Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-17-12, 08:51 AM   #1
DJMONDY
Registered User
 
DJMONDY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,050
Default Anyone with 2 Gtx 680s?

Just curious if its worth it?? How much extra fps gain in todays top titles?

Main reason I ask is that I might be in a situation soon where I might be able to afford 2, but is it worth it??
__________________
POV GeForce GTX 680 2048MB (Sli in future )
Samsung Green 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Dual Channel
Intel Core i7 3770K 3.50GHz @ 4.60GHz Ivybridge CPU
Gigabyte Z77X-D3H Intel Z77
OCZ Petrol 128GB SSD - MS Windows 7 64Bit
500GB HDD - Windows XP
250GB HDD - Windows Vista

SStone 850W PFC PSU QuadSLi
Sony 52HX903 3DTV
DJMONDY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-12, 05:52 PM   #2
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: Anyone with 2 Gtx 680s?

Going by you sig, even one card would be a huge step up. What size screen do you use.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-12, 05:56 PM   #3
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Default Re: Anyone with 2 Gtx 680s?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muppet View Post
Going by you sig, even one card would be a huge step up.
Yeah, Hell i went for a GTX260 to my GTX580 and i noticed a massive difference.

I would have thought his CPU would be a bottleneck for x2 680's?
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0(Ultra-120 eXtreme) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 6GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Antec 900 Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-12, 05:56 PM   #4
Roadhog
Resident Alien
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: Anyone with 2 Gtx 680s?

This should answer your question.

http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/521?vs=555
Roadhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-12, 04:21 AM   #5
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: Anyone with 2 Gtx 680s?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATOJAR View Post
Yeah, Hell i went for a GTX260 to my GTX580 and i noticed a massive difference.

I would have thought his CPU would be a bottleneck for x2 680's?
You are quite right. Needs a Mobo, CPU and Ram upgrade aswell. Would be better spending money there, before a second 680.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog View Post
This should answer your question.

http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/521?vs=555
That's quite neat, I haven't seen it before.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-12, 05:19 AM   #6
DJMONDY
Registered User
 
DJMONDY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,050
Default Re: Anyone with 2 Gtx 680s?

This is what im looking at getting first:

Bundle Specification
- CPU: Intel Core i5 2500K 3.30GHz @ 4.40GHz Sandybridge CPU
- Motherboard: Gigabyte Z68AP-D3 Intel Z68
- RAM: Kingston HyperX Genesis Grey 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 PC3-12800C9 1600MHz Dual Channel
- Cooler: Corsair A50 CPU Cooler

Is the motherboard capable of running 2 680s?? I think it is but there's not 2 pciex16 slots, the second drops down to x4 which im guessing isn't ideal. I don't really know about motherboard specs so im in need of some help in this section. What do I do??

I'm going to be using it on a 52" sony 3dtv 1080p

I want to run my games at full settings. Games like BF3, Skyrim, Crysis 2 and hopefully future titles for the next couple of years.
__________________
POV GeForce GTX 680 2048MB (Sli in future )
Samsung Green 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Dual Channel
Intel Core i7 3770K 3.50GHz @ 4.60GHz Ivybridge CPU
Gigabyte Z77X-D3H Intel Z77
OCZ Petrol 128GB SSD - MS Windows 7 64Bit
500GB HDD - Windows XP
250GB HDD - Windows Vista

SStone 850W PFC PSU QuadSLi
Sony 52HX903 3DTV
DJMONDY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-12, 05:28 AM   #7
DJMONDY
Registered User
 
DJMONDY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,050
Default Re: Anyone with 2 Gtx 680s?

This is interesting: http://www.guru3d.com/article/geforc...-sli-review/14

BF3 doubles its fps in this test. Is this just that bf3 is made to use more than one card and I wouldn't really see this kind of boost in older games?
__________________
POV GeForce GTX 680 2048MB (Sli in future )
Samsung Green 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Dual Channel
Intel Core i7 3770K 3.50GHz @ 4.60GHz Ivybridge CPU
Gigabyte Z77X-D3H Intel Z77
OCZ Petrol 128GB SSD - MS Windows 7 64Bit
500GB HDD - Windows XP
250GB HDD - Windows Vista

SStone 850W PFC PSU QuadSLi
Sony 52HX903 3DTV
DJMONDY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-12, 06:30 PM   #8
Pennyboy
Registered User
 
Pennyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 652
Default Re: Anyone with 2 Gtx 680s?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJMONDY View Post
This is what im looking at getting first:

Bundle Specification
- CPU: Intel Core i5 2500K 3.30GHz @ 4.40GHz Sandybridge CPU
- Motherboard: Gigabyte Z68AP-D3 Intel Z68
- RAM: Kingston HyperX Genesis Grey 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 PC3-12800C9 1600MHz Dual Channel
- Cooler: Corsair A50 CPU Cooler

Is the motherboard capable of running 2 680s?? I think it is but there's not 2 pciex16 slots, the second drops down to x4 which im guessing isn't ideal. I don't really know about motherboard specs so im in need of some help in this section. What do I do??

