Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-25-08, 08:07 PM   #25
rhink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 434
Default Re: Consoles with Nvidia Gpus

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonelo
they would be PC ? The PC, winner of the war finally ?
With the entire system locked down so you have to pay a fat license fee to the console maker to develop for it.
rhink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-08, 08:12 PM   #26
Rakeesh
 
Rakeesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 6,871
Default Re: Consoles with Nvidia Gpus

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buio
If next-gen consoles don't have some kind of multi-GPU setup, physics will be done by the CPU. That's because the load on the GPU is much more likely to be at 100% by graphics alone, whereas the multicore CPU's prolly have spare time to do physics. Both the 360 and PS3 have a lot of CPU power even today.
Modern GPU's are basically VPU's (vector processor.) A general purpose processor (CPU) can't perform vector functions nearly as efficiently as a VPU can unless you add the hardware for such functions to the CPU itself.

It would be a brain dead idea from an engineering standpoint to delegate physics processing to a general purpose processor however for multitasking reasons, it would be better to set aside a VPU for that, even if it is inferior to the one(s) set aside for graphics.
__________________
Want to listen to audio without your computer going to sleep? Try this.

Core i7 2600k 4.4Ghz 1.385v | Corsair H60 | 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 8-8-8-24 | MSI P67A-G45 | OCZ Vertex 3 | Sapphire 7850 OC to Max settings

Rakeesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-08, 08:23 PM   #27
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Consoles with Nvidia Gpus

Quote:
Originally Posted by XDanger
next consoles can be modular so we can upgrade them to our own spex but much simpler than a pc so anyone can do.
Problem then is developers would have to make games to suit more than one combination of hardware. Though it would be a much much smaller number of combinations than PC.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-08, 04:13 PM   #28
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: Consoles with Nvidia Gpus

games would be on HD-DVD so piracy problem solved
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-08, 04:32 PM   #29
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Consoles with Nvidia Gpus

Quote:
Originally Posted by XDanger
games would be on HD-DVD so piracy problem solved
something like dreamcast using GD-ROM
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-13, 02:11 PM   #30
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: Consoles with Nvidia Gpus

I'm glad Steam liked my idea, Can I have some money now

1988 mp3 player ,digital music download store

1999 cloud gaming

2008 "steam box"
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-13, 07:42 PM   #31
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: Consoles with Nvidia Gpus

necro thread!
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-13, 09:33 AM   #32
sytaylor
Cerebral Barbarian
 
sytaylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 1,656
Default Re: Consoles with Nvidia Gpus

Love some of the early points about next gen consoles in 2010...

I think even the 7 year cycle has been rushed with many now screaming that the end is coming for consoles...
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Pro Q6600 @ 3.42GHz | Abit IP35 Pro | GeIL 4GB DDR2
Gainward BLISS GeForce 8800 GTS 512MB 770/1920/1070
Creative Audigy 2ZS on Logitech Z-680s
Yuraku 24" Widescreen monitor

It saddens me that I need the following to post here:

Disclaimer: Any views expressed in the above post under the psuedonym "sytaylor" are entirely subjective and do not reflect the views of any business, company or entity associated with Simon Taylor. The use, copying of or editing of any materials within this post for professional purposes without written permission is stricly prohibitted under the UK Right of Privacy as provided in the Human Rights Act 1998 and the European Convention on Human Rights: Article 10 ECHR. Any attempt to use the information herin shall be subject to the Data Protection Act and Freedom of Information act, with damages being saught for defamation. This disclaimer applies to all text, images or media on this domain.

You have been warned.
My Blog
sytaylor is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help Installing NVIDIA Tesla M2070Q in Linux RHEL5 Ferianto85 NVIDIA Linux 0 05-18-12 08:35 PM
Nvidia Shows Why Gaming Consoles Won't Be Around Forever (Forbes) News Archived News Items 0 05-17-12 07:40 AM
Rumor regarding lack of 680 availability ViN86 Rumor Mill 6 05-09-12 04:48 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.