Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-24-04, 07:42 PM   #1
jeempc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 6
Default Can't get driver to work

I downloaded and installed the drivers for my GeForce2 GTS and changed my XConfig file according to the README. Now X won't start.

This is the error from the error log:
(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to initialize the NVIDIA graphics device!
(EE) NVIDIA(0): *** Aborting ***
(II) UnloadModule: "nvidia"
(II) UnloadModule: "vgahw"
(II) Unloading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/libvgahw.a
(EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.

Fatal server error:
no screens found

Here is some info from my XConfig file:

jeem@slackstar:~$ grep Load /etc/X11/XF86Config
Load "dbe" # Double buffer extension
Load "type1"
Load "freetype"
Load "speedo"
Load "glx"

And here is the video section:

# ************************************************** ********************
# Monitor section
# ************************************************** ********************

# Any number of monitor sections may be present

Section "Monitor"

Identifier "My Monitor"

# HorizSync is in kHz unless units are specified.
# HorizSync may be a comma separated list of discrete values, or a
# comma separated list of ranges of values.
# NOTE: THE VALUES HERE ARE EXAMPLES ONLY. REFER TO YOUR MONITOR'S
# USER MANUAL FOR THE CORRECT NUMBERS.

HorizSync 31.5-50

# HorizSync 30-64 # multisync
# HorizSync 31.5, 35.2 # multiple fixed sync frequencies
# HorizSync 15-25, 30-50 # multiple ranges of sync frequencies

# VertRefresh is in Hz unless units are specified.
# VertRefresh may be a comma separated list of discrete values, or a
# comma separated list of ranges of values.
# NOTE: THE VALUES HERE ARE EXAMPLES ONLY. REFER TO YOUR MONITOR'S
# USER MANUAL FOR THE CORRECT NUMBERS.

VertRefresh 40-90

vendorname "[My Monitor]"
modelname "[My Monitor]"
ModeLine "1024x768/60Hz" 65 1024 1032 1176 1344 768 771 777 806 -HSync -VSync
EndSection


# ************************************************** ********************
# Graphics device section
# ************************************************** ********************

# Any number of graphics device sections may be present

Section "Device"
Identifier "VESA Framebuffer"
Driver "nivida"
#VideoRam 4096
# Insert Clocks lines here if appropriate
vendorname "NVidia"
boardname "GeForce2 GTS"
EndSection

# ************************************************** ********************
# Screen sections
# ************************************************** ********************

# Any number of screen sections may be present. Each describes
# the configuration of a single screen. A single specific screen section
# may be specified from the X server command line with the "-screen"
# option.
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen 1"
Device "VESA Framebuffer"
Monitor "My Monitor"

# If your card can handle it, a higher default color depth (like 24 or 32)
# is highly recommended.

# DefaultDepth 8
# DefaultDepth 16
DefaultDepth 24
# DefaultDepth 32

# "1024x768" is also a conservative usable default resolution. If you
# have a better monitor, feel free to try resolutions such as
# "1152x864", "1280x1024", "1600x1200", and "1800x1400" (or whatever your
# card/monitor can produce)

Subsection "Display"
Depth 8
Modes "1024x768/60Hz" "800x600" "640x480"
Virtual 0 0
EndSubsection
Subsection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1024x768/60Hz" "800x600" "640x480"
Virtual 0 0
EndSubsection
Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1024x768/60Hz" "800x600" "640x480"
Virtual 0 0
EndSubsection
Subsection "Display"
Depth 32
Modes "1024x768/60Hz" "800x600" "640x480"
Virtual 0 0
EndSubsection

EndSection

Help, I want to play enemy territory.....
jeempc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-04, 08:08 PM   #2
googlyeyes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1
Default modprobe nvidia

I had that exact same problem about 5 minutes ago

try "modprobe nvidia"
then "startx"

If that works the all you need to do is add nvida to the end of /etc/modules
so that it loads automatically every time!
googlyeyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-04, 08:16 PM   #3
jeempc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 6
Default

Thanks. I new I was suppose to load the module somehow. Here is a warning, is it serious?

root@slackstar:~# modprobe nvidia
Warning: loading /lib/modules/2.4.24/kernel/drivers/video/nvidia.o will taint the kernel: non-GPL license - NVIDIA
See http://www.tux.org/lkml/#export-tainted for information about tainted modules
Module nvidia loaded, with warnings
jeempc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-04, 08:30 PM   #4
jeempc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 6
Default

Well I got all excited for a minute. Unfortunatly, I am still getting the same error.
There must be something else wrong.
Jeem
jeempc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-04, 03:09 AM   #5
zander
NVIDIA Corporation
 
zander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,740
Default

Check the outpuf of dmesg after the startup failure, there may be additional error messages (e.g. missing IRQ).
zander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-04, 09:22 AM   #6
jeempc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 6
Default

Here is some more info from dmesg
I'm still not sure what to do....

