Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-24-02, 09:30 AM   #1
D. Michaud
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4
Question Quadra4 + Quick TwinView question

I'm trying to use TwinView (one CRT, one DFP) with a NVidia Quadro4-700 board.

I have these relevant settings in the Device section of my XF86Config-4 file:

Option "TwinView"
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "30-80"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "50-100"
Option "MetaModes" "1280x1024,1280x1024"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "RightOf"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT,DFP"


I know that the refresh rates and modes are good. I can successfully use either display device by itself.

However, when using the above twinview configuration I always get the following error in the XFree86.0.log file:

(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to read mapping of display devices to CRTCs
(EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.

Does anyone know what might be happening? Perhaps twinview doesn't work with the Quadro4-700? (Although the specs say it supports something called "nView")

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
D. Michaud

Last edited by D. Michaud; 10-24-02 at 10:11 AM.
D. Michaud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-02, 12:12 PM   #2
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

I wouldn't think so, but does putting a space after the comma in the ConnectedMonitor option help?

Yeah, nView == TwinView...
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-02, 12:39 PM   #3
D. Michaud
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4
Default Tried that..

I tried using a space there, but it didn't help.

Interestingly, if I use only

Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT"

or

Option "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP"

with twinview enabled X appears to start up but the display is black and the monitor is not getting a sync.

with twinview disabled either monitor will work perfectly fine with the above ConnectedMonitor options.

As I said before, with twinview enabled with either

Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT, DFP"

or leaving out the ConnectedMonitor option I get that weird X error I described in the earlier message.

I'm using the 3123 drivers
D. Michaud is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick Overclocking Question ChiBChombo Benchmarking And Overclocking 0 09-04-12 11:48 AM
QUICK QUESTION: Will my PSU power GTX 460? Aiwendil NVIDIA GeForce 400/500 Series 0 06-29-12 12:07 PM
Quick question FastM General Hardware 6 09-25-02 08:24 PM
Quick MOHAA question eL_PuSHeR Gaming Central 2 08-15-02 05:00 AM
Quick question about Digital din with the Audigy Tactics General Hardware 4 08-12-02 12:16 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.