Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-22-12, 05:09 AM   #1
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Default Geforce 301.10 (win7/vista) WHQL

I noticed Nvidia got new WHQL driver ready for GTX 680 launch day. Possible another massive performance boost over 300.99 and maybe add much improved OpenCL 1.2 and DirectCompute support.

Quote:
This is the official launch driver for GeForce GTX 680 – the fastest, most efficient GPU ever built.

Explore GeForce GTX 680 and its new SMX architecture on GeForce.com.

GeForce R300 drivers introduce several new industry-leading gaming features and will be released using versions 300.xx to 301.xx.

New Feature Summary:

•NVIDIA GPU Boost Technology – dynamically maximizes clock speeds based on workload of the game to push performance to new levels and bring out the best in every game. Learn more on GeForce.com.
•NVIDIA FXAA Technology – shader-based anti-aliasing technology available from the NVIDIA Control Panel that enables ultra-fast anti-aliasing in hundreds of PC games. FXAA delivers similar quality to 4x multi-sample antialiasing (MSAA) but is up to 60% faster, enabling substantially higher performance in games. Note: This feature is disabled for games already have built-in support for FXAA. Visit GeForce.com to learn more.
•NVIDIA Adaptive Vertical Sync – dynamically enables vertical sync based on your current frame rates for the smoothest gaming experience. Visit GeForce.com to learn more.•NVIDIA Frame Rate Target – dynamically adjusts frame rate to a user specified target. Support for this feature is enabled via third party applications via NVAPI. Visit GeForce.com to learn more.
•NVIDIA 3D Vision Surround Technology – with a single GeForce GTX 680 you can expand your PC games across three displays in full stereoscopic 3D for the ultimate “inside the game” experience. NVIDIA Surround also supports triple screen gaming with non-3D Vision monitors. Visit GeForce.com to learn more.
New Surround features:

◦Add in a fourth accessory display to get access to your email, web, or other applications while you game.
◦Maximize an application to a single physical display when in Surround mode (enabled by default).
◦Confine the Windows Taskbar to the center display (enabled by default).
◦Enable bezel peeking – a feature which enables users to temporarily ‘peak’ behind the monitor bezels using a hotkey (Ctrl + Alt + B). This feature is designed to be used in conjunction with bezel corrected resolutions.
◦Enables users to add or remove resolutions from the list of Surround resolutions (only those selected will be available to applications).
◦Enables full center display acceleration for single wide display modes (center display must be connected to the master GPU).
•NVIDIA NVENC Support – adds support for the new hardware-based H.264 video encoder in GeForce GTX 680, providing up to 4x faster encoding performance while consuming less power.
Other Details

•Installs PhysX System Software v9.12.0213.
•Installs HD Audio v1.3.12.0.
•Supports OpenGL 4.2
•Supports DisplayPort 1.2 for GeForce GTX 680.
•Supports multiple languages and APIs for GPU computing: CUDA C, CUDA C++, CUDA Fortran, OpenCL, DirectCompute, and Microsoft C++ AMP.
•Supports single GPU and NVIDIA SLI technology on DirectX 9, DirectX 10, DirectX 11, and OpenGL, including 3-way SLI and SLI support on SLI-certified Intel and AMD motherboards.
http://www.nvidia.com/object/win7-wi...ql-driver.html 32bit
http://www.nvidia.com/object/win7-wi...ql-driver.html 64bit


Hmmm one feature we never heard from spec leaked are NVENC, look forward to find out in reviews about NVENC later.
__________________
Intel Core i7 3770K, Corsair H80 liquid cooler with Noctua S12-1200 fan, ASUS P8Z77V with UEFI 2104, 16GB Samsung Green 30nm DDR3-RAM, Pioneer BDR-S09XLT 16x Blu-ray writer, Corsair AX850 PSU, Western Digital 2TB SATA3 hard drive, CanonScan LiDE 210 scanner, Microsoft Internet Keyboard, Microsoft Touch Explorer mouse, 32inch Sharp LC32LE600 LED TV, EVGA Geforce GTX 670 SC 4GB with Geforce 370.50 driver, 50Mb broadband Virgin Media VMDG480 Super Hub, Aspire Xplorer Midi Tower, Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit.
AthlonXP1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-12, 05:11 AM   #2
Vardant
 
Vardant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: EU
Posts: 1,041
Default Re: Geforce 301.10 (win7/vista) x64 only WHQL

Dammit, just installed 300.99
Vardant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-12, 05:58 AM   #3
i SPY
007
 
i SPY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: You were sayin'
Posts: 290
Default Re: Geforce 301.10 (win7/vista) x64 only WHQL