Linux agpgart interface v0.99 (c) Jeff Hartmann
agpgart: Maximum main memory to use for agp memory: 149M
agpgart: Detected Via Apollo Pro chipset
agpgart: AGP aperture is 64M @ 0xe8000000
Creative EMU10K1 PCI Audio Driver, version 0.20, 15:47:38 Jan 5 2004
PCI: Found IRQ 11 for device 00:0a.0
IRQ routing conflict for 00:0a.0, have irq 5, want irq 11
emu10k1: EMU10K1 rev 7 model 0x8022 found, IO at 0xe000-0xe01f, IRQ 5
ac97_codec: AC97 codec, id: TRA35 (TriTech TR A5)
scsi0 : SCSI host adapter emulation for IDE ATAPI devices
0: nvidia: Can't find an IRQ for your NVIDIA card!
0: nvidia: Please check your BIOS settings.
0: nvidia: [Plug & Play OS ] should be set to NO
0: nvidia: [Assign IRQ to VGA] should be set to YES
0: nvidia: loading NVIDIA Linux x86 NVIDIA Kernel Module 1.0-5336 Wed Jan 14 18:29:26 PST 2004
gameport0: Emu10k1 Gameport at 0xe400 size 8 speed 1193 kHz
EMU10K1/Audigy soundcard not found or device busy
Linux Tulip driver version 0.9.15-pre12 (Aug 9, 2002)
PCI: Assigned IRQ 11 for device 00:08.0
tulip0: MII transceiver #1 config 3000 status 7829 advertising 01e1.
eth0: Lite-On 82c168 PNIC rev 32 at 0x1400, 00:A0:CC:41:76:68, IRQ 11.
PCI: Found IRQ 10 for device 00:09.0
PCI: Setting latency timer of device 00:09.0 to 64
eth1: Lite-On 82c168 PNIC rev 32 at 0x8000, 00:A0:8C:41:8C:41, IRQ 10.
EMU10K1/Audigy soundcard not found or device busy
EMU10K1/Audigy soundcard not found or device busy
EMU10K1/Audigy soundcard not found or device busy
EMU10K1/Audigy soundcard not found or device busy
EMU10K1/Audigy soundcard not found or device busy
EMU10K1/Audigy soundcard not found or device busy
EMU10K1/Audigy soundcard not found or device busy
EMU10K1/Audigy soundcard not found or device busy
EMU10K1/Audigy soundcard not found or device busy
usb.c: registered new driver usbdevfs
usb.c: registered new driver hub
uhci.c: USB Universal Host Controller Interface driver v1.1
usb-uhci.c: $Revision: 1.275 $ time 15:49:06 Jan 5 2004
usb-uhci.c: High bandwidth mode enabled
usb-uhci.c: v1.275:USB Universal Host Controller Interface driver
ip_tables: (C) 2000-2002 Netfilter core team
ip_conntrack version 2.1 (1535 buckets, 12280 max) - 292 bytes per conntrack

My soud still works even though it seems like there is a problem with it.

Please help
Jeem
jeempc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-04, 09:41 AM   #7
zander
NVIDIA Corporation
 
zander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,740
Default

From the message log you posted:


0: nvidia: Can't find an IRQ for your NVIDIA card!
0: nvidia: Please check your BIOS settings.
0: nvidia: [Plug & Play OS ] should be set to NO
0: nvidia: [Assign IRQ to VGA] should be set to YES
zander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-04, 10:03 AM   #8
jeempc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 6
Default

When I get home I will change my bios settings. I hope that will do the trick.
Thanks for telling me about dmseg. I have never used that command before.
Thanks for helping me sort all this out.
Jeem
jeempc is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-26-04, 09:46 PM   #9
jeempc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 6
Default Thanks

All set. I changed my bios settings and all is well.
Thanks for all the help
Jeem
jeempc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
295.40 Does not Work Had to downgrade to 295.33 Archmbc NVIDIA Linux 4 05-03-12 02:38 PM
Redhat 8.0 NVIDIA works - INSTRUCTIONS STEEL1 NVIDIA Linux 267 04-15-03 06:48 PM
Getting the proprietary nvidia driver to run with Debian 3.0 r0 (woody) Katchina404 NVIDIA Linux 9 01-12-03 08:49 AM
failing to initialize NV driver PsyShook NVIDIA Linux 10 09-19-02 12:41 PM
Nvidia Driver causes crash on Standby/Suspend dasher NVIDIA Linux 5 09-16-02 05:57 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.