Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-29-12, 01:19 PM   #25
vatjjar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2
Default Re: GTX 680 + linux, What is the max pixelclock?

Quote:
Originally Posted by waperboy View Post
295.40 and 295.49 drivers on Linux ignore modelines with pixelclock > 400MHz on GTX 680 as well.

I have this Catleap monitor as well, ran fine at 2560x1440 103Hz on GTX 460. I purchased the 680 purely to get 120Hz, only to hit the wall because of the driver? It is well established that it can be made to perform 120+Hz on Windows.
Waperboy, you seem to have a working linux setup with Catleap monitor. I'm myself running the same monitor with Geforce GTX 670. Setting mode for the native resolution of the panel fails. There are no errors in the logs, so everything seems to be fine, but the display is filled with trash. Vertical color stripes of different colors. I can run VGA resolution just fine. The driver set installed is the latest from NVidia 30x.xx something.

I'm wondering whether the problem is with my xorg.conf, or is this a driver issue. My setup is dual-boot windows, and Windows does not have a problem with my rig.
vatjjar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-12, 01:30 PM   #26
Xevious
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 291
Default Re: GTX 680 + linux, What is the max pixelclock?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vatjjar View Post
Waperboy, you seem to have a working linux setup with Catleap monitor. I'm myself running the same monitor with Geforce GTX 670. Setting mode for the native resolution of the panel fails. There are no errors in the logs, so everything seems to be fine, but the display is filled with trash. Vertical color stripes of different colors. I can run VGA resolution just fine. The driver set installed is the latest from NVidia 30x.xx something.

I'm wondering whether the problem is with my xorg.conf, or is this a driver issue. My setup is dual-boot windows, and Windows does not have a problem with my rig.
If u want here is my config for running my catleap @ 100Hz:


Under monitor of xorg.conf:

VertRefresh 30 - 120
HorizSync 28 - 200
Modeline "2560x1440" 400.00 2560 2608 2640 2720 1440 1443 1448 1481 +Hsync +Vsync

Under device of xorg.conf:

Option "Coolbits" "1"
Option "UseEDID" "FALSE"
Option "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "True"
Option "NoBandWidthTest" "true"
Option "ModeValidation" "AllowNon60hzmodesDFPModes, NoEDIDDFPMaxSizeCheck, NoVertRefreshCheck, NoHorizSyncCheck, NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck, NoMaxSizeCheck, NoMaxPClkCheck, NoEDIDModes"
Xevious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-12, 02:35 PM   #27
vatjjar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2
Default Re: GTX 680 + linux, What is the max pixelclock?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xevious View Post
If u want here is my config for running my catleap @ 100Hz:

Under monitor of xorg.conf:

VertRefresh 30 - 120
HorizSync 28 - 200
Modeline "2560x1440" 400.00 2560 2608 2640 2720 1440 1443 1448 1481 +Hsync +Vsync

Under device of xorg.conf:

Option "Coolbits" "1"
Option "UseEDID" "FALSE"
Option "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "True"
Option "NoBandWidthTest" "true"
Option "ModeValidation" "AllowNon60hzmodesDFPModes, NoEDIDDFPMaxSizeCheck, NoVertRefreshCheck, NoHorizSyncCheck, NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck, NoMaxSizeCheck, NoMaxPClkCheck, NoEDIDModes"
Thanks! Apart from the Coolbits option and positive horizontal sync polarity (and 60Hz mode) I have the same settings, and it does not work. I will test whether the sync polarity affects the issue, but I doubt it. Which driver version you are running?
vatjjar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-12, 05:52 PM   #28
Spyke
Foxie
 
Spyke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 618
Send a message via AIM to Spyke Send a message via MSN to Spyke Send a message via Yahoo to Spyke
Default Re: GTX 680 + linux, What is the max pixelclock?

Here's mine if it helps. Catleaps can be very picky about the timings used, mine are a lot different compared to the examples posted here.
My second monitor head is a Catleap 2D which is not overclockable.

Code:
# catleap 2B
Section "Monitor"
	Identifier	"Monitor"
	#Option		"DPI"		"108 x 107"
	Option		"DPMS"		"1"
	Option		"ExactModeTimingsDVI"	"1"
	# 100HZ
	Modeline	"2560x1440"  400  2560 2592 2612 2692  1440 1443 1448 1480  +HSync -VSync
	# 68HZ
	Modeline	"2560x1440"  270  2560 2592 2612 2692  1440 1443 1448 1480  +HSync -VSync
EndSection
Section "Device"
	Identifier	"Device"
	Driver		"nvidia"
	Option		"ModeDebug"	"0"
	Option		"DynamicTwinview" "1"
	Option		"OnDemandVBlankInterrupts"	"1"
	Option		"TripleBuffer"	"1"
	Option		"BackingStore"	"1"
	Option		"CursorShadow"	"1"
	Option		"NoLogo"	"1"
	Option		"IgnoreEDIDChecksum" "DFP-0, DFP-2"
	Option		"UseEdidFreqs"	"0"
	Option		"SLI"		"0"
	Option		"ModeValidation" "NoHorizSyncCheck,NoVertRefreshCheck,AllowNon60HzDFPModes,NoWidthAlignmentCheck,NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck,NoMaxPClkCheck,NoEDIDMaxPClkCheck,NoVesaModes,NoXServerModes,NoPredefinedModes,NoUserModes,NoExtendedGpuCapabilitiesCheck,NoEDIDModes"
	Option		"UseEdid"	"1"
EndSection
Section "Screen"
	DefaultDepth	24
	Identifier	"Screen"
	Device		"Device"
	Monitor		"Monitor"
	Option		"TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-0"
	Option		"MetaModes" "DFP-0: 2560x1440_100 +0+0, DFP-2: 2560x1440_68 +2560+0"
	SubSection	"Display"
		Depth	30
	EndSubSection
EndSection
__________________
Gaming:
Intel i7 980X @ 4GHz | ASUS Rampage III Extreme | GTX 480 3Way SLI @ 900Mhz | Koolance VID-NX480 | Corsair Obsidian 700D
Corsair H70 CPU Cooler | EK-FB RE3 | Corsair AX1200 | Black Ice SR1 360 | 240GB OCZ Revodrive X2 SSD | Windows 7 Ultimate
12GB Corsair Dominator GT @ 8-8-8-24-1T DDR3-1600 | Onkyo TX SR-707 | 70" Sharp Aquos LCD | KEF Audio 5.1 C3/C6LCR/C7
Workstation:
Intel i7 920 D0 @ 4GHz | ASUS Rampage II Extreme | GTX 480 @ 800Mhz | Koolance VID-NX480 | Lian-Li V1200B | Corsair HX1000
EK NB ASUS HP | Watercool HeatKiller 3.0 | Feser Extreme X-360 | 2x160GB Intel X25-M SSD RAID0 | 4x2TB WD20EARS RAID10
12GB Corsair Dominator @ 8-8-8-24-1T DDR3-1600 | Creative X-Fi Titanium | Pioneer DVR-212D | Gentoo Linux
Dell 3008WFP | JohnBlue JB3 | CityPulse DA2.03e II DAC | KingRex T20U w/ Modded Auricaps & PSU | Glow Audio Sub One
Server:
Quad Socket Opteron 8356 (16 cores) @ 2.3GHz | Supermicro H8QMi-2 | Supermicro 2U Chassis | Redundant 1200W PSU
32GB 2GBx16 DDR2-667 ECC | 4x 300GB Cheetah SAS RAID10 | Adaptec 5805 512MB w/BBU | Colocated | Gentoo Linux
Spyke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.