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vardant View Post
Dammit, just installed 300.99
lol me too, although that wasnt the fastest


tnx for this.


edit: modded INF (x64, only for US driver)
http://www.mediafire.com/?faj8vjlm74mb4dc




edit: INT inf only (x64bit)
http://www.mediafire.com/?d6usbgolfetu1f1
__________________
intel Q9450 @ 3.656Ghz [1.3875v, LLC off]| GA-X48-DS5 [Memory Enhance: Turbo]|MSi N570GTX TwinFrozrIII OC/PowerEdition|Kingston HyperX 4x2GB PC 8500 @ 1097Mhz [5-5-5-18, 2.25v]| Creative X-FI Pro [SB046A]| Tagan PipeRock 600w [48A]


Last edited by i SPY; 03-25-12 at 01:30 PM.
i SPY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-12, 09:07 AM   #4
i SPY
007
 
i SPY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: You were sayin'
Posts: 290
Default Re: Geforce 301.10 (win7/vista) x64 only WHQL

Anyone else noticed strange stuttering while scrolling web pages? It stalls for a milisec every once and a while..

Idk, i think 300.99 didnt have it like that.



Also these are from older branch compared to 300.99


300.99: r300_95-2
301.10: r300_68-51


Hmm i guess i'll revert back to 300.99..
__________________
intel Q9450 @ 3.656Ghz [1.3875v, LLC off]| GA-X48-DS5 [Memory Enhance: Turbo]|MSi N570GTX TwinFrozrIII OC/PowerEdition|Kingston HyperX 4x2GB PC 8500 @ 1097Mhz [5-5-5-18, 2.25v]| Creative X-FI Pro [SB046A]| Tagan PipeRock 600w [48A]

i SPY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-12, 09:08 AM   #5
pxmm
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Warrington, UK
Posts: 11
Default Re: Geforce 301.10 (win7/vista) x64 only WHQL

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
Are the new Surround features also available for Fermi cards?
ManuelG on nvidia forums said a 300 series driver is coming for all cards in April. Also:

"FXAA, Adaptive VSYNC, and many of the Surround enhancements will be made available for Fermi-based products in the upcoming UDA driver.

GPU Boost and TXAA are Kepler specific. "

http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?s...post&p=1386584

I can understand them not wanting the overhead of integrating GPU Boost on all cards, but TXAA appears to be very simple to integrate into an existing MSAA/post process AA game engine, seems to only require MSAA and support on a card, so keeping it Kepler-specific and (guessing) tying it into TWIMTBP seems like it would put devs off: "why should we spend the time integrating and testing this and then specifically locking it to Kepler?"
__________________
__________________
Q6600 @ 3Ghz | GTX 480 SoC | Gigabyte P35-DS3P | 8GB Corsair 800MHz | 128GB Crucial M4 + 1TB F3 + 400GB + 250GB| Corsair HX620 | Sharp 46LE831 | Logitech Z5500
pxmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-12, 09:15 AM   #6
i SPY
007
 
i SPY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: You were sayin'
Posts: 290
Default Re: Geforce 301.10 (win7/vista) x64 only WHQL

^
about TXAA
Quote:
TXAA is a new film-style AA technique that is designed to exploit GeForce GTX 680’s high FP16 texture performance. TXAA is a mix of hardware anti-aliasing, custom CG film style AA resolve, and in the case of 2xTXAA, an optional temporal component for better image quality. The bulk of TXAA is a high-quality resolve filter, which is carefully designed to work with the HDR-correct post processing pipeline.

Like our FXAA technology, TXAA will be first integrated directly into the game engine. The following games, engines, and developers have committed to offering TXAA support: MechWarrior Online, Secret World, Eve Online, Borderlands 2, Unreal Engine 4, BitSquid, Slant Six Games, and Crytek.

So i kinda doubt it will be Kepler only, every high-end gpu has fast FP16 support.. Also why would a engine maker bind it to certain gpu, doesnt make any sense
__________________
intel Q9450 @ 3.656Ghz [1.3875v, LLC off]| GA-X48-DS5 [Memory Enhance: Turbo]|MSi N570GTX TwinFrozrIII OC/PowerEdition|Kingston HyperX 4x2GB PC 8500 @ 1097Mhz [5-5-5-18, 2.25v]| Creative X-FI Pro [SB046A]| Tagan PipeRock 600w [48A]

i SPY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-12, 09:19 AM   #7
pxmm
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Warrington, UK
Posts: 11
Default Re: Geforce 301.10 (win7/vista) x64 only WHQL

