Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-10-12, 10:46 AM   #1
ocgltd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 10
Default Twinview with different resolutions?

I'm successfully using twinview to drive 2 monitors for my home theatre computer (one in the case, one projector). I recently upgraded my projector and now the two screens have vastly different resolutions (1920x1200, 848x400). As a result twinview is forcing me to use very little of my projector resolution (scaling up a fuzzy image), OR, overdrive the little screen until is shuts off with "OUT OF RANGE" message but have a great projector image.

I would like to drive the projector at full resolution, and have the (nvidia) driver/X scale this same image down to 848x400 for my small screen.

Is this possible? I'm running Centos 6.3 x64 with X.
ocgltd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-12, 04:59 PM   #2
johnc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 92
Default Re: Twinview with different resolutions?

Can you post your xorg.conf?

What driver version are you using?
johnc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-12, 08:16 PM   #3
ocgltd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: Twinview with different resolutions?

Here's my xorg.conf. I'm running the nvidia driver 304.43.
Thanks!

Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "dual head configuration"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    Screen      1  "Screen1" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    Option         "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
    Option         "XkbLayout" "us"
    Option         "XkbModel" "pc105"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/input/mouse1"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "SilverstoneTek"
    ModelName      "Chassis"
    HorizSync       28.0 - 55.0
    HorizSync       28.0 - 110.0
    VertRefresh     43.0 - 72.0
    VertRefresh     43.0 - 150.0
    ModeLine       "800x480_60" 29.59 800 832 944 976 480 490 495 505
    ModeLine       "1280x720_60" 73.78 1280 1312 1592 1624 720 735 742 757
    ModeLine       "1920x1200_60" 73.78 1280 1312 1592 1624 720 735 742 757
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor1"
    VendorName     "Sony"
    ModelName      "VPL-HS51"
    HorizSync       15.0 - 600.0
    VertRefresh     15.0 - 600.0
    Option         "dpms"
    ModeLine "1920x1200_60" 193.16 1920 2048 2256 2592 1200 1201 1204 1242 +HSync +VSync
    ModeLine "1920x1200_73" 230.00 1920 1936 2096 2528 1200 1201 1204 1250 -HSync -VSync
    Option         "UseEDIDFreqs" "FALSE"
    Option         "NoBandWidthTest" "TRUE"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device1"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce 8600 GT"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce 8600 GT"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen1"
    Device         "Device1"
    Monitor        "Monitor1"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "TVStandard" "HD720p"
    Option         "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
    Option         "metamodes" "CRT: 1280x720_60 +0+0, TV: 1280x720_60 +0+0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes      "1280x720_75" "1280x720_60" "1280x720" "1280x768"
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "TVStandard" "HD720p"
    Option         "TwinView" "1"
    Option         "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
    Option         "metamodes" "CRT: 1280x720_60 +0+0, TV: 1280x720 +0+0"
    Option         "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT-0, TV-0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes      "1280x720_60" "800x480_60" "1280x720_75" "1280x768" "1280x720"
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
    Option         "Composite" "Enabled"
EndSection
ocgltd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-12, 03:19 AM   #4
shmerl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
Default Re: Twinview with different resolutions?

I'm not sure if Xorg is capable of such thing (I think not). What you can possibly do, is running separate X for each monitor.
shmerl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-12, 11:04 AM   #5
ocgltd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: Twinview with different resolutions?

Is there another way to mirror them then? Since one is on a projector, one is on the PC, and I want to be able to view movies on PC during setup and ALSO projector...
ocgltd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-12, 01:23 PM   #6
Gusar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 277
Default Re: Twinview with different resolutions?

Your xorg.conf is a big giant mess. You can achieve what you want with an xorg.conf containing five, maybe six lines. Not kidding with that. I'd have to look at the documentation to figure out the correct Metamodes syntax though. I know how to do it from the commandline, but it requires a patched xrandr utility. With that patch, you do something like:
Code:
xrandr --output LVDS1 --mode 848x400 --scale-from 1920x1200
I don't have time right now, but later today I'll provide that patch and also go through the nvidia documentation for the Metamodes.

Edit: Here's the xrandr patch that activates the scale-from option: http://article.gmane.org/gmane.comp....l/30138/match=
About Metamodes, I'm having a lazy moment , but basically, you need to set ViewPortIn and ViewPortOut. The Nvidia documentation has all the details.
Gusar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-12, 02:24 PM   #7
shmerl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
Default Re: Twinview with different resolutions?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gusar View Post
With that patch, you do something like:
Code:
xrandr --output LVDS1 --mode 848x400 --scale-from 1920x1200
I don't have time right now, but later today I'll provide that patch and also go through the nvidia documentation for the Metamodes.
Is it a very new feature that it requires a patch? Will it land in the xrandr across major distros as well?
shmerl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-12, 03:07 PM   #8
Gusar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 277
Default Re: Twinview with different resolutions?

Quote:
Originally Posted by shmerl View Post
Is it a very new feature that it requires a patch? Will it land in the xrandr across major distros as well?
It's not really new, it was checked into the git repository in April: http://cgit.freedesktop.org/xorg/app...4ba83ff9e6c207. But there hasn't yet been a release that would include it. Once a release is made, distros will pick it up.

It's quite cool, for example on my netbook I can do this:
Code:
xrandr --output VGA1 --mode 1024x768 \
       --output LVDS1 --mode 800x600 --scale-from 1024x768 --panning 1024x768 --same-as VGA1
Without the patch you can achieve the same effect, but you need to calculate scale factors manually. In my example, instead of "--scale-from 1024x768", you'd use "--scale 1.28x1.28"
Gusar is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.