Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-25-04, 05:04 PM   #1
renegade77
Jesus Boy
 
renegade77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 130
Default Cd rom and audigy 2 probs

I have a cd rw drive that has a headset imput. Ive been tryin to get it to work but to no avail. could some help me properly set it up.l do i use the cd in on my audigy or the aux in or is it the s/pdif in?
__________________
<>< Wit out Jesus I'm nothin ><>

Athlon 64 4000+ @ 2.4 ghz Geforece 7800GS
Asus A8N5NX
Geil 512x2 pc3200

Win Xp Home ed
renegade77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-04, 05:11 PM   #2
GlowStick
CoD4!
 
GlowStick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,786
Send a message via AIM to GlowStick
Default

Ok, i have never figured out what those ports really do, but if you want to hear sound here is the only way i know of how to make it work.

Put a music cd in the drive and then play it via a pritty standard music player, i belive windows media player works fine.

plug in the headphones, and then become confused and say to yoru self 'WTF'
__________________
Intel i7-2600K, Corsair 8Gig, Corsair H100, Corsair 650D, Corsair HX750, ATi 6970, WD Caviar Black 2TB
Sony Vaio SB: i7, 8Gig, Intel 320 300gig
GlowStick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-04, 09:54 PM   #3
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default

you need to plug the audio connector from the soundcard, directly to your cd player.. thats the only way that front panel will work. Thats what those tiny little cables are for the cd drive... its for the front audio panel.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-04, 11:20 PM   #4
GlowStick
CoD4!
 
GlowStick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,786
Send a message via AIM to GlowStick
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jAkUp
you need to plug the audio connector from the soundcard, directly to your cd player.. thats the only way that front panel will work. Thats what those tiny little cables are for the cd drive... its for the front audio panel.
wHOA WHOA WHOA

Ok, in old machines reading a audio disk digitaly wasent really feasible, so the audio cable was really just a line in and the computer just played what the cdrom did, and it was also mirrord on the mic port.

but here is something i can do that i feel is werid, i do NOT have any audio cables hooked up to my cdrom, and hten i can play a music cd with windows media player then if i plug headphones in, i can hear it.
__________________
Intel i7-2600K, Corsair 8Gig, Corsair H100, Corsair 650D, Corsair HX750, ATi 6970, WD Caviar Black 2TB
Sony Vaio SB: i7, 8Gig, Intel 320 300gig
GlowStick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-04, 01:14 AM   #5
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default

hmmm.. i dunno, i always thought the cable was for the front audio out, and for the skip track button
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-04, 01:25 AM   #6
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default

You will need a CD player or use the play buttons (if any) on the CD Rom, Media player won't work due to it being digitaly decoded from your sound card.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-04, 07:34 AM   #7
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

Don't your speakers have a headphone port? If so, why not just use that?
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-04, 08:43 AM   #8
GlowStick
CoD4!
 
GlowStick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,786
Send a message via AIM to GlowStick
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Dazz
You will need a CD player or use the play buttons (if any) on the CD Rom, Media player won't work due to it being digitaly decoded from your sound card.
Actually the computer im driving my experince from dosent even have a shound card. And there is no cable from the back of the cdrom to anything, just the ide and power.

But there is no 'play' button on the CD-Rom, just a next track, and it dose change the track if windows meda player is open (btw this is an old version of it, bacck in windows 95 days)

its allways baffled me.
__________________
Intel i7-2600K, Corsair 8Gig, Corsair H100, Corsair 650D, Corsair HX750, ATi 6970, WD Caviar Black 2TB
Sony Vaio SB: i7, 8Gig, Intel 320 300gig
GlowStick is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-26-04, 09:24 AM   #9
threedaysdwn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 90
Send a message via AIM to threedaysdwn
Default

Glowstick is correct. The four-pin CD-Audio cable on the back of the drive is pretty much useless these days. On older systems it would send an analog audio signal from the CD-ROM (which did the CD-Audio reading itself) to the soundcard. You would then have a "CD Audio" input listed in the volume control panel which would adjust the volume from that input.

On most modern systems running XP, CD-Audio is read digitally from the disc just like data, and converted to audio by the CPU/soundcard. You will notice that in this case, adjusting the "CD Audio" input will have no affect on CD playback volume in this case. Instead, it will respond to the "wave" volume control just like any other audio generated by the computer itself.

Most modern DVD drives also have a two-pin audio output. This is a digital S/PDIF output. I believe it may be used for DVD-Audio playback, but I haven't had time to try that since I just got my Audigy 2 very recently.
The S/PDIF is also used by some soundcards for AC3-passthrough. Though most DVD players will decode the AC3/Dolby Digital format without the S/PDIF connection nowadays.
__________________
New! Compy 8.0 - Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3.0Ghz - EVGA Nvidia nForce 680 - 4GB DDR800 - 2x WD Raptor 10,000RPM 74GB in RAID 0 - 2x 300GB 7200RPM local storage - Geforce 8800 GTX 768MB - HP 23" Widescreen
threedaysdwn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-04, 12:34 PM   #10
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default

Yeah but media player uses digital music which decoded by the sound card, it doesn't need a audio cable of any kind connceted to the sound card.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.