Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 400/500 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-05-12, 10:02 PM   #997
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default

Yes. New cards still go for $450+.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-12, 10:02 PM   #998
Greedo
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: mos eisley cantina
Posts: 1,259
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 5xx thread"

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob saget View Post
$350 is good price for a used 1.5gig GTX 580? It is the CUII edition.
yes.
Greedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-12, 09:21 AM   #999
snowmanwithahat
Snowy
 
snowmanwithahat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 974
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 5xx thread"

Quote:
Originally Posted by deploylinux View Post
I was seeing some overheating and possibly stability issues recently with my six year old main workstation running Gentoo Linux with windows 7 apps also available via vmware workstation.

I suspected that dust was building up in the system even though I clean it out whenever I can, but that the main cpu is just behind an old geoforce 8800 gts 512 card and the older pentium D 950 cpu tends to run hot even in the most optimum situation.

Anyhow, step 1 towards resolving matters was buying and installing a video card that would hopefully run a little cooler, provide higher performance, be more efficient with power, and have decent fans so that any local temp issues near the card would reduced.

This pretty much ruled out the 580 or 590, and I wasn't willing to settle for the reduced performance of the 4xx series...so that meant going with either a 560, 560ti, 560 ti 448 core, or 570. Upgrading to a quadro card was also a possibility but the lowest model quadro that I could see using was the 4000 and those were much more expensive.

After reviewing the specs, and noting that 560 ti 448 has dual fans and very good reviews for performance per watt - I went with the evga classified version of it.

It looks to have reduced the overall chassis temp by about 2 degrees and the variable fan plus powermizer auto tuning seems to rev up and down the card power usage such that the system is much less likely to overheat.

I'm not really seeing any huge benefits to video performance though...especially as adobe flash has issues under Linux. I'll try out some video editing later this week....

Note that I suspect both the system cpu is likely a limiting factor....the 8800 gts 512 might already have been maxing out the box, although my display is a 30" dell monitor running at 2500x1600 and the additional video ram has to be helpful.

My motherboards pcie slot is limited to gen 1 so x16 and the 560ti 448 core is gen 2....however x16 already provides a huge amount of bandwidth, I'm not convinced that the pci bandwidth is likely a limiting issue at least for 99% of the time.
Truthfully I think your system in general is too old in comparison to the new video card. The Pentium D is a really old and even at the time a fairly slow processor. It was immediately overshadowed by the Athlon 64 x2's and the Opterons and Core 2 Duos... Not to mention they're notorious for running hot like you said.

I really think the best "bang for your buck" would be picking up something like a GTS 450 and looking at a different cpu. I realize it'll be a little more expensive but that is probably your only option given that system.
__________________
---Gaming Rig---
Q6600 3.4ghz (378x9) - 1.5v
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
8gb (4x2gb) OCZ Gold DDR2-800 (5-4-4-12)
MSI+ASUS GTX 470 SLI
Dell u3011 IPS Display
HP 22" Auxiliary Monitor
256gb Western Digital Silicon Edge Blue SSD
5x2tb RAID-5 Array
750W PC P&C PSU
Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit & Ubuntu 10.04 64-bit

---Gaming Laptop---
ASUS G53JW
Core i7 740QM
16gb DDR3
Nvidia GTX 460m
1tb WD HDD
120gb Corsair SSD

Join the NvNews Folding @ Home Team
snowmanwithahat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-12, 10:40 AM   #1000
Destroy
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,994
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 5xx thread"

Bought a GTX560Ti for $300 at Best Buy. Was over priced but its the price you pay if you want it now and the ability to return without hassle.

Mainly bought it to test/play MS Flight Sim X. So far frame rates are lower in most cases by about 10fps BUT the frame rate is smooth as butter, not all herky jerky, stuttery and frame skippy like my 6970 is.

Overclocks like a mother too. I'm easily at 1000 core and 2200 mem with volts a 1.080 at temp max of 76c
__________________

Vista64 Home Premium
Gigabyte GA-EP35C-DS3R
CPU E8500 with Corsair H50 cooler
HIS 6970, always 19x10res
Memory 8 Gig OCZ 1000@1024
Display Westinghouse 37" LVM-37w1 LCD monitor
Destroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-12, 11:19 AM   #1001
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 5xx thread"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Destroy View Post
Bought a GTX560Ti for $300 at Best Buy. Was over priced but its the price you pay if you want it now and the ability to return without hassle.

Mainly bought it to test/play MS Flight Sim X. So far frame rates are lower in most cases by about 10fps BUT the frame rate is smooth as butter, not all herky jerky, stuttery and frame skippy like my 6970 is.

