Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-15-12, 06:16 PM   #553
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: The Official SSD Club

Quote:
Originally Posted by qube View Post
i am thinking of buying a OCZ SSD RevoDrive 3 240GB PCIe



has anyone here tried it
I heard they can be hard to setup with some motherboards and they have no TRIM support.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-12, 07:34 PM   #554
Ghosthunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 885
Default Re: The Official SSD Club

I figured I post in here, doing a major upgrade and I picked up Crucial M4 128 GB SSD about 2-3 weeks ago when it was on sale.

Right now I am only using it as a game drive, and amazed at how fast it loads BF3. I cannot wait until I reinstall the OS when I get a new mobo/cpu and make this my primary drive.
__________________
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
Intel i5-3570k @ 4.3
Thermalright True Spirit 120
G.Skill 16 GB Ram DDR3-1600
EVGA GTX 680 SC
Crucial M4 128 GB SSD
2x Samsung 1 TB Spinpoint 7200 RPM SATA HD103SJ
WD SE16 7200 RPM SATA 640 GB
SAMSUNG 22X SATA DVD Burner
CORSAIR 750TX PSU
LIAN LI Lancool PC-K7B
Asus 25 inch VE258Q
Win7x64
Ghosthunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-12, 07:49 PM   #555
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: The Official SSD Club

When you get the OS on the SSD you'll be flying!

I have 2x240Gb SSDs in RAID 0. At the time the 240s were cheaper than one 480gb. Running really the past year or so. Have a backup system to two external drives, one where I backup my SSDs and Data to a 1Tb USB drive and another of Steam and Origin Installers to my 1Tb USB3 drive. I usually only keep 5-6 games installed at a time.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-12, 09:37 PM   #556
Ghosthunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 885
Default Re: The Official SSD Club

Just curious what do you use to backup in terms of software? Do you just use some sort of clone from SSD to external?

Also what do you backup if not entire drive?
__________________
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
Intel i5-3570k @ 4.3
Thermalright True Spirit 120
G.Skill 16 GB Ram DDR3-1600
EVGA GTX 680 SC
Crucial M4 128 GB SSD
2x Samsung 1 TB Spinpoint 7200 RPM SATA HD103SJ
WD SE16 7200 RPM SATA 640 GB
SAMSUNG 22X SATA DVD Burner
CORSAIR 750TX PSU
LIAN LI Lancool PC-K7B
Asus 25 inch VE258Q
Win7x64
Ghosthunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-12, 09:46 PM   #557
mojoman0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Posts: 3,566
Default Re: The Official SSD Club

I'm going to set up a backup system for my next build too. I currently use Synctoy from Microsoft to backup pictures and music folders and such.

http://www.microsoft.com/download/en....aspx?id=15155
mojoman0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-12, 10:02 PM   #558
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: The Official SSD Club

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghosthunter View Post
Just curious what do you use to backup in terms of software? Do you just use some sort of clone from SSD to external?

Also what do you backup if not entire drive?
I use Acronis with the Plus Pack.

I back up my SSD RAID 0 and Data drive partitions. Good thing about the Plus Pack it has Universal Restore so you can restore (OS and ALL) to a machine with different hardware, if I need my PC back quickly, otherwise I can just select the files and folders I want back on a fresh OS install.

I got a 3 pack, for 70AUD with 3 Plus Pack addons for free.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-12, 10:18 AM   #559
nemecb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 4,018
Default Re: The Official SSD Club

I recently lost a hard drive in my system RAID 0 array and decided to go SSD instead of reinstall to a RAID array that has now lost two drives in the past couple of years (the previous one was caught by SMART before it completely died, so I was able to recover all the data on it).

My first impression? No noticeable difference from my old RAID array. One of these days I'm going to learn that "fast" storage isn't. I splurged on a Raptor back in the day too and decided it wasn't worth the money either. About the only thing I notice being faster is logins through SSH, and that's hardly worth the $130 I spent on this thing. Heck, even the benchmarks are only about twice as fast as my RAID1 array, which is fairly old now. Certainly not the lifechanging performance I was led to expect. I assume it's significantly better on random access, but apparently I don't actually do much of that because I have a hard time noticing.

Maybe I'm bottlenecked by my CPU - it won't boot with any overclock on it anymore so I think it's on the way out too. Don't have the money for an upgrade right now though so I'm stuck with it for at least a couple more months unless it dies completely. In that case I'll have to find the money whether I like it or not.
nemecb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-12, 11:46 AM   #560
Cylphid
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 444
Default Re: The Official SSD Club

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger View Post
I use Acronis with the Plus Pack.

I back up my SSD RAID 0 and Data drive partitions. Good thing about the Plus Pack it has Universal Restore so you can restore (OS and ALL) to a machine with different hardware, if I need my PC back quickly, otherwise I can just select the files and folders I want back on a fresh OS install.

I got a 3 pack, for 70AUD with 3 Plus Pack addons for free.
Exactly what I was looking for - thanks
Cylphid is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-23-12, 11:58 AM   #561
Cylphid
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 444
Default Re: The Official SSD Club

Quote:
Originally Posted by Siskods9 View Post
I have Acronis True Image Home 2012 with the plus pack and the boot media is useless to me.

It does not recognize my RAID arrays on the X79 chipset and that has been the case for months now. I have ensured I am using the latest version etc and it makes no difference.

The tool works fine in Windows... my aim is to backup my SSD RAID 0 array image onto my RAID 5 array and restore when required from the boot media but so far its a complete bust.

ATM I'm looking for an alternative solution. Acronis TIH seems to have major issues with RAID and their support forums are littered with similar complaints.
Hopefully it plays much better with single drives, but that buggy in one area alone....I'll have to browse their forums before buying.
Cylphid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-12, 06:25 AM   #562
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: The Official SSD Club

__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-12, 07:31 AM   #563
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,068
Default Re: The Official SSD Club

Nice!!!!!
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-12, 07:15 PM   #564
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: The Official SSD Club

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
Kick-ass!
I got one for the OCZ rma and bought the second one. The bad thing is after buying the second, the price dropped $30 the day after Still the drives are awesome.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.