Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-30-04, 06:57 AM   #13
zoomy942
 
zoomy942's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bellevue, ID
Posts: 5,338
Send a message via AIM to zoomy942 Send a message via MSN to zoomy942
Default Re: PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA error HELP!

its ogtta be a memory stick problem. i helped out one of the officers at my base and it was page faulting only during ghames. i tried one stick of ram at a time and it worked like a champ once i found the broken stick.
zoomy942 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-04, 11:03 AM   #14
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default Re: PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA error HELP!

Let us know what happens w/Prime. If it runs OK I'm thinking flakey video card at that point, especially if the crashes happen with games only.
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-04, 11:04 AM   #15
zoomy942
 
zoomy942's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bellevue, ID
Posts: 5,338
Send a message via AIM to zoomy942 Send a message via MSN to zoomy942
Default Re: PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA error HELP!

i just helped someone else here at my base with a special kind of machine.. and i got the page fualt error. changed ram and its fixed.
zoomy942 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-04, 09:22 PM   #16
DuffMan47
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6
Default Re: PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA error HELP!

FIXED IT! You know what it was? Apparently, my RAM was going too fast...so I went into the BIOS and slowed the memory speed...that was it! I just don't understand as to WHY I was getting those errors. I plan on upgrading my 512 to two 512's making over a gig, thus totally replacing what I have now...but my question is: When I upgrade, will I have to slow that RAM down too?

Thanks for all your help!
Never would've done it without you guys!

DuffMan47

--------------------------------------------------------------------------
"DuffMan can't breathe! Ohhh Nooo!" - THE Duff Man
DuffMan47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-04, 09:53 AM   #17
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default Re: PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA error HELP!

Glad to hear it's OK now. I take it you had tweaked your memory settings in the BIOS then? Never occured to me that you would've. Definitely one of the first things to do when you have a hardware problem is to make sure everything is set to default speeds before you start troubleshooting further.

You should be able to run any more memory at the same speed you can safely run the current stuff @.
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.