Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Rumor Mill

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-17-12, 01:01 PM   #25
Ninja Prime
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Utah
Posts: 2,263
Default Re: GK110 to feat a 512 bit bus ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by walterman View Post
Yeah, i did read the information yesteday too:

http://www.fudzilla.com/home/item/27...iled-by-nvidia
http://vr-zone.com/articles/nvidia-s...rds/15884.html

384bit bus @ 5-6 GHz = 240-288 GB/s

Compared with the 180GB/s of my GTX285 SSC, after 3-4 years, it's a 33-60% increase in bandwidth.

Prolly i will skip this card aswell.

Maybe the non Tesla/Quadro version of the card will feat the 512bit bus without ECC support.

That is my last hope.

Cheers
Time to give up hope bro, its 384 bit.
Ninja Prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-12, 03:03 PM   #26
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: GK110 to feat a 512 bit bus ?

If anything, I would expect them to use a 512-bit bus on the GPGPU version of the card, since host-device transfers are the often the biggest bottleneck in GPGPU.

So if they release a gaming version of GK110, I'd expect a 384-bit bus.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-12, 11:33 AM   #27
jlippo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 532
Default Re: GK110 to feat a 512 bit bus ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
If anything, I would expect them to use a 512-bit bus on the GPGPU version of the card, since host-device transfers are the often the biggest bottleneck in GPGPU.

So if they release a gaming version of GK110, I'd expect a 384-bit bus.
Their whitepaper currently states 384bit for the GPGPU version.
They also did some interesting work on command processor on GK110 to reduce the need of CPU in GPGPU work. (launch jobs internally etc.)
jlippo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-12, 02:50 PM   #28
i SPY
007
 
i SPY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: You were sayin'
Posts: 290
Default Re: GK110 to feat a 512 bit bus ?

yeah 384bit

although i like this part;




Both options are very welcome and something that's missing in GK104, especially HyperQ. Dynamic parallelism is very cool too, no need for uber fast cpu. I could still use my OC'ed Q9450 with it


That's why i will never touch GK104, if they skip these two features in GK110 geforce edition, they i see no point in GK110 geforce at all, except for the fact it should have up to 15 SMX and there is nothing interesting about that.
__________________
intel Q9450 @ 3.656Ghz [1.3875v, LLC off]| GA-X48-DS5 [Memory Enhance: Turbo]|MSi N570GTX TwinFrozrIII OC/PowerEdition|Kingston HyperX 4x2GB PC 8500 @ 1097Mhz [5-5-5-18, 2.25v]| Creative X-FI Pro [SB046A]| Tagan PipeRock 600w [48A]

i SPY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-12, 02:58 PM   #29
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: GK110 to feat a 512 bit bus ?

Dynamic parallelism is a great idea. It will work well for API calls that have well defined layouts (i.e. one function calls the next calls the next, etc.). It will certainly help with slower CPU's, but the feature will be very dependent on driver optimization.

If the Southern Islands and Kepler GPU's have taught us anything, it's that driver advantages will become more and more pronounced now that the two companies have similar architectures and a comparable number of "stream cores"/"CUDA cores".

This makes me slightly nervous about the future of GPU's as both companies have demonstrated deficiencies in their drivers sets, AMD more so than Nvidia.

I am looking forward to GK110 for GPGPU and games.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-12, 03:47 PM   #30
Johnny C
Passing you @ 192mph
 
Johnny C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada, EH!
Posts: 779
Default Re: GK110 to feat a 512 bit bus ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by i SPY View Post
yeah 384bit

although i like this part;




Both options are very welcome and something that's missing in GK104, especially HyperQ. Dynamic parallelism is very cool too, no need for uber fast cpu. I could still use my OC'ed Q9450 with it


That's why i will never touch GK104, if they skip these two features in GK110 geforce edition, they i see no point in GK110 geforce at all, except for the fact it should have up to 15 SMX and there is nothing interesting about that.
Will there be a gk110 desktop variant?
__________________
Phenom II 965BE @ 3.9ghz 200X19.5 1.4625 vcore 2.8ghz NB 2.4ghz HT - Asus M4A79XTD-EVO bios 0604 - 12GB Corsair DDR3 1600 @ 1600mhz CAS 9 w/1T - XFX 6970 2GB 950/1450 - Xigmatek S1283 HSF - Antec 900 - Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Johnny C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-12, 04:06 PM   #31
i SPY
007
 
i SPY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: You were sayin'
Posts: 290
Default Re: GK110 to feat a 512 bit bus ?

^
Hopefully, i dont really know, but if i go with GF110 road then yes. Im betting on Q1-Q3 2013, at least that's what my gut is telling me

This tesla version will be apparently Q4 2012.

