Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > General Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-22-04, 09:31 PM   #13
buxom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 7
Default sata

i did not even try to do the SATA. i went with just the ide and it worked fine. I did have to disable the SATA in the bios to get the win2k installer to boot and find the ide drive though. The bios upgrade I did later may have fixed that now.

After reading some more posts here I figured out that I actually want the
ia32 drivers that are listed for the nforce2. I thought the amd64 tarball would be for the nforce3 but I guess they did not change enough with the nforce3 from the nforce2 to need a new version.

Now I am on to getting the video to work...
buxom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-04, 09:53 PM   #14
Dimensio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 13
Default Re: sata

Quote:
Originally posted by buxom
i did not even try to do the SATA. i went with just the ide and it worked fine. I did have to disable the SATA in the bios to get the win2k installer to boot and find the ide drive though. The bios upgrade I did later may have fixed that now.
Well, I actually need Windows to see the SATA device, and I'd prefer it if it cannot find the IDE drive, as I don't want it to even notice its presence lest it ask if I want to format it -- I have no NTFS partitions on it, so Windows has no business looking at it. Still, I have to decide if I want the base WinXP installation on the SATA drive or if I want to keep it on the 9GB NTFS partition of my current 18GB SCSI drive (which is how I have things arranged now, with the root partition of my Linux install being on the other 9GB partition).

Quote:
After reading some more posts here I figured out that I actually want the ia32 drivers that are listed for the nforce2. I thought the amd64 tarball would be for the nforce3 but I guess they did not change enough with the nforce3 from the nforce2 to need a new version.
Thanks for this information, I'll keep it in mind.

Quote:
Now I am on to getting the video to work...
Oh, dear. What kind of problems are you having?

I managed to get the 1.0-5328 drivers up and running without a hitch on my current setup, but I am concerned about it on a more up-to-date machine. I also don't know if I should use the AMD 64 drivers or just the old IA32 ones for now.
Dimensio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-04, 10:05 PM   #15
buxom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 7
Default no problems yet...

I have actually just started. i needed to get the nic working so i could d/l stuff without having to boot into windows.

I am getting fedora right now. I am going to try the athlon64 version of it and see if it works. I am not sure what is going to happen with neverwinter nights under it though. I will probably have to go with the 32 bit version but who knows.

Everything seems to work fine in windows 2000. I have a wierd problem with my usb mouse where when I boot up it will not load it. I have to unlug and replug it several times before it will work.
buxom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.