

Thanks, I'll give that a try later.
siddly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-12, 03:33 PM   #4
siddly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 125
Default Re: Asus Sabertooth 990FX motherboard problem with 560Ti

I disabled IOMMU in the BIOS and it booted without USB and ethernet and it didn't get to a desktop.
I powered down, drained the BIOS for around 10 minutes. Booted with default settings which came up with IOMMU disabled - failed to boot.
Had to play with BIOS settings including enabling IOMMU to get it to boot back to the old state where X only starts with the vesa driver.
siddly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-12, 06:47 PM   #5
Deanjo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 301
Default Re: Asus Sabertooth 990FX motherboard problem with 560Ti

Quote:
Originally Posted by siddly View Post
I disabled IOMMU in the BIOS and it booted without USB and ethernet and it didn't get to a desktop.
I powered down, drained the BIOS for around 10 minutes. Booted with default settings which came up with IOMMU disabled - failed to boot.
Had to play with BIOS settings including enabling IOMMU to get it to boot back to the old state where X only starts with the vesa driver.
Don't drain the BIOS to reset it, just get into it and there is an option to reset to factory "optimized" defaults. That is all that should be needed (assuming you are running the 0901 BIOS). I have the exact same board with a GTX-580 and the exact same issue (which is also present in a M5A97 EVO with a GT 520 as well).
Deanjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-12, 07:28 PM   #6
siddly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 125
Default Re: Asus Sabertooth 990FX motherboard problem with 560Ti

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deanjo View Post
Don't drain the BIOS to reset it, just get into it and there is an option to reset to factory "optimized" defaults. That is all that should be needed (assuming you are running the 0901 BIOS). I have the exact same board with a GTX-580 and the exact same issue (which is also present in a M5A97 EVO with a GT 520 as well).
I forgot to mention that "optimized defaults" was the first thing I tried and yes the BIOS is 0901. Draining the BIOS was the last thing I tried.
"optimized defaults" was the one that came up without USB and network but didn't boot into X.

One other funny is the USB keyboard works in the BIOS but on boot it doesn't work so anything in grub can be changed - adding options or selecting images to boot or any keyboard operation. When it boots console login and all other stuff works.

I have also logged a support request with Asus as the motherboard and the video card are theirs.
siddly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-12, 08:23 PM   #7
Deanjo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 301
Default Re: Asus Sabertooth 990FX motherboard problem with 560Ti

Quote:
Originally Posted by siddly View Post
I have also logged a support request with Asus as the motherboard and the video card are theirs.
Good luck, I've filed the same bugs with them and their "up to 48 hours" for a reply is going on 3 weeks now.
Deanjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-12, 08:30 PM   #8
siddly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 125
Default Re: Asus Sabertooth 990FX motherboard problem with 560Ti

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deanjo View Post
Good luck, I've filed the same bugs with them and their "up to 48 hours" for a reply is going on 3 weeks now.
That's the response I got so I won't hold my breath for another 24 hours and beyond.
siddly is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-13-12, 06:46 AM   #9
siddly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 125
Default Re: Asus Sabertooth 990FX motherboard problem with 560Ti

Well I'll be jiggered, described as a NVidia GTX 560 Ti but is actually a AMD chipset?
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for contacting ASUS Customer Service.

My name is Stacey and it's my pleasure to help you with your problem.

It is normal.
This card has AMD Radeon chipset.

Welcome to refer Troubleshooting & FAQ for ASUS products in ASUS website:
Troubleshooting - http://support.asus.com/troubleshoot...Language=en-us
FAQ - http://support.asus.com/faq/faq.aspx?SLanguage=en-us

If you continue to experience issues in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

Stacey

ASUS Customer Service

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Looking at the specs on the Asus site.
.................................................. ......
Specifications
Graphics Engine NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 Ti
Bus Standard PCI Express 2.0
Video Memory GDDR5 1GB
Engine Clock 830 MHz
CUDA Core 384
siddly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-12, 09:33 AM   #10
jeisom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: My own little world
Posts: 117
Default Re: Asus Sabertooth 990FX motherboard problem with 560Ti

I have an Asus M5A97 EVO and the easiest way I found to clear bios to factory is to "reflash the bios" with an identical to the one that is installed. At least on my system it didn't flash but rather appears to compare the flash first. it then reset everything. I also get iommu usb problems with this board. Not sure what to say about their support people though. Very sad.
jeisom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-12, 11:05 AM   #11
siddly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 125
Default Re: Asus Sabertooth 990FX motherboard problem with 560Ti

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeisom View Post
I have an Asus M5A97 EVO and the easiest way I found to clear bios to factory is to "reflash the bios" with an identical to the one that is installed. At least on my system it didn't flash but rather appears to compare the flash first. it then reset everything. I also get iommu usb problems with this board. Not sure what to say about their support people though. Very sad.
Following what they said, I have built a new 3.3-rc7 kernel to include the radeon driver and I've changed xorg.conf. I shall see what happens on a reboot.
I can't remember what the previous BIOS was but I've found in the past the newest BIOS is usually needed.
siddly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-12, 11:21 AM   #12
Deanjo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 301
Default Re: Asus Sabertooth 990FX motherboard problem with 560Ti

Quote:
Originally Posted by siddly View Post
Following what they said, I have built a new 3.3-rc7 kernel to include the radeon driver and I've changed xorg.conf. I shall see what happens on a reboot.
I can't remember what the previous BIOS was but I've found in the past the newest BIOS is usually needed.
That isn't going to do anything. As usual, Asus's support is completely useless. The 990FX doesn't even have an IGP on it and your 560 Ti certainly isn't going to use the radeon driver.
Deanjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.