I got those 2 slides from here,
http://www.nvidia.com/object/nvidia-kepler.html

there is also 23page whitepaper, describing HyperQ and dynamic parallelism among other new features. And imo this only confirms how crippled GK104 really is, they had to use 690GTX dressed as tesla K10 to somehow fill the gap until then..

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
Dynamic parallelism is a great idea. It will work well for API calls that have well defined layouts (i.e. one function calls the next calls the next, etc.). It will certainly help with slower CPU's, but the feature will be very dependent on driver optimization.
Agree, hopefully it won't be a flop like dynamic vsync (very buggy atm). Im also very interested in HyperQ - it will use higher gpu usage, thus more powah and in geforce variant it could mean more fps ^^

Quote:
Hyper-Q
Slashes CPU idle time by allowing multiple CPU cores to simultaneously utilize a single Kepler GPU, dramatically advancing programmability and efficiency

Now if they skip both then yeah i dont really see a point in GK110 variant, other then 15smx and higher memory bus..
Although it would fill this big gap between 680 GTX and 690 GTX, hopefully they're only gonna slash away vram size and leave GK110 intact.
__________________
intel Q9450 @ 3.656Ghz [1.3875v, LLC off]| GA-X48-DS5 [Memory Enhance: Turbo]|MSi N570GTX TwinFrozrIII OC/PowerEdition|Kingston HyperX 4x2GB PC 8500 @ 1097Mhz [5-5-5-18, 2.25v]| Creative X-FI Pro [SB046A]| Tagan PipeRock 600w [48A]

i SPY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-12, 01:02 AM   #32
jlippo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 532
Default Re: GK110 to feat a 512 bit bus ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
Dynamic parallelism is a great idea. It will work well for API calls that have well defined layouts (i.e. one function calls the next calls the next, etc.). It will certainly help with slower CPU's, but the feature will be very dependent on driver optimization.
It certainly is interesting, it also reminds me of the project Denver nvidia talked about a while back.
Idea was to implant ARM core within GPU to handle tasks that would have been otherwise a job for main CPU.
I'm decently sure that GK110 is the chip in Denver talked about and the dynamic paralleism and such operations work within ARM core in GK110. (I also could be horribly wrong. )
Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
This makes me slightly nervous about the future of GPU's as both companies have demonstrated deficiencies in their drivers sets, AMD more so than Nvidia.
Drivers and tool sets will certainly be even more important as cores (SMs) become more and more simple in search for power efficiency and the directing of them will fall more to software than some silly branch prediction units and such.

Great talk about power efficiency and computing. (How software and hardware have to change.)
http://mediasite.colostate.edu/Media...157581c458a1d#

And future.. (Echelon project2017?)
http://research.nvidia.com/sites/def...Micro_2011.pdf
jlippo is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-22-12, 11:13 AM   #33
i SPY
007
 
i SPY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: You were sayin'
Posts: 290
Arrow Re: GK110 to feat a 512 bit bus ?

Someone made a possible benchmark with GK110 info, at least 10 benches

http://www.ocaholic.ch/xoops/html/mo...php?itemid=747

And I have a feeling its gonna be something like that, but i still lol at this
Quote:
We remind you that those aren't the real results of the GK110 performance nor random numbers, it is a prediction based on a valable hypothesis!
__________________
intel Q9450 @ 3.656Ghz [1.3875v, LLC off]| GA-X48-DS5 [Memory Enhance: Turbo]|MSi N570GTX TwinFrozrIII OC/PowerEdition|Kingston HyperX 4x2GB PC 8500 @ 1097Mhz [5-5-5-18, 2.25v]| Creative X-FI Pro [SB046A]| Tagan PipeRock 600w [48A]

i SPY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-12, 06:46 PM   #34
Galvin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 241
Default Re: GK110 to feat a 512 bit bus ?

Be awesome if ends up being that good.
Galvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-12, 10:45 PM   #35
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,857
Default Re: GK110 to feat a 512 bit bus ?

I think thos benchmarks are on the high side,I think they will be lower then two GTX-680 in SLI.I wish it would come out soner because I am tired of my GTX-470's because they are teo loud when overclocking .I want a card that will be faster then two of GTX-470 in SLI.But I am tired of waiting and I am pissed off because how they have jack up the prices on the cards.The gigabyte GTX-670 3-fan I want was $399 and now the lowest I can find it is at $650 and I am not paying that nuch for a card that retails for $399.
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-12, 03:16 AM   #36
TeddyBear
Registered User
 
TeddyBear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
Default Re: GK110 to feat a 512 bit bus ?

This is the card I've been creaming myself over, but I thought it was coming out as a professional card first..? To be honest, this is the card that guards against the next gen consoles, it should handle anything they throw up, and thats what I want.
TeddyBear is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.