Overclocks like a mother too. I'm easily at 1000 core and 2200 mem with volts a 1.080 at temp max of 76c
What brand did you get? If it's eVGA you should be eligible for a step up when the 6xx series launches.

The 6xx series should be launching soon, you may want to return it and wait a couple of weeks, especially at that price.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-12, 03:24 PM   #1002
Destroy
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,994
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 5xx thread"

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
What brand did you get? If it's eVGA you should be eligible for a step up when the 6xx series launches.

The 6xx series should be launching soon, you may want to return it and wait a couple of weeks, especially at that price.
I hear ya but FSX isn't GPU hungry. I need to replace my aging E8500/mb first. Plus Not about to spend $600 on a GPU right now.
__________________

Vista64 Home Premium
Gigabyte GA-EP35C-DS3R
CPU E8500 with Corsair H50 cooler
HIS 6970, always 19x10res
Memory 8 Gig OCZ 1000@1024
Display Westinghouse 37" LVM-37w1 LCD monitor
Destroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-12, 06:08 PM   #1003
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 5xx thread"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Destroy View Post
I hear ya but FSX isn't GPU hungry. I need to replace my aging E8500/mb first. Plus Not about to spend $600 on a GPU right now.
My point was if you wait a couple weeks you may be able to get a 6xx series card at the same price with 25-30%+ more performance over the 560 Ti. Obviously that won't be the 680 or 670 Ti, but maybe the 660 (Ti?).
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-12, 02:42 AM   #1004
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 5xx thread"

Another question: would a 3gig GTX 580 give me significant improvement over the 1.5gig version at 1920x1200 for mainly BF3? And also, would the increased memory allow me to enable higher Physx settings in games that support this feature.
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-24-12, 08:39 AM   #1005
ArrowMk84
Registered User
 
ArrowMk84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 5xx thread"

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob saget View Post
Another question: would a 3gig GTX 580 give me significant improvement over the 1.5gig version at 1920x1200 for mainly BF3? And also, would the increased memory allow me to enable higher Physx settings in games that support this feature.
You'd have to check your VRAM usage while gaming (I use EVGA Precision for that, but Riva or another tool should be able to do it ). Right now I'll tell you the answer is maybe for 1920x1200. On the Back to Karkand maps I see VRAM usage (at 2560x1600 with all in game settings at Ultra) run between 2.1 GB and 2.7 GB (Skyrim with a boatload of texture mods will do the same thing). My old 1.5GB cards would have a lot of swapping/thrashing going on has they switched out textures, causing frame rates to regularly dive below 20 FPS and eventually BF3 would crash (I had to pull back the AA settings to get it to fit in VRAM). With my current 3GB cards BF3 is smooth as silk and can run all day.

I'm not sure about the Physx. And outside of Skyrim and BF3, nothing else I play really takes advantage of the extra VRAM. You might want to post in the BF3 thread to get so comments on 1920x1200 VRAM usage, since it looks like you're coming from a Radeon by your sig.
__________________
Intel i7-2600k @ 4.6GHz | Asus Maximus IV Extreme | 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1866 MHz 9-10-9-27 | Dual EVGA GeForce GTX 580 3GB | Creative X-Fi Titanium Pro PCI-E | Intel 510 Series SSD 120 GB | 2x Raptor 600 GB RAID | 2TB WD Black | Lite-On 21x Blu-ray Burner | Corsair AX1200 Modular PSU | Silverstone FT02 | Corsair H60 with Dual Fans | Dell 3007-HC 30" LCD | Audioengine 5 & S8

Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
ArrowMk84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-12, 09:47 AM   #1006
Quick420
Registered User
 
Quick420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London,Canada
Posts: 1,445
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 5xx thread"

I grabbed one of these.It runs at 950/1100/1900 with 1.05volts.I paid $229 Canadian for it.Twin cooler is awesome and quiet.Looking to get another.

http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...004&CatId=3669
__________________
:Gaming Rig:
Asus P5N-D SLi E8400 Wolfdale@3.6ghz/TTBig TyphoonCooler 51c Orthos 3hrs
Galaxy GTX560ti-GC 296.10 Forceware 950/1900/2200,1100mv,Gts250/Physx
2x2gb Ddr2 1066mhz 4-4-4-12 1T
3xWD WD5000AAKS 500gb/sata300/ 1xSeagate 320gb Ide(tuuunz)
X-fi Fatality Pro*ASUS VH242H 24"LCD*:::Windoze 7-64bit:::
Sony DvD/Ram-Drive
Logitech G25
3dmark06 17,898 Vantage 12,851



If the light is GREEN the trap is clean
Quick420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.