Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-11-04, 01:27 PM   #1
gregy_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6
Default Some solutions regarding TVout on FX5200

Problem description: enabling TwinView with TV-OUT has some strange image problems when viewing movies: seems like slices effect, especially when the camera moves horizontally...

Here are some of my findings on how to fix the problem:
1. use "gl2" video driver on "mplayer" with the following environment variables:
setenv __GL_SYNC_TO_VBLANK 1
setenv __GL_SYNC_DISPLAY_DEVICE TV-0

This syncs GL buffers to TV frequency, improoving the playback quality.

2. Do not use "twinview" - I defined a screen that has "ConnectedMonitor" set to "TV". According to the manual, the overlays are used only for the first device - if TV is the only device, it seems to work (almost).
This also fixed the image, but using "XVideo" for output has some blue lines over the top and the left sides of the picture... (anybody knows how to fix this ??)

Any ideas / comments / your experience will be greately appreciated!
gregy_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-04, 01:28 AM   #2
beck
Registered User
 
beck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: France
Posts: 12
Default Re: Some solutions regarding TVout on FX5200

Quote:
Originally posted by gregy_

2. Do not use "twinview" - I defined a screen that has "ConnectedMonitor" set to "TV". According to the manual, the overlays are used only for the first device - if TV is the only device, it seems to work (almost).
Any ideas / comments / your experience will be greately appreciated!
Yes it's the solution , because in twinview , adaptator is blitter for monitor AND tv .
But if you are 2 Screen , Screen 0 is Overlay and Screen 1 is Blitter . But , Caution , Screen 0 for "Device" and "ServerLayout" are different !


For me , i have :

Section "Device"
Identifier "nvidia TV"
Driver "nvidia"
BusId "PCI:01:00:00"
Option "NvAgp" "3"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "TV"
Option "TVOutFormat" "COMPOSITE"
Option "TVStandard" "PAL-N"
Option "DigitalVibrance" "250"
Screen 0
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "nvidia Monitor"
Driver "nvidia"
BusID "PCI:01:00:00"
Option "DPMS"
Option "NvAgp" "1"
Option "DigitalVibrance" "30"
Option "RenderAccel" "1"
Screen 1
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Monitor"
Screen 0 "Screen Monitor"
Screen 1 "Screen TV" LeftOf "Screen Monitor"
InputDevice "Configured Mouse"
InputDevice "Generic Keyboard"
InputDevice "Generic Mouse"
EndSection


thus the overlay is on the TV.
For the monitor, the problem remains ..... but the videos are looked on the TV ;-)
beck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-04, 12:54 PM   #3
toz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5
Send a message via ICQ to toz
Talking

Thanks I have been waiting for some suggestions on this problem I will try it soon.
toz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thoughts from console owners on NVIDIA's GEFORCE GRID MikeC Console World 11 05-27-12 08:43 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.