Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-14-04, 01:49 AM   #1
Thaidog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to Thaidog
Question 3D acceration for multiple monitor configuration?

It seems that with ATI cards you can only enable 3D acceleration in the X window enviorment with a single window configuration. Does nVidia give support for 3D acceleration in a dual monitor configuration?
Thaidog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-04, 02:01 AM   #2
/\/\3phist0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: H.B. California U.S.A.
Posts: 1
Send a message via Yahoo to /\/\3phist0
Default

yes it sure does UT 1999 , Quake3 , and UT 2003/2004 all rum great
__________________
[img]http://njsr.org/pics/albums/
userpics/10096/dontfear.png[/img]
/\/\3phist0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-04, 02:20 AM   #3
Thaidog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to Thaidog
Default

Oh hell yes! This is what I needed... I'm out to buy a card tomorrow... so your sure I'll get 3D acceration with 2 monitors connected to one card... right?
Thaidog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-04, 06:53 PM   #4
Thaidog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to Thaidog
Default

Bump... sorry fokes but I need empirical evidence, ie another post from somebody different that says that 3d acceleration works with *mulitple* monitors... in other an extended desktop view... w/ 3d acceleration enabled.... this DOES NOT happpen with other cards like ATI's... So I need a second person to say yes as well.... thx
Thaidog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-04, 01:37 AM   #5
bov
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 11
Default

Hi,

We are using GF4 ti4600 (and also ti4400) dualhead cards to run hardware accelerated OpenGL on both outputs (at the same time)

The application of usage is testing virtual reality software on head mounted displays, using different outputs for each eye. It works great!

Chees
Soeren
bov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-04, 02:10 AM   #6
Thaidog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to Thaidog
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bov
Hi,

We are using GF4 ti4600 (and also ti4400) dualhead cards to run hardware accelerated OpenGL on both outputs (at the same time)

The application of usage is testing virtual reality software on head mounted displays, using different outputs for each eye. It works great!

Chees
Soeren
Great! I was so pissed when I set up my SGI workstation with an ATI card and SuSE 9.0 and no dual head acceleration... wtf? ATI even has a contract with SGI in their new supercomputers! Those drivers suck too... once you get them working I could only get them working with RH9.0 and when you dl the new driver rpms from ATI it breaks your rigs acceleration once installed. And SuSE 9.0 pro would not even take acceration with a single head! God what a long road to success!
Thaidog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.