Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Rumor Mill

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-10-12, 10:21 PM   #13
Shamrock
Royalty gone awry
 
Shamrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,612
Default Re: GK110 to feat a 512 bit bus ?

Yep, exactly what people are thinking. Only like 800-850 mhz, is the rumor.
__________________
They're after me Lucky Charms!

AMD Phenom II 955BE
16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1333Mhz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7850
Logitech Z-5300 5.1 THX surround sound
HANNS-G 28" LCD
ZBoard Merc Gaming Keyboard
CoolerMaster HAF-932 Full Tower Case
Windows 7 Pro x64
Shamrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-12, 12:12 PM   #14
walterman
Rayne
 
walterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,525
Default Re: GK110 to feat a 512 bit bus ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shamrock View Post
How much faster you guys think this GK110 will be?

How about only 20-25% faster than 680 GTX.

http://www.legitreviews.com/news/12803/
If you want to run very high resolution, with a crazy level of Super Sampling AA, max AF, very high resolution uncompressed textures, ... then, this is going to be "The Card" !
__________________
ASUS Rampage Formula X48 | Xeon 3350 @ 3.6 GHz (450x8/1.26v) | 4x1GB OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 Reaper CL3 @ 900 MHz 3-4-4-15 | 1 x eVGA GTX 285 SSC | 1 x ASUS EN8800GTX (PhysX/CUDA -> Burnt by nVidia 196.75 driver) | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty PCIe | 1 x Intel X25-M G2 80GB | 2 x 750GB WD RE2 7500AYYS SATA2 16MB | Samsung SH-B083L SATA | Enermax Revolution 1250W | Samsung SyncMaster 275T 27" 1920x1200 | Thermaltake Black Armor | BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch
walterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-12, 04:47 PM   #15
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: GK110 to feat a 512 bit bus ?

I'd be pissed if I bought a "680" for $500 only to have the 685 launch a few months later and be 50% faster.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-12, 07:04 PM   #16
Johnny C
Passing you @ 192mph
 
Johnny C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada, EH!
Posts: 779
Default Re: GK110 to feat a 512 bit bus ?

Wider bus, slower clocks...25% increase in performance.....massive cost.
__________________
Phenom II 965BE @ 3.9ghz 200X19.5 1.4625 vcore 2.8ghz NB 2.4ghz HT - Asus M4A79XTD-EVO bios 0604 - 12GB Corsair DDR3 1600 @ 1600mhz CAS 9 w/1T - XFX 6970 2GB 950/1450 - Xigmatek S1283 HSF - Antec 900 - Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Johnny C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-12, 08:10 PM   #17
fasedww
Pc Gamer
 
fasedww's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,578
Default Re: GK110 to feat a 512 bit bus ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
I'd be pissed if I bought a "680" for $500 only to have the 685 launch a few months later and be 50% faster.
has that ever happen?
__________________
Asus X79 rampage extreme 4, i7 3930K, 47X100, 4.70 GHZ, ,16 gigs, corsair, 1600mhz, 3 MSI GTX 780's Tri SLI, gtx, Prolimatech Genesis, 2 140mm fan heastsink, Lian Li PC 80 ArmorSuit case, PCPC 1200 watt, window side panel with 120mm blowhole, SoundBlaster X-Fi Titanium HD , Asus Blueray sata dvdrw,SSD 256GB Plextor Pro,SSD Patriot Pyro 240gig,SSD Agility 4 256 , 1 300 gig raptor, 1 600 gig raptor, segate 1 gig ,Total Airhead amp, Denon AH-D2000 headphones, Dell Ultra3011, Acer HN274H 120 Hz Lcd, ,26,500 3dmark 11, Win 7 HomePrem.

Rig #2 i7 3930k 4.7GHZ. 16 gig corsair Platinum 2400MHZ, Asus P9X79 DELUXE, 2 7970's Watercooled, Koolance blocks, on 1080 nova rad. 9 fan. 655 swiftech. Cpu heatkiller block, coolgate 240mm rad, 2 fan sycthe 108cfm 655 pump,OCZ 256Gb Vertex 4 ssd, C300 256Gb ssd, Patriot pyro 240Gb ssd, 2 wd 640gig Hd, Lian Li 343 modular case. Asus BD drive, Corsair AX1200 watt, X-FI Titanium HD on Fiio , Shure SRH840 Head phones, Dell Ultra3011, Razer Black Widow Ult. BF3 Edition keyboard, Corsair Vengence M60 Mouse, 3dmark 11 16,500, win 7 homePrem.
fasedww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-12, 10:18 PM   #18
Galvin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 241
Default Re: GK110 to feat a 512 bit bus ?