Quote:
Originally Posted by i SPY View Post
^
So i kinda doubt it will be Kepler only.. Why would a engine maker bind it to certain gpu, doesnt make any sense
Marketing

I guess they want a "killer feature" and that devs will only get the code when they sign up to TWIMTBP and promise to lock it to kepler, kind of like with a secondry PhysX card won't be used if the main card is AMD.
__________________
__________________
Q6600 @ 3Ghz | GTX 480 SoC | Gigabyte P35-DS3P | 8GB Corsair 800MHz | 128GB Crucial M4 + 1TB F3 + 400GB + 250GB| Corsair HX620 | Sharp 46LE831 | Logitech Z5500
pxmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-12, 09:41 AM   #8
i SPY
007
 
i SPY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: You were sayin'
Posts: 290
Default Re: Geforce 301.10 (win7/vista) x64 only WHQL

Quote:
Originally Posted by pxmm View Post
Marketing

I guess they want a "killer feature" and that devs will only get the code when they sign up to TWIMTBP and promise to lock it to kepler, kind of like with a secondry PhysX card won't be used if the main card is AMD.
lol yeah i'm aware of that.. and its silly.



anyway, anyone noticed this webpage scrolling stalling with 301.10?

__________

edit: its the same with 300.99, actually 300.99 caused TDR lolz, never had that before with any driver.. I returned to 301.10 int instead of US and all is good..

Also used a little higher scroll 4 steeps instead of 3 and it seems better.
__________________
intel Q9450 @ 3.656Ghz [1.3875v, LLC off]| GA-X48-DS5 [Memory Enhance: Turbo]|MSi N570GTX TwinFrozrIII OC/PowerEdition|Kingston HyperX 4x2GB PC 8500 @ 1097Mhz [5-5-5-18, 2.25v]| Creative X-FI Pro [SB046A]| Tagan PipeRock 600w [48A]


Last edited by i SPY; 03-25-12 at 08:29 AM.
i SPY is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-24-12, 04:31 AM   #9
Vardant
 
Vardant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: EU
Posts: 1,041
Default Re: Geforce 301.10 (win7/vista) x64 only WHQL

Quote:
Originally Posted by pxmm View Post
I guess they want a "killer feature" and that devs will only get the code when they sign up to TWIMTBP and promise to lock it to kepler, kind of like with a secondry PhysX card won't be used if the main card is AMD.
There is no way this is a Kepler only feature. Just look at FXAA, it also comes from NVIDIA, yet when implemented in a game, it is available to everybody.
Vardant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-12, 11:19 AM   #10
shteve
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 126
Default Re: Geforce 301.10 (win7/vista) x64 only WHQL

Played BF3 with these yesterday and they were fine (trying out the adaptive vsync). Played again later on and got 1-2 FPS. Had to reboot to get it back. Not sure if it was related to my PC having slept in between or if they just don't play nice with opengl (had played the new Wing Commander in between too).
__________________
i920@3.3GHz, Corsair Hydro, Asus P6T Dlx V2, 12GB Corsair DDR3 1600, Xonar DX, Palit GTX670, Corsair 1000W, Dell 2407WFP,, LG1710B (secondary), Crucial M4 128GB, 5 1TB drives ..., Win7 HP
shteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-12, 08:37 AM   #11
i SPY
007
 
i SPY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: You were sayin'
Posts: 290
Default Re: Geforce 301.10 (win7/vista) x64 only WHQL

I tried this adaptive vsync in Dirt2 and it eliminated those occasional micro sec hickups.. Now there is no micro stutter/hickup, instead i see like micro screen tearing/image flash-bliping, but at lest its smooth.. Hm it can look just as bad, kinda like epileptic flashes lol


ingame vsync on and in Dirt2 profile adaptive vsync.



hmm hard choice, either stutter or tear blip flashes
__________________
intel Q9450 @ 3.656Ghz [1.3875v, LLC off]| GA-X48-DS5 [Memory Enhance: Turbo]|MSi N570GTX TwinFrozrIII OC/PowerEdition|Kingston HyperX 4x2GB PC 8500 @ 1097Mhz [5-5-5-18, 2.25v]| Creative X-FI Pro [SB046A]| Tagan PipeRock 600w [48A]

i SPY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-12, 05:45 AM   #12
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: Geforce 301.10 (win7/vista) x64 only WHQL

The best way to fix both those problems is to get a 120Hz monitor. I'm very sensitive to screen tearing and if it's there on my Samsung, i'm unable to see it. Also say good by to Vsync and imput lag.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.