Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows 7

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-27-10, 09:39 PM   #25
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Installed Ram Shows 4GB and it says 2.5GB are usable

Quote:
Originally Posted by mojoman0 View Post
lol I think this guy is getting way too much info. Install Windows 7 64 bit and you will be set!
+1, just install Win7 x64.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-10, 12:55 AM   #26
Rakeesh
 
Rakeesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 6,869
Default Re: Installed Ram Shows 4GB and it says 2.5GB are usable

Only one of two solutions work for you. One, as everybody has already stated, use 64-bit windows. Two, use physical address extension (PAE.) Note that PAE is less CPU efficient when it comes memory addressing.

The problem is this: 32-bit kernels can only address 2^32 bytes of memory, or 4GB. The easiest way I can think of to describe that problem in plain English is to compare memory addressing to a table of contents in a book. Suppose that the page numbers in a table of contents could only be two digits long. This means that the table of contents can't refer to, or "address" any page above 99. Let's also suppose that this same book has 120 pages, and you can't turn to any page that isn't addressed by the table of contents. This means that the extra 20 pages you have are useless.

Does that make sense? Now in a computer, anything that is memory takes up physical address space in this "table of contents." This includes your RAM (that "4GB of memory" number you throw around) your motherboards BIOS, your video card, and any memory on any PCI cards you might be using, etc. It all adds up to above 4GB. Your main "memory" goes last in this address space, e.g. it is what is at the end of the table of contents no matter what. So the actual memory that you can use is your 4GB minus everything else. Hence, you can't use all 4GB. How much you can actually use depends on what other components you have.

Physical Address Extension is basically saying instead of one table of contents, we can have two or more in additional volumes that are in the same book. Everything past page 99 goes into volume 2, and the page numbers start all over again. It takes more CPU operations per memory operation to do this however, thus it's slower to do it this way.

If we take this analogy from 32-bit to 64-bit, then we double the number of pages that the table of contents can address. So instead of a maximum of 99 pages, we can go up to 9999 pages.

Make sense?
__________________
Want to listen to audio without your computer going to sleep? Try this.

Core i7 2600k 4.4Ghz 1.385v | Corsair H60 | 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 8-8-8-24 | MSI P67A-G45 | OCZ Vertex 3 | Sapphire 7850 OC to Max settings

Rakeesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-12, 02:33 AM   #27
Chuttyfanta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
Exclamation Re: Installed Ram Shows 4GB and it says 2.5GB are usable

I also face same problem. I bought 8gb RAM i7 64bit windows7 home premium but that time, only 2.95 GB ram . Now I upgraded to Windows7 enterprise 32bit , still 2.95 only usable. How can I maximise my RAM.
Chuttyfanta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-12, 11:39 AM   #28
Dr.Nick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,044
Default Re: Installed Ram Shows 4GB and it says 2.5GB are usable

Hi, welcome to the forum. Before you do this I do recommend you switch to a 64bit version of the OS. There really is no reason not to these days and your 32bit key should work fine on the same version x64. The following should do the trick for you if you insist on it

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/libr...8VS.85%29.aspx
__________________
i7 920@4.03|asus p6t7ws|6gb ocz|gtx580oc sli|x-fi fatality|x25m+12tb|enermax 1kw|dell u3011 & 2405fpw
Dr.Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-12, 01:40 PM   #29
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: Installed Ram Shows 4GB and it says 2.5GB are usable

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuttyfanta View Post
I also face same problem. I bought 8gb RAM i7 64bit windows7 home premium but that time, only 2.95 GB ram . Now I upgraded to Windows7 enterprise 32bit , still 2.95 only usable. How can I maximise my RAM.
You were lied to, It was 32 bit windows 7. Unless you mean it showed 2.95gb free in Task Manager?
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-12, 10:08 AM   #30
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Installed Ram Shows 4GB and it says 2.5GB are usable

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuttyfanta View Post
I also face same problem. I bought 8gb RAM i7 64bit windows7 home premium but that time, only 2.95 GB ram . Now I upgraded to Windows7 enterprise 32bit , still 2.95 only usable. How can I maximise my RAM.
Either...
1 its 32-bit Windows
2 your motherboard / or bios doesn't support more ram (check for bios update)
3 (in some cases, I don't believe in yours) onboard GPU will use some
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.