The 400 and 500 series both came out in the same year.
Galvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-12, 12:29 AM   #19
fasedww
Pc Gamer
 
fasedww's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,578
Default Re: GK110 to feat a 512 bit bus ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Galvin View Post
The 400 and 500 series both came out in the same year.
50% faster
__________________
Asus X79 rampage extreme 4, i7 3930K, 47X100, 4.70 GHZ, ,16 gigs, corsair, 1600mhz, 3 MSI GTX 780's Tri SLI, gtx, Prolimatech Genesis, 2 140mm fan heastsink, Lian Li PC 80 ArmorSuit case, PCPC 1200 watt, window side panel with 120mm blowhole, SoundBlaster X-Fi Titanium HD , Asus Blueray sata dvdrw,SSD 256GB Plextor Pro,SSD Patriot Pyro 240gig,SSD Agility 4 256 , 1 300 gig raptor, 1 600 gig raptor, segate 1 gig ,Total Airhead amp, Denon AH-D2000 headphones, Dell Ultra3011, Acer HN274H 120 Hz Lcd, ,26,500 3dmark 11, Win 7 HomePrem.

Rig #2 i7 3930k 4.7GHZ. 16 gig corsair Platinum 2400MHZ, Asus P9X79 DELUXE, 2 7970's Watercooled, Koolance blocks, on 1080 nova rad. 9 fan. 655 swiftech. Cpu heatkiller block, coolgate 240mm rad, 2 fan sycthe 108cfm 655 pump,OCZ 256Gb Vertex 4 ssd, C300 256Gb ssd, Patriot pyro 240Gb ssd, 2 wd 640gig Hd, Lian Li 343 modular case. Asus BD drive, Corsair AX1200 watt, X-FI Titanium HD on Fiio , Shure SRH840 Head phones, Dell Ultra3011, Razer Black Widow Ult. BF3 Edition keyboard, Corsair Vengence M60 Mouse, 3dmark 11 16,500, win 7 homePrem.
fasedww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-12, 02:21 AM   #20
walterman
Rayne
 
walterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,525
Default Re: GK110 to feat a 512 bit bus ?

When you see Intel's plans to push desktop resolutions to up to 4K, the bandwidth needed to run those resolutions is going to be monstrous.

http://vr-zone.com/articles/sharp-is...ays/15560.html

1920x1200 = 2.3 Mpixels
2560x1440 = 3.6 Mpixels (1.6x times bigger)
3840x2160 = 8.2 Mpixels (3.6x times bigger)
4096x2304 = 9.4 Mpixels (4x times bigger)
4800x2700 = 12.9 Mpixels (5.6x times bigger)

Bandwidth needed to move all those pixels in the future is going to be something like 1 TB/s minimum imho.

GDDR5 with a 512bit bus is a good beginning. With 5-6 GHz GDDR5 you have 320-384GB/s today.

8GHz GDDR? with a 1024bit bus equals to 1 TB/s.

Time will tell.
__________________
ASUS Rampage Formula X48 | Xeon 3350 @ 3.6 GHz (450x8/1.26v) | 4x1GB OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 Reaper CL3 @ 900 MHz 3-4-4-15 | 1 x eVGA GTX 285 SSC | 1 x ASUS EN8800GTX (PhysX/CUDA -> Burnt by nVidia 196.75 driver) | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty PCIe | 1 x Intel X25-M G2 80GB | 2 x 750GB WD RE2 7500AYYS SATA2 16MB | Samsung SH-B083L SATA | Enermax Revolution 1250W | Samsung SyncMaster 275T 27" 1920x1200 | Thermaltake Black Armor | BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch
walterman is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-16-12, 09:11 AM   #21
Yaboze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,057
Default Re: GK110 to feat a 512 bit bus ?

I am really eager to dump this 480, it's a great performer, but it uses a lot of power, runs hot and can be loud.

