Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-22-04, 01:25 PM   #1
Tony Hoyle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6
Default Using 5336 with flat panel

I'm getting completely inconsistent results trying to get a flat panel working with the nvidia drivers.

ConnectedMonitor=DFP, IgnoreDisplayDevices=TV:
starting X causes the monitor to display 'No signal' then shut down. Exiting with Ctrl-Alt-Backspace restores console.

ConnectedMonitor=DFP,CRT, IgnoreDisplayDevices=TV:
Analog signal transmitted over VGA (which looks crap on a flatpanel). No digital signal.

ConnectedMonitor=CRT,DFP, IgnoreDisplayDevices=TV:
Same as DFP,CRT

ConnectedMonitor=DFP IgnoreDisplayDevices=TV,CRT
Black screen. Ctrl-Alt-Backspace does not recover - reboot required.
Randomly the driver will freeze in this mode requiring me to power cycle.

What is the correct setting for a flat panel? Is there another driver option I'm missing (the 'Work=Yes' option?)

Dual booting to XP proves the hardware is working - I get a digital display on that.
Tony Hoyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-04, 04:26 PM   #2
prplxd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 42
Question ??

How is your flat panel monitor hooked up?
I mean, are using a DVI adaptor from the DVI output of your video card?
Some flat panel monitors only come with the standard 15pin VGA connector.

If you are, you need to change your config file to:
"ConnectedMonitor" "crt,crt"

You might also want to check out what's in your server layout section,
and in your monitor section.

Are you trying to run "TwinView"?
prplxd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-04, 05:17 AM   #3
Tony Hoyle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6
Default

It's connected using the digital connector.

As I mentioned, I get a proper digital picture under XP, so I know the hardware is OK.

I'm not running twinview as I only have one monitor.
Tony Hoyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-04, 06:33 AM   #4
prplxd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 42
Lightbulb trying to help out

Quote:
Originally posted by Tony Hoyle
I'm not running twinview as I only have one monitor.
Then why are you trying to use:
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "crt,dfp"

Take this out and see if it gets picked up by default.

Can you post with your XF86Config file?
I think your issue is somewhere in your Device or Screen section?
prplxd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-04, 06:45 AM   #5
Tony Hoyle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6
Default

If you don't use the connectedmonitor line it tries to use the VGA connector all the time. The driver seems unable to produce a digital output at all.

I'll post the device and screen sections when I get home, but they're nothing special.
Tony Hoyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-04, 08:11 AM   #6
prplxd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 42
Question Hmm??

Quote:
Originally posted by Tony Hoyle
The driver seems unable to produce a digital output at all.
You might be correct with this!
With my dual monitor set up, (1 CRT & 1 Flat Panel),
I had to use:
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT,CRT"

It would give me a "no screens found" error otherwise.


Quote:
I'll post the device and screen sections when I get home, but they're nothing special.

You never know,...sometimes we forget the smallest things.
prplxd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-04, 04:17 PM   #7
Tony Hoyle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6
Default

OK sussed it. A friend at work had had the same pain. Apparently there's a bug in the driver which disables digital output unless you're using TwinView - hence the blank screens when I tried it.

A working setup for a single flatpanel is the following:

Section "Device"
Identifier "NVidia 9700FX"
Driver "nvidia"
Option "IgnoreDisplayDevices" "TV"
Option "NvAgp" "2"

Option "TwinView"
Option "MetaModes" "1280x1024, 1280x1024"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "60"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "Clone"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP,DFP"
EndSection

The connectedmonitor line looks wrong, but is actually the thing that makes it work
Tony Hoyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-04, 06:28 AM   #8
prplxd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 42
Lightbulb Nice going!

Quote:
Originally posted by Tony Hoyle
OK sussed it. A friend at work had had the same pain. Apparently there's a bug in the driver which disables digital output unless you're using TwinView - hence the blank screens when I tried it.

A working setup for a single flatpanel is the following:

Section "Device"
Identifier "NVidia 9700FX"
Driver "nvidia"
Option "IgnoreDisplayDevices" "TV"
Option "NvAgp" "2"

Option "TwinView"
Option "MetaModes" "1280x1024, 1280x1024"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "60"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "Clone"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP,DFP"
EndSection

The connectedmonitor line looks wrong, but is actually the thing that makes it work
Excellent info!!
This will be helpful for those that experience a similar problem with flat screens.
prplxd is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem connecting Pioneer VSX-S300 to Nvidia Ion - flat panel scaling solves it? wild_oscar NVIDIA Linux 3 06-17-12 07:18 AM
$159.99 - Dell E190S Black 19" 5ms Flat Panel Monitor News 19-Inch 0 06-10-12 01:13 PM
Panel: Exascaling Your Apps News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 06-10-12 02:30 AM
Antec side panel for sale Goofas For Sale/Trade 2 09-25-02 02:48 PM
Flat Panel performance? covener NVIDIA Linux 1 08-08-02 10:42 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.