Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-11-12, 11:07 AM   #1
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default PC bank 27" Korean IPS monitor is here

My PC bank 2700 showed up Friday. I've read a lot about these korean 27" IPS panels over the last couple of weeks and their prices are hilariously low. Some have sub par stands or hit or miss dead pixel probability but some sell with zero dead pixel guarantees and offer more sturdy construction. From what I've gathered, the PC bank is one of those and after getting it setup yesterday, I believe it.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Perfect-Pixe...05974259732929

I got a chance to finally hook it up last night along with my new EVGA 680. Absolutely perfect screen, zero dead or stuck pixels and everything feels solid and well built.

Skyrim in 1440p is absolutely breathtaking but I'm going to have to get used to such a big screen (my other is 24"). It's kinda like sitting on the front row of a movie where you're wanting to move back away from the screen. I can't lean over in my chair and game like I could on my 24.

My only real gripes with it are no height adjustment, only tilt up and down and turn from side to side but it does have vesa 100 mounting so this should be a nice addition later on

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

The other gripe is that the color isn't quite as bright and vivid (not as bright overall) as my 24" samsung. the viewing angle is a lot better than the 24 but side by side, the 27" isn't as bright. I dropped the brightness on the 24 to match but I'm considering getting the color munki to get a proper calibration.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...i_Display.html

Also, finally, maybe I didn't push them hard enough or something but it seems like only the power button works. No screen menus or aything like that to make adjustments. They may not be attached to anything on purpose to keep cost down though. (would not surprise me)


Regardless, for under $400 to my door, this thing is GREAT and the shipping was fast. Do specify if you order that you need (if you're here in the states) that you need a 110V brick. I got the 240v adaptor and he had to send me the 110v.

I'll try to get pics tonight.
__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-12, 07:52 PM   #2
howard stern
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 62
Default Re: PC bank 27" Korean IPS monitor is here

1. The other gripe is that the color isn't quite as bright and vivid (not as bright overall) as my 24" samsung

2. My only real gripes with it are no height adjustment

3. Also, finally, maybe I didn't push them hard enough or something but it seems like only the power button works

No Thanks!
__________________
Intel quad I7 950 @4.2| Prolimatech Megahalems | Asus Rampage III Formula| EVGA GTX 680 1287 boost| 12 gigs of Gskill DDR3 - 1600 | 2-WD 640 gig drives | Creative X-FI Fatal1ty Pro | Corsair 850W PS | Samsung S27A950D|Samsung SyncMaster 275T Plus | Lite-On Blu-Ray and Asus 24x DVD burner | Fios 35\35
howard stern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-12, 11:27 PM   #3
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: PC bank 27" Korean IPS monitor is here

After digging around more, it seems that the color accuracy is due to (more or less) lack of an internal board that controls that stuff and same with the controls. Apparently none of these korean 27's have built in controls that actually function.

But it's the same panel as this

http://store.apple.com/us/product/MC914

Just without the extra stuff. So $650 less than the apple but requires a $150 purchase for color correction hardware to fully utilize it making it more or less half the cost all together.

Still worth it to me. Gaming is outstanding on it.
__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-12, 12:45 AM   #4
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: PC bank 27" Korean IPS monitor is here

You know, every modern video card I've ever used allows you to adjust the colors, brightness, contrast, etc within the driver control panel. Pretty much meaning those features on the monitor are almost entirely useless.

Just sayin'.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-12, 06:42 AM   #5
FlakMagnet
Registered User
 
FlakMagnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Farnborough, UK
Posts: 335
Default Re: PC bank 27" Korean IPS monitor is here

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed View Post
You know, every modern video card I've ever used allows you to adjust the colors, brightness, contrast, etc within the driver control panel. Pretty much meaning those features on the monitor are almost entirely useless.

Just sayin'.
That's not exactly right though. I have 2 monitors on my desk at work, both have been calibrated using a Spyder3 ELITE. They are both connected to the same video card, but no matter what I do from the PC end, the smaller of the 2 monitors just doesn't have the dynamic range and brightness of the newer wide screen monitor. Without being able to adjust the colour, brightness and contrast on the monitor, there is only so much the graphics card can do - you need the controls on the monitor too.

A simple test : using the controls on your monitor, turn the brightness right down. Now using only the graphics card settings in Control Panel, attempt to get the monitor back to its original brightness. You simply can't do it. Same with colour and contrast.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 | i7 920 @ 3.6GHz
POV GTX480 | 6GB Patriot DDR3 @1443
X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro | 120GB OCZ Vertex SSD
2xSamsung 7200 750GB RAID 0| Akasa Eclipse 62
FlakMagnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-12, 08:14 AM   #6
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: PC bank 27" Korean IPS monitor is here

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlakMagnet View Post
That's not exactly right though. I have 2 monitors on my desk at work, both have been calibrated using a Spyder3 ELITE. They are both connected to the same video card, but no matter what I do from the PC end, the smaller of the 2 monitors just doesn't have the dynamic range and brightness of the newer wide screen monitor. Without being able to adjust the colour, brightness and contrast on the monitor, there is only so much the graphics card can do - you need the controls on the monitor too.

A simple test : using the controls on your monitor, turn the brightness right down. Now using only the graphics card settings in Control Panel, attempt to get the monitor back to its original brightness. You simply can't do it. Same with colour and contrast.
yep. I've messed with the nvidia color control management and did get the 2 screens matched up pretty well but these hardware based color correction solutions have SO much more control over the colors and brightness than the nvidia control panel.

There really is no comparison.

Bear in mind though, it already looks really nice as is. It just needs fine tuning to look its best.
__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-12, 05:26 AM   #7
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: PC bank 27" Korean IPS monitor is here

The other cheaper listing says no ad-board but the one you linked to makes no mention of this

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Perfect-Pi...item20c454178b
, how does that compare to the one you got with ..no board?

Did they send you the wrong one or is an analog to digital board something else not relating to brightness ect?
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-12, 10:13 AM   #8
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: PC bank 27" Korean IPS monitor is here

no that's the same one I got. From what I gather, few of the korean monitors have the built in controls. Just the power button.

This one has the buttons but no idea if they work and also no "no dead pixel" guarantee either.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/New-ACHIEV...t_14886wt_1163
__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-20-12, 10:17 AM   #9
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: PC bank 27" Korean IPS monitor is here

Yeah...

my current monitor in my sig? When I first got it I spilled coffee all over it (long story, there's a thread about it if you feel like digging for it ). Anyhow, when putting the monitor back together I forgot to connect the ribbon cable for the front buttons. None of the buttons work as a result. Haven't missed 'em either.

I know it's all personal preference but... the default setting is typically fine for me.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-12, 01:53 PM   #10
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: PC bank 27" Korean IPS monitor is here

This monitor is something I would consider changing my CRT for.
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-12, 05:10 PM   #11
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: PC bank 27" Korean IPS monitor is here

You're still using a CRT? Amazing!
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-12, 05:47 PM   #12
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: PC bank 27" Korean IPS monitor is here

Yes, 1080p LCD monitors are all crap and higher res is usually too expensive for my liking.

I could not downgrade my resolution, Its against the law.


I also need 120hz, does it do that?

This thing is comparatively dirt cheap to the Apple monitor, but then it has the stuck/dead cells
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/New-ACHIEV...item231b6f5aaa
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.