Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-09-02, 02:33 PM   #1
DadGT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 73
Default Win XP SP1 - One month review??

After being burned badly by WinNT 4.0 SP2, I have grown leary of installing the latest SP's until I know they are decent. So my question to all those who have installed XP SP1, is it worth it? Are there any showstopper bugs and such? Any other general system improvements or steps back would be appreciated.

Thanks for any comments.
DadGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-02, 02:58 PM   #2
Needa916
Hugh Jorgen
 
Needa916's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 43
Default

After some tweaking, XP is worlds better than Win98SE. Its better for gaming than Win2K.

XP when it is first installed, IMHO is bloated POS. After a fresh install, I installed SP1, then disabled several services from running automatically. They I turned off all the crap thay put in there to help new users - like when a program is installed, and you open the start menu, the new program is highlighted - and you get little arrows pointing to it. I turned that off, along with several other things like drive indexing.

After tweaking the hell out of it for a day, yes, its a great OS. It has never crashed on me so far, and I am a gamer. Its got too many things to try to help you, but if you know anything about computers, turn all that stuff off and enjoy.
__________________
XP 2600+
Epox 8RDA+
Audigy 2
ATI Radeon 9700 Pro
XP Home
512MB x 2 Crucial 2700

2002 GSX-R 750
Needa916 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-02, 03:10 PM   #3
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

SP1... bah, it's a bunch of bug fixes. Most of them you'll probably never notice.

Install it for the security and bug fixes, but don't expect any speed increases.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-02, 04:20 PM   #4
Needa916
Hugh Jorgen
 
Needa916's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 43
Default

Yeah, I didn't trying to say SP1 is faster, just if you apply if after a fresh install, everything including games seem to run fine.

I installed SP1 after having XP installed for several months, and it created quite a few problems. My games didn't run smooth either. Yes, I do care about bug fixes and making my PC more secure.
__________________
XP 2600+
Epox 8RDA+
Audigy 2
ATI Radeon 9700 Pro
XP Home
512MB x 2 Crucial 2700

2002 GSX-R 750
Needa916 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-02, 04:30 PM   #5
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

you know, I installed it too, after several months, with no problems...
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-02, 01:26 AM   #6
Kruno
TypeDef's assistant
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,641
Send a message via ICQ to Kruno Send a message via AIM to Kruno
Default

No speed improvement? Funny HAHAHA!
__________________
"Never before has any voice dared to utter the words of that tongue in Imladris, Mr. Anderson" - Elrond LOTR
Kruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-02, 11:07 AM   #7
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Actually, speed goes down a bit--some comparison of 2000, XP, and non-SP1 XP somebody posted (might have been on the front page) said that non-SP1 XP wins just about every time (and 2000 never wins, so)...
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-02, 11:20 AM   #8
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

SP1 runs absolutely flawlessly on my laptop. No problems whatsoever. I'm still trying to tweak it for my desktop, but all is going smoothly so far. No performance increases from what I can see, but bug/security fixes are always very nice. Plus it saves me from having to re-download them every time I install Windows. All I have to do via Windows update is install 2 critical updates that are less than 1 mb total. That makes my modem very happy.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-13-02, 09:39 AM   #9
MajBlunder
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 18
Default

I tried SP1 after a fresh install of XP Pro, didnt turn off any services, and when i tried to install my USB gaming devices I was getting all kinds of errors and a icon in the systray that said, its safe to remove this device. Has anyone else seen this or had problems with USB devices with SP1?

The gaming devices in question are, Nostromo N50 gamepad, Gravis Eliminator Pro gamepad, and TM Nascar Pro Digital wheel.
Wierd thing is my MS FF2 stick went in without a hitch.

When I uninstalled SP1 they installed without a hitch. And I am using the latest drivers for all of the devices.
MajBlunder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD FX-8120 Black Edition CPU Review (with Asus M5A99X EVO) News Archived News Items 0 06-21-12 08:30 AM
Product Review ' SteelSeries Scope Gaming Eyewear by Gunnar News Archived News Items 0 05-18-12 09:30 PM
EVGA GTX 670 Superclocked Graphics Card Review (Overclockers Club) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-11-12 06:00 AM
Product Spotlight ' EVGA GTX 670 Review Round Up News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 1 05-11-12 12:15 AM
nV News 9700 Review pelly Other Desktop Graphics Cards 45 10-17-02 12:53 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.