Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-09-12, 12:25 PM   #1
Cr0t
Registered User
 
Cr0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Default Dell Precision 690 with a nVidia Quadro 3450

Recently I got the Dell Precision 690 with the nVidia Quadro 3450. A couple of things are strange... during the inits the lower 1/4 part of the screen turns into green / black lines, which disappear after some time.

X starts and everything seems to be working, but when I start the nvidia-settings tool it says "Detected PCI Express Link width: 0X" lspci -vv says it is running at full pci express speed. I am not so sure about it since adobe-flash is dirt slow. Mplayer with GL works fine, but adobe-flash is doing really badly.

glxinfo says that everything is okay and IDs the card and everything. /var/log/Xorg.0 says that everything is okay with the exception of the pci express link.
__________________
cya
0t
Cr0t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-12, 02:12 PM   #2
Licaon
Registered User
 
Licaon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Between the keyboard and the chair.
Posts: 490
Default Re: Dell Precision 690 with a nVidia Quadro 3450

can you read http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=46678 and generate a good report with the debug ( -logverbose 6 ) info as instructed after the issue appears ?

and you tested with the latest 295.49 and 302.07 too, yes?
Licaon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-12, 06:27 PM   #3
Cr0t
Registered User
 
Cr0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Default Re: Dell Precision 690 with a nVidia Quadro 3450

http://pastebin.com/uYQBd2S9

sorry that it took me so long.

used 3 different nvidia drivers all the same.
__________________
cya
0t
Cr0t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-12, 09:32 AM   #4
Cr0t
Registered User
 
Cr0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Default Re: Dell Precision 690 with a nVidia Quadro 3450

Any ideas?
__________________
cya
0t
Cr0t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-12, 08:16 AM   #5
sandipt
NVIDIA Corporation
 
sandipt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 260
Default Re: Dell Precision 690 with a nVidia Quadro 3450

Are you still facing this issue? please attach nvidia-bug-report by running nvidia-bug-report.sh script as root .
sandipt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-12, 10:09 AM   #6
Cr0t
Registered User
 
Cr0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Default Re: Dell Precision 690 with a nVidia Quadro 3450

Quote:
Originally Posted by sandipt View Post
Are you still facing this issue? please attach nvidia-bug-report by running nvidia-bug-report.sh script as root .
I still have the issue and the bug report has been attached.
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (73.8 KB, 54 views)
__________________
cya
0t
Cr0t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-12, 03:22 PM   #7
Cr0t
Registered User
 
Cr0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Unhappy Re: Dell Precision 690 with a nVidia Quadro 3450

Little update mplayer does NOT play HD stuff synchronized.
__________________
cya
0t
Cr0t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-12, 07:06 PM   #8
Cr0t
Registered User
 
Cr0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Default Re: Dell Precision 690 with a nVidia Quadro 3450

UPDATE 2:
MSI has to be disabled. If I enabled MSI and start XDM, the screen goes into standby mode. None of the logs are getting populated. So.. duno what is happening.
__________________
cya
0t
Cr0t is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-13-12, 03:29 PM   #9
Cr0t
Registered User
 
Cr0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Default Re: Dell Precision 690 with a nVidia Quadro 3450

I found a newer firmware, but that didn't seem to help. I created a newever bug report and attached it.
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (133.6 KB, 36 views)
__________________
cya
0t
Cr0t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-12, 02:53 PM   #10
Cr0t
Registered User
 
Cr0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Default Re: Dell Precision 690 with a nVidia Quadro 3450

used iasl to fix up the messy ACPI table
=> still pci express link speed 0x
__________________
cya
0t
Cr0t is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell Precision M6500 - Nvidia Quadro FX 2800M - Unusable with Gnome3 geaaru NVIDIA Linux 16 06-25-12 07:07 AM
Blog of NVIDIA CEO Keynote / GeForce GTX 690 & NVIDIA Conference Call News Archived News Items 5 05-04-12 12:56 AM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 690 Dual-GPU Graphics Card Review (HardwareHeaven) News GeForce GTX 690 Reviews 0 05-04-12 12:40 AM
Nvidia GeForce GTX 690 (PCMag) News GeForce GTX 690 Reviews 0 05-04-12 12:40 AM
nVidia Quadro 4 500 Go Random Chaos NVIDIA Linux 9 08-09-02 01:15 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.