I'm going to hold out for the usually more powerful Rev 2 of the 680 (i.e. GTX 285, GTX 580, etc).
Yaboze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-12, 12:21 PM   #22
Galvin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 241
Default Re: GK110 to feat a 512 bit bus ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by walterman View Post
When you see Intel's plans to push desktop resolutions to up to 4K, the bandwidth needed to run those resolutions is going to be monstrous.

http://vr-zone.com/articles/sharp-is...ays/15560.html

1920x1200 = 2.3 Mpixels
2560x1440 = 3.6 Mpixels (1.6x times bigger)
3840x2160 = 8.2 Mpixels (3.6x times bigger)
4096x2304 = 9.4 Mpixels (4x times bigger)
4800x2700 = 12.9 Mpixels (5.6x times bigger)

Bandwidth needed to move all those pixels in the future is going to be something like 1 TB/s minimum imho.

GDDR5 with a 512bit bus is a good beginning. With 5-6 GHz GDDR5 you have 320-384GB/s today.

8GHz GDDR? with a 1024bit bus equals to 1 TB/s.

Time will tell.
I'm still waiting for 120hz oled displays, 60hz is nice, but if you ever see 120hz it adds so much more to the gaming experience. Also those uber high res will probably have to go to display port. Too bad windows metro will waste all that screen space.
Galvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-12, 09:03 PM   #23
Viral
Registered User of Women
 
Viral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,523
Default Re: GK110 to feat a 512 bit bus ?

Some news on upcoming Tesla's, one based on GK110 the other using two GK104 chips (not aimed at DP compute as it's piss poor for that).

http://www.nvidia.com/content/tesla/...ay_2012_LR.pdf

K20 is the big GK110, here's the white paper,

http://www.nvidia.com/content/PDF/ke...Whitepaper.pdf

Some notes;
- 384-bit memory bus (no 512-bit)
- 1/3 DP compute rate
- 15 SMX units, that's 2880 CCs using the same setup as GK104, but with the DP being 1/3rd the SMX units themselves will have quite a bit added
- 240 TUs

Current figures claim over 1TF DP compute potential. At the given specs that points to clocks being pretty low (~600MHz). Sure the desktop part (if any) will be clocked higher, but considering the >1TF figure doesn't tell us much, clocks can't be confirmed yet.

So with no news on a consumer product, is GK110 a good gaming GPU? Maybe at the lower clock speeds it barely outpaces GK104, or even fails to keep up? We'll find out towards the end of the year I guess.
__________________
Q9550 w/ Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme | 4GB Team Xtreme Dark 800MHz CL4 | Gigabyte X48-DS5
ASUS Radeon 5870 | 240GB OCZ Vertex 2 | 1TB WD Green Power | BenQ V2400W 24" LCD
Corsair HX-1000w | LG GGW-H20L 6x DL Blu-Ray Burner/HD-DVD Reader | Coolermaster Cosmos S

Acer TravelMate 4002WNLCi: Pentium M 725 @ 1.6GHz | Mobility Radeon 9700/64MB | 2GB DDR400 | 15.4" WXGA
Viral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-12, 11:13 AM   #24
walterman
Rayne
 
walterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,525
Default Re: GK110 to feat a 512 bit bus ?

Yeah, i did read the information yesteday too:

http://www.fudzilla.com/home/item/27...iled-by-nvidia
http://vr-zone.com/articles/nvidia-s...rds/15884.html

384bit bus @ 5-6 GHz = 240-288 GB/s

Compared with the 180GB/s of my GTX285 SSC, after 3-4 years, it's a 33-60% increase in bandwidth.

Prolly i will skip this card aswell.

Maybe the non Tesla/Quadro version of the card will feat the 512bit bus without ECC support.

That is my last hope.

Cheers
__________________
ASUS Rampage Formula X48 | Xeon 3350 @ 3.6 GHz (450x8/1.26v) | 4x1GB OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 Reaper CL3 @ 900 MHz 3-4-4-15 | 1 x eVGA GTX 285 SSC | 1 x ASUS EN8800GTX (PhysX/CUDA -> Burnt by nVidia 196.75 driver) | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty PCIe | 1 x Intel X25-M G2 80GB | 2 x 750GB WD RE2 7500AYYS SATA2 16MB | Samsung SH-B083L SATA | Enermax Revolution 1250W | Samsung SyncMaster 275T 27" 1920x1200 | Thermaltake Black Armor | BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch
walterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.