Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-18-04, 10:40 PM   #1
cricket
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 353
Default from win 2000pro back to win98se

a friend is trying to install windows98se on his system that currenttly has win2000pro on it now. when he inserts widows 98se disk and clicks on set up it says it cannot install win98se, to run ms dos.....can anyone try and give me correct details on how to install win98se over a system with windows 2000pro? how do we reformat hard drive so it is completely erased and then install the win98se?
thanks for any help you can give


i can give you the exact error we are getting if you need more info on it, also do we have to go to bios first and make cd rom first boot device then boot with win98se disk in drive , or is this just\ true for when installing winxp?
__________________
MY RIG Built By Self:
P4-3.0GHZ/800FSB (Northwood) + ZALMAN CNP7000(ALL COPPER) HSF
INTEL 865PERLL Board
1GB (2 X 512MB) Kingston HyperX (KHX3200AKB/1GR (2-3-2-6)
XFX NVIDIA 7600GT AGP (256MB) (@ 580Mhz Core-1.5Ghz Memory Speeds)
80 GB MAXTOR DIAMOND MAX 9 (8Mb Cache)
WINXP HOME ED -w/Vista Transformation Pack 6
ANTEC SLK 3700 BQE CASE
Nec ND-1100A DVD/RW Drive
CD Drive
7 in 1 Multimedia Card reader For My SD Digital Camera Pictures
cricket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-04, 01:17 AM   #2
eyeguy616
Registered User
 
eyeguy616's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Texas, y'all!
Posts: 25
Default

Yes, have your bios set to boot off the cd-rom before the harddrive so that your 98se disc boots. Once it boots you should be able to reformat the harddrive, but in case you can't boot up a win2k/xp disc and follow the directions only until after it has reformated the harddrive to FAT32 (just reset and quickly pop in the win98se disc while at the bios screen). Win98se can NOT read NTFS at all, which is the default file system for win2k and xp, so a complete FAT32 reformat is necessary.
Be sure to back up your files before wiping them out!

~eyeguy616
__________________
"Computer games don't affect kids; I mean if Pac-Man affected us as kids, we'd all be running around in darkened rooms, munching magic pills and listening to repetitive electronic music."
-Kristian Wilson, Nintendo, Inc, 1989
eyeguy616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-04, 05:52 AM   #3
p0lish_p0w3r
 
p0lish_p0w3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: not welcomed
Posts: 151
Default

You have to install 98SE from a floppy - make sure it is the first bootable device in BIOS. Then just format the win 2k partition and reinstall.

Simple as that
__________________
not welcomed here
p0lish_p0w3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GPU memory consumption, back buffer, Quadro tdsussman NVIDIA Linux 5 08-14-12 09:14 PM
New DLC Available: Jagged Alliance - Back in Action: Point Blank DLC News Gaming Headlines 0 06-13-12 06:30 PM
Which best to install Win98se or winme instead of winxp ? b5fan Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 18 09-16-02 11:30 AM
Win XP problem with regards to CD ROM MUYA Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 4 08-03-02 09:51 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.