Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-13-12, 08:51 AM   #1
michaelj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 85
Default Nvidia Geforce 296.10(win7) WHQL & 296.17(win8)

Windows XP 32bit:

http://us.download.nvidia.com/Window...ional-whql.exe

Windows XP 64bit:

http://us.download.nvidia.com/Window...ional-whql.exe

Windows Vista/7 32bit:

http://us.download.nvidia.com/Window...ional-whql.exe

Windows Vista/7 64bit:

http://us.download.nvidia.com/Window...ional-whql.exe

Windows 8 32bit:

http://us.download.nvidia.com/Window...al-preview.exe

Windows 8 64bit:

http://us.download.nvidia.com/Window...al-preview.exe

Windows 7 notebook 32bit:

http://us.download.nvidia.com/Window...ional-whql.exe

Windows 7 notebook 64bit:

http://us.download.nvidia.com/Window...ional-whql.exe

Windows 8 notebook 32bit:

http://us.download.nvidia.com/Window...al-preview.exe

Windows 8 notebook 64bit:

http://us.download.nvidia.com/Window...al-preview.exe
michaelj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-12, 09:35 AM   #2
Vardant
 
Vardant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: EU
Posts: 1,041
Default Re: Nvidia Geforce 296.10(win7) WHQL & 296.17(win8) WHQL

Oh, wow, 200MB? That's a first.
Vardant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-12, 10:25 AM   #3
Yaboze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,057
Default Re: Nvidia Geforce 296.10(win7) WHQL & 296.17(win8) WHQL

It's those darn internation sets, they are huge. Just go to Geforce.com and get the set for your region.
Yaboze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-12, 10:43 AM   #4
Vardant
 
Vardant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: EU
Posts: 1,041
Default Re: Nvidia Geforce 296.10(win7) WHQL & 296.17(win8) WHQL

Yeah, I know, it doesn't matter really, I can wait that one minute, it's just the size, that caught me by surprise.
Vardant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-12, 11:09 AM   #5
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Nvidia Geforce 296.10(win7) WHQL & 296.17(win8) WHQL

i don't like international sets, sometimes when you install them and then update with english sets bunch of extra international files stay over.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-12, 12:15 PM   #6
Ywap
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 627
Default Re: Nvidia Geforce 296.10(win7) WHQL & 296.17(win8) WHQL

Still no video playback on the secondary display
__________________
i7 2600k - Msi P67A-GD55 - Noctua NH-D14 - 8gb Corsair 1600mhz - Gigabyte GTX 580 - Corsair 600t - Corsair TX 850w - Windows 7 64-bit
Ywap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-12, 12:43 PM   #7
Cylphid
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 444
Default Re: Nvidia Geforce 296.10(win7) WHQL & 296.17(win8) WHQL

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ywap View Post
Still no video on the secondary display
On Win 7?

I'll be installing 7 tonight or tomorrow. I use a second display and I'll post results.

I was surprised that Win 8 installed the 296.17 by default last night while installing the preview too.
Cylphid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-12, 12:59 PM   #8
Ywap
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 627
Default Re: Nvidia Geforce 296.10(win7) WHQL & 296.17(win8) WHQL

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cylphid View Post
On Win 7?

I'll be installing 7 tonight or tomorrow. I use a second display and I'll post results.

I was surprised that Win 8 installed the 296.17 by default last night while installing the preview too.
Yepp, on Win 7 64-bit. It hasnīt been working for a quite some time now
__________________
i7 2600k - Msi P67A-GD55 - Noctua NH-D14 - 8gb Corsair 1600mhz - Gigabyte GTX 580 - Corsair 600t - Corsair TX 850w - Windows 7 64-bit
Ywap is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-13-12, 01:06 PM   #9
Cylphid
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 444
Default Re: Nvidia Geforce 296.10(win7) WHQL & 296.17(win8) WHQL

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ywap View Post
Yepp, on Win 7 64-bit. It hasnīt been working for a quite some time now
Ok, I'll let you know. I'm using the 295.73s on a 560m at the moment. Second display via hdmi.

Heh, just remembered, when I first hooked this monitor up I thought there was an issue until I remembered to switch inputs in the monitor's menu.



EDIT: no problems with the second display here on the 296.10s
Cylphid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-12, 12:35 PM   #10
FlakMagnet
Registered User
 
FlakMagnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Farnborough, UK
Posts: 335
Default Re: Nvidia Geforce 296.10(win7) WHQL & 296.17(win8) WHQL

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ywap View Post
Still no video playback on the secondary display
Do you mean no display at all, or can't play a video in a window (e.g. DVD or YouTube)?

I have my desktop running quite happily on 2 monitors, and pretty sure I have watched video on the 2nd monitor too...
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 | i7 920 @ 3.6GHz
POV GTX480 | 6GB Patriot DDR3 @1443
X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro | 120GB OCZ Vertex SSD
2xSamsung 7200 750GB RAID 0| Akasa Eclipse 62
FlakMagnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-12, 02:27 PM   #11
Cylphid
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 444
Default Re: Nvidia Geforce 296.10(win7) WHQL & 296.17(win8) WHQL

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlakMagnet View Post
Do you mean no display at all, or can't play a video in a window (e.g. DVD or YouTube)?

I have my desktop running quite happily on 2 monitors, and pretty sure I have watched video on the 2nd monitor too...
Same here.

These are hands down the best drivers I've tried on my laptop, keepers for now.

So far:
Alan Wake
AVP 2
L4D
Doom 3 with wulfen and sikkmods
SS3 BFE
Skyrim

No more flashing/corrupted menus, no display driver not responding (yet) and the same performance and IQ as the 295.73s, which did pretty well for me.

Very nice
Cylphid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-12, 10:50 AM   #12
Ywap
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 627
Default Re: Nvidia Geforce 296.10(win7) WHQL & 296.17(win8) WHQL

Update: I used to have DirectX (DirectDraw) set as video output in VLC because it brought tearfree playback on the second display.

Now video playback on second display only works with DirectX if "YUV->RGB conversions" is unchecked but i still get tearing.

If i use "Standard" video playback it works but it tears.

So, what i have to do now is disable the primary display completely to get acceptable tearfree playback on the TV.

Not the end of the world but still annoying.
__________________
i7 2600k - Msi P67A-GD55 - Noctua NH-D14 - 8gb Corsair 1600mhz - Gigabyte GTX 580 - Corsair 600t - Corsair TX 850w - Windows 7 64-bit
Ywap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Đ1998 - 2014, nV News.