I'm going to be using it on a 52" sony 3dtv 1080p

I want to run my games at full settings. Games like BF3, Skyrim, Crysis 2 and hopefully future titles for the next couple of years.

Looks good but for the money I would go 2x4gb for 8gb total, that will give you a bit more breathing room and future proofing. If a motherboard drops down to 8x you won't notice a difference. I think it makes 00.1% difference having both slots @ 16x vs both @ 8x. Look up on youtube and Linustechtips does a comparison. That board looks like it only supports Crossfire and is only running @ 4x but don't know what 4x would be like? either case you are better to look at a different board that supports SLI.

I'm running 2xGTX 680s and it makes a difference in games like BF3 etc frames are very high but you really need to be running a 120hz screen or gaming at a 2056x1600 or multi monitor to make it worthwhile.
__________________
RIG
Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.4ghz
ASUS Maximus VI Extreme
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 x2 SLI
Corsair H100i Hydro Water Cooler
Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB
Corsair AX1200i PSU
Intel 520 480GB SATA3 SSD
Western Digital 2TB Caviar Black Edition
Corsair Obsidian 900D Case
Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD PCIe
Logitech Z-680 5.1 Speakers
Logitech G19 Gaming Keyboard
Logitech G500s Mouse
ASUS VG236H 23.6" 120hz LCD with nVidia 3D Vision
Windows 8.1 Pro x64
Pennyboy is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-19-12, 06:42 AM   #9
DJMONDY
Registered User
 
DJMONDY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,050
Default Re: Anyone with 2 Gtx 680s?

What do you mean with the 120hz?? Is my tv not up to that amount?

I'm sure the specs said it was 200hz standard then up to 400hz via Sony motionflow system which I don't use anyway as it causes odd effects with it turned on.

My tv model is 52hx903
__________________
POV GeForce GTX 680 2048MB (Sli in future )
Samsung Green 8GB DDR3 1600MHz Dual Channel
Intel Core i7 3770K 3.50GHz @ 4.60GHz Ivybridge CPU
Gigabyte Z77X-D3H Intel Z77
OCZ Petrol 128GB SSD - MS Windows 7 64Bit
500GB HDD - Windows XP
250GB HDD - Windows Vista

SStone 850W PFC PSU QuadSLi
Sony 52HX903 3DTV
DJMONDY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-12, 04:53 PM   #10
Pennyboy
Registered User
 
Pennyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 652
Default Re: Anyone with 2 Gtx 680s?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJMONDY View Post
What do you mean with the 120hz?? Is my tv not up to that amount?

I'm sure the specs said it was 200hz standard then up to 400hz via Sony motionflow system which I don't use anyway as it causes odd effects with it turned on.

My tv model is 52hx903
Hey DJMONDY, read the article below it will help you out here, your TV may not refresh at a true 200hz? I am not familar with your model as it appears to be a UK region TV?

http://www.overclock.net/t/662628/60...20hz-explained
__________________
RIG
Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.4ghz
ASUS Maximus VI Extreme
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 x2 SLI
Corsair H100i Hydro Water Cooler
Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB
Corsair AX1200i PSU
Intel 520 480GB SATA3 SSD
Western Digital 2TB Caviar Black Edition
Corsair Obsidian 900D Case
Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD PCIe
Logitech Z-680 5.1 Speakers
Logitech G19 Gaming Keyboard
Logitech G500s Mouse
ASUS VG236H 23.6" 120hz LCD with nVidia 3D Vision
Windows 8.1 Pro x64
Pennyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-12, 01:04 PM   #11
nicorulez
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Flo Rida
Posts: 195
Default Re: Anyone with 2 Gtx 680s?

Yep, I upgraded from an older I7 960 o/c to 3.6 MHZ with dual 480's SLI. I got a new system with 680 SLI and the new I7 3930 o/c to 4.3 at baseline. My FPS doubled in all my games, especially Battlefield 3.
nicorulez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-12, 09:45 PM   #12
Pennyboy
Registered User
 
Pennyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 652
Default Re: Anyone with 2 Gtx 680s?

Quote:
Originally Posted by munkus View Post
Yeah, this pretty much confirms my belief that the 670 or even the 680 won't be much better than my 580, given that my screen rez is 1920x1080.
I game at 1920x1080 @ 120hz and I have noticed a bug difference, especially with 3D Vision!
__________________
RIG
Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.4ghz
ASUS Maximus VI Extreme
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 x2 SLI
Corsair H100i Hydro Water Cooler
Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB
Corsair AX1200i PSU
Intel 520 480GB SATA3 SSD
Western Digital 2TB Caviar Black Edition
Corsair Obsidian 900D Case
Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD PCIe
Logitech Z-680 5.1 Speakers
Logitech G19 Gaming Keyboard
Logitech G500s Mouse
ASUS VG236H 23.6" 120hz LCD with nVidia 3D Vision
Windows 8.1 Pro x64
Pennyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.