Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-26-04, 08:05 AM   #1
alphac
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1
Angry TNT2 and TV OUT

I can't succeed to use my tv with my nvidia TNT2 tv out:
Software
Mandrake 10
Latest Nvidia driver from nvidia.org
XF86config is configured like in nvidia README:

Monitor section:
HorizSync 30-50
VertRefresh 60

Driver section:
Driver "nvidia"

Screen section:
Option "TVStandard" "PAL-B"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "TV"
Option "TVOutFormat" "COMPOSITE"

In the screen section default bpp is 24 and resolutions are 800x600 640x480

when I try "startx" it return an error like this one:

EE NVIDIA: Failed to read mapping of displaydevices to CRTCs

EE Xfree: Screens found but none has an usable configuration
alphac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-04, 09:14 AM   #2
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: TNT2 and TV OUT

The info you provided looks good. Can't discover a bug in it. Could you post your XF86Config file so I can verify that it is ok?

Did you already try an "older" nvidia driver? It might that an older version fixes the problems (1.0-4xxx). The driver version itself doesn't really matter for TNT-cards as no new stuff for them is added.
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-04, 09:31 AM   #3
yodaofborg
Registered User
 
yodaofborg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 25
Default Re: TNT2 and TV OUT

Surley the options go in the device section?? and not the screen?? just a thought...lol

(from the nvidia Cnofig sample, still aplicable

Section "Device"
Identifier "NV AGP TwinView"
VendorName "nvidia"
Driver "nvidia"
# update this with the PCI id of your card. Consult the output
# of the 'lspci' command. The BusID is usually optional when
# only using one graphics card.
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"

# sample twinview setup
Option "TwinView"
# be sure to replace the HorizSync and VertRefresh with correct values
# for your monitor!
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "31-82"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "55-120"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "RightOf"
Option "MetaModes" "1280x1024,1280x1024; 1024x768,1024x768"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "crt,crt"
EndSection



*from my TV ONLY display setting....

Section "Device"
Identifier "device1"
VendorName "NVidia"
BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce FX (generic)"
Driver "nvidia"
Option "DPMS"
Option "MetaModes" "1024x768,1024x768;800x600,800x600"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "60"
Option "NoLogo" "0"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "TV"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "clone"
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "30-50"
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "TVStandard" "PAL-I"
Option "TVOutFormat" "SVIDEO"
Option "NvAGP" "3"
Option "CursorShadow" "1"
Option "CursorShadowAlpha" "64"
Option "CursorShadowYOffset" "2"
Option "CursorShadowXOffset" "2"
EndSection
yodaofborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-04, 10:03 AM   #4
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: TNT2 and TV OUT

First it doesn't matter if you put the options in the screen or device section. Second the part after "*from my TV ONLY display setting...." is wrong. That part would be correct if you had a Twinview-capable (can output to two screens at the same time) card. All twinview related lines (twinview, twinvieworientation, secondmonitorhorizsync, secondmonitorvertrefresh and metamodes) need to be removed.
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-04, 10:11 AM   #5
yodaofborg
Registered User
 
yodaofborg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 25
Default Re: TNT2 and TV OUT

i know that, durr, but was tryin to help, i wont bother next time *like i said in my comment, is from the XF86Config file supplied by nvidia AND IT DOES MATTER its DEVICE OPTIONS not screen options, two seperate parts of the same file
yodaofborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-04, 12:38 PM   #6
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: TNT2 and TV OUT

sorry, didn't see you were someone else .. (me wasn't awake ..)
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-04, 09:04 PM   #7
Pinky's brain
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 15
Default Re: TNT2 and TV OUT

I have the same problem, I cannot force TV out through the config without getting the error "Failed to read mapping of display devices to CRTCs".

This wouldnt be so bad if it werent for the fact that nvtv causes blue borders on the video overlay with my TNT. Cant someone from NVIDIA help him out with that problem?

(Oops the attached config had the connectedmonitor line commented out, this is the working config I use with nvtv ... when I uncomment the connectedmonitor OR the ignoredisplaydevices options I get the error.)
Attached Files
File Type: txt XF86Config-4.txt (5.7 KB, 124 views)
Pinky's brain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-04, 01:04 PM   #8
Pinky's brain
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 15
Default Re: TNT2 and TV OUT

Well I found a solution for my problem on the mythtv list ... I increased XV_COLORKEY by 2 and the blue bar disappeared for me.

More info at :
http://www.gossamer-threads.com/arch..._line_P121492/
and some technical background at :
http://zebra.fh-weingarten.de/~maxi/.../msg00341.html

So just use CRT output while starting the X-server, and use nvtv to switch to TV as long as this bug persists, see
http://sourceforge.net/projects/nv-tv-out

Last edited by Pinky's brain; 05-03-04 at 01:15 PM.
Pinky's brain is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.