Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-26-04, 07:29 PM   #1
cricket
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 353
Default forgot password to router???

hello guys, was wondering if anyone can help me out. I have a linksys 4 port router and it is model (wired) BEFSR41, firmware version is 1.45 and I cant enter the set up screen, cause I forgot my password. It says to hold in the reset button for 30 second's and this will revert to default 192.168.1.1 and "admin" as password, both default setting's, but I have tried doing this 3 times, and it does not work. I still have the current 192.168.1.XX number I set it to, and admin is not working as password, so it must still want my password that I set months ago. Is it possible that with this firmware version I have, it is stopping me from doing this?, that holding the reset button for 30 second's, will no longer revert back to default setting's? if anyone has any help....send it this way. thanks, cricket The router is from c.2000 and has been firmware that is pretty much up to date.
__________________
MY RIG Built By Self:
P4-3.0GHZ/800FSB (Northwood) + ZALMAN CNP7000(ALL COPPER) HSF
INTEL 865PERLL Board
1GB (2 X 512MB) Kingston HyperX (KHX3200AKB/1GR (2-3-2-6)
XFX NVIDIA 7600GT AGP (256MB) (@ 580Mhz Core-1.5Ghz Memory Speeds)
80 GB MAXTOR DIAMOND MAX 9 (8Mb Cache)
WINXP HOME ED -w/Vista Transformation Pack 6
ANTEC SLK 3700 BQE CASE
Nec ND-1100A DVD/RW Drive
CD Drive
7 in 1 Multimedia Card reader For My SD Digital Camera Pictures
cricket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-04, 08:23 PM   #2
Fatman
Registered User
 
Fatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 387
Send a message via ICQ to Fatman Send a message via AIM to Fatman
Default Re: forgot password to router???

Hold that reset button down, it should work. Worked for me a few times on different revisions too. Don't forget that there is no user name, just the password - admin
__________________
Desktop: P4 3.4EE - 1GB Kingston HyperX - Asus P4C800-E Delux - PNY 6800 Ultra - Audigy 2 ZS - 2 WD 120GB SE
- 8x Pioneer A07 DVD Combo Burner - 16x Samsung DVD Reader - Antec 480W - Antec P160 Case - ViewSonic VP201s

Mobile Rig: Inspiron 8600 - Pentium M 2.0GHz - 1GB PC2700 - ATI Radeom Mobility 9600 128MB - Hitachi 60GB 7200RPM HDD
- 8X CD-RW/DVD-ROM Drive - 15.4" WXGA Wide Display
Fatman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-04, 02:14 AM   #3
Slyder
AMD + Nv = pro gaming rig
 
Slyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Coventry / England
Posts: 746
Default Re: forgot password to router???

What that guy said...

I have the BEFSR41 and I know there is a reset button for this very thing. It should work no matter what firmware you have but if you flash to the latest firmware that may clear it.

BTW : Not sure if you are aware or not, but there is a newer firmware out. We are now on version 1.05.00. Assuming you have a version 3 router I would suggest you flash to the latest firmware found here

Full list of bug fixes in the new firmware can be read here
__________________
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI - Bios F11
AMD Athlon 64 3500+@2.2
2gig RAM DDR333 (PC2700) 4 x 512 Corsair Value Select (CL 2.5)
Maxtor 6Y080L0 7200rpm 80 gig DiamondMax Plus 9 HDD
Gigabyte Dual 6600GT SLI Enabled
CTX VL701B 17ins CRT 0.27dpi 72khz MPRII Black
Creative Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS
BenQ DW1655 LS DVD-Rewriter with BCDB f/w (ohh yes, get on)
LiteOn 48246S CD writer with SS0E f/w
NTL 10 meg cable connection thru Ambit 250 modem. Ethernet connected
Linksys BEFSR41 v3 router with 1.05.00 f/w
Enermax 535 watts SLI-Ready PSU
XP pro with SP2
Playing multiplayer games online and lan enabled untill the day we die.


What I think of the word Blog
Slyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-04, 02:44 AM   #4
Bill The Cat
ACK
 
Bill The Cat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 279
Default Re: forgot password to router???

Try power cycling it. To be safe unplug it for a couple minutes. Perhaps that'll take care of it.
__________________
Shuttle SN95G5|S939 3000+ @ 2.385 1.525 V|eVGA 6800GT @ 400/1100| 1 GB PC 3700 CAS 2.5 RAM. Western Digital 74 GB 10000 RPM Raptor|

P4 2.4C @ 3.12|1024 MB 2.5 CAS RAM|520 Watt SilenX PSU|Leadtek Geforce 3|Dell 2001FP 20.1 in. LCD|80 GB IBM Deathstar (Pre-Hitachi)|Lian-Li 6070A Case|

Colorado State Civil Engineering
Bill The Cat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-12, 03:31 AM   #5
john123
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
Default Re: forgot password to router???

Hello Bill The Cat, No problem, just follow the given instruction -

1. first on off the Router support .
2. Start - Run- Type CMD and enter
3. Type IPCONFIG and enter
4. note down the Default Gateway
5. Open Internet Browser and type the gateway address & enter
6. set the password again & change the new password

Enjoy !!
john123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-12, 03:32 AM   #6
john123
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
Default Re: forgot password to router???

Hello Bill The Cat, No problem, just follow the given instruction -

1. Start - Run- Type CMD and enter.
2. Type IPCONFIG and enter.
3. note down the Default Gateway.
4. Open Internet Browser and type the gateway address & enter.
5. set the password again & change the new password.

Enjoy !!
john123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-12, 12:04 PM   #7
Johnny C
Passing you @ 192mph
 
Johnny C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada, EH!
Posts: 779
Default Re: forgot password to router???

Quote:
Originally Posted by cricket View Post
hello guys, was wondering if anyone can help me out. I have a linksys 4 port router and it is model (wired) BEFSR41, firmware version is 1.45 and I cant enter the set up screen, cause I forgot my password. It says to hold in the reset button for 30 second's and this will revert to default 192.168.1.1 and "admin" as password, both default setting's, but I have tried doing this 3 times, and it does not work. I still have the current 192.168.1.XX number I set it to, and admin is not working as password, so it must still want my password that I set months ago. Is it possible that with this firmware version I have, it is stopping me from doing this?, that holding the reset button for 30 second's, will no longer revert back to default setting's? if anyone has any help....send it this way. thanks, cricket The router is from c.2000 and has been firmware that is pretty much up to date.
Hold the button in for like 5 minutes
__________________
Phenom II 965BE @ 3.9ghz 200X19.5 1.4625 vcore 2.8ghz NB 2.4ghz HT - Asus M4A79XTD-EVO bios 0604 - 12GB Corsair DDR3 1600 @ 1600mhz CAS 9 w/1T - XFX 6970 2GB 950/1450 - Xigmatek S1283 HSF - Antec 900 - Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Johnny C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-12, 02:44 PM   #8
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,728
Default Re: forgot password to router???

bot
__________________
2500K 4.7ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 8gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
If I have a firewall in my router do I need one installed in Windows 7? musman Networking And Security 6 05-16-12 03:50 PM
Dawn of a new wireless: first 802.11ac router available today News Archived News Items 0 05-14-12 09:00 AM
Linksys Router Problems joltcola General Hardware 5 09-24-02 09:12 AM
Linksys Router Troubles FastM General Hardware 1 09-07-02 12:51 PM
Winxp Router Config Help.! styles-T Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 15 08-03-02 12:13 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.