Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-05-04, 12:16 PM   #1
RobHague
I like cheese.
 
RobHague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 905
Default Page File

You reckon it would be better to disable it or just set it 'lower'?

RAM size in sig. Anyone done any benchies with it on/off completley to find out if it has a positive impact on game performance? I have heard that some applications hate not having a page file and refuse to run at all....
__________________

There used to be a signature here, but now there isnt.
RobHague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-04, 12:37 PM   #2
Vash
Angel Arms
 
Vash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 624
Default

The general rule for your page file is that it should be 1.5 times your RAM. Soooo, that would be 1.5 Gig. That's what I've got mine set to, and I don't have any problems with it.
__________________
How happy is the blameless Vestal's lot!
The world forgetting, by the world forgot
Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind!
Each pray'r accepted, and each wish resign'd.
Vash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-04, 06:35 PM   #3
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default

Whatever you do, don't disable it outright. I've heard that can be bad.
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-04, 05:30 AM   #4
eL_PuSHeR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Motril, Granada, SPAIN
Posts: 278
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally posted by Vash
The general rule for your page file is that it should be 1.5 times your RAM. Soooo, that would be 1.5 Gig. That's what I've got mine set to, and I don't have any problems with it.
This rule is obsolete by now. Just check how virtual memory do you need - it depends on physical installed ram and user needs. So the more ram you have the less virtual memory you need. WinXP seems to do a nice vm management by itself. If you got some Win9x flavored OS, then setting vm to 1,5GB (minus physical) should be enough for everything.
__________________
AMD Athlon XP 1800+
ASUS A7V333
1GB 266Mhz DDR SDRAM
Creative GeForce4 Ti4200
Integrated CMI8738 audio
eL_PuSHeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-04, 11:45 AM   #5
ALobpreis
 
ALobpreis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ramos
Posts: 420
Default

It depends on what you use the computer for. If you user programs that eat 1 Gb of RAM, then a big swap file is needed. If you just play minesweeper , then a 0 bytes swap file is ok.

I recommend you to control how your virtual memory usage goes. Check the maximum hard disk you need often, and set the minimum swap file size to a bit larger than that. And the maximum, you can leave it unlimited or with a big size (I don't know what a swap file size limit could be good for).
ALobpreis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Rise of Object-based File Systems for HPC News Archived News Items 0 05-09-12 02:10 PM
RPM Source problems LaoTzuTao NVIDIA Linux 10 01-19-03 06:15 AM
Can't install NVIDIA_kernel.XXXX.XXXX.src or regular rpm noeffort NVIDIA Linux 15 12-17-02 02:22 PM
Where is my log file? Frink NVIDIA Linux 20 09-19-02 10:59 PM
Forum not linked on main page SnakeEyes Feedback Forum 2 07-29-02 11:18 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.