Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-20-04, 01:47 PM   #1
C-Otto
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 12
Question Unable to set TFT as first Screen with twinview

Hello!
I have a TFT (connected via DVI-D) and a CRT (connected via DVI-I) connected to my card (4600, Dual DVI).
Using twinview I only get the TFT running as the second monitor. Changing the position works like expected, so the problem seems to be minor. But now I am unable to watch (fullscreen and/or accelerated) videos on my TFT. Playing (e.g.) Quake3 works fine, though (I can choose the screen without changing the config).
I tried to fiddle around with "ConnectedMonitor" ("DFP, CRT", "DFP-0, CRT-1", ...) but can't find the right solution.
The README says:
1) fullscreen video (overlay) only works on the first display
2) (in notebook sektion) digital panel always is the second display
The best result I could get was:
- TFT is first display
- CRT is second display
- CRT gets 60Hz (TFT's setting)
- TFT should get 85Hz (CRT's setting) but only uses 60Hz (because auf DVI-D I guess), which is good

Here I have the problem that my CRT does not get the right refreshrate (1600x1200 @ 85Hz should be right).

Thanks for any help!
Logs and additional information are following.
Please ask if you did not understand something or need more information!
Thanks,
Carsten Otto

My specs:
Duron 1300, 896 MB RAM, Asus A7V, Linux 2.6.5
Driver 5536
Gainward Geforce 4 PowerPack! Golden Sample (Geforce 4 4600) with Dual DVI

Monitor 1 (TFT): NEC 2180UX-BK (running with 1600x1200 @ 60Hz)
Monitor 2 (CRT): Hyundai P910 (running with 1600x1200 @ 85Hz)

NVRM version: NVIDIA Linux x86 NVIDIA Kernel Module 1.0-5336 Wed Jan 14 18:29:26 PST 2004
GCC version: gcc version 3.3.2 20031218 (Gentoo Linux 3.3.2-r5, propolice-3.3-7)

XFree86: 4.3.0.1 (built on 2.6.2)
Distribution: Gentoo (stable, so without ~x86)

The important extract of my (workaround) XF86Config:
# configured screen is my TFT
Section "Device"
Identifier "My Video Card"
Driver "nvidia"
VideoRam 131072
Option "NvAGP" "3"
Option "CursorShadow" "0"
Option "TwinView" "1"
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "30-108"
Option "SecondMonitorVertSync" "50-160"
Option "MetaModes" "1600x1200, 1600x1200; 1280x960, 1280x960; 1024x768, 1024x768; 800x600, 800x600; 640x480, 640x480; ,1600x1200; 1600x1200,"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "RightOf"
#Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT-0, DFP-1"
Option "NoLogo" "1"
Option "DigitalVibrance" "0"
EndSection

According extract of XFree-log:

(**) NVIDIA(0): Validated modes for display device CRT-0:
(**) NVIDIA(0): Default mode "1600x1200": 162.0 MHz, 75.0 kHz, 60.0 Hz

(wrong, it is a TFT/DFP)

(**) NVIDIA(0): Validated modes for display device DFP-1:
(**) NVIDIA(0): Default mode "1600x1200": 202.5 MHz, 93.8 kHz, 75.0 Hz

(wrong, it is a CRT)
C-Otto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-04, 04:50 PM   #2
C-Otto
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 12
Default Re: Unable to set TFT as first Screen with twinview

Is there any chance to help you help me? Do you need information? I am a little desperate :/
C-Otto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-04, 05:18 PM   #3
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: Unable to set TFT as first Screen with twinview

There's one hack you can play with regarding metamodes. Lets say you want to run your secondary display at a custom refresh rate. Normally that isn't possible as the second monitor lacks a monitor section (so no way to specify a modeline). Instead you can add a modeline for the second monitor to the monitor section of the first one. This mode can then be typed in the metamode. Using this you might be able to get 85Hz on display 2 (CRT) if you were really able to switch them. (never heard of the notation CRT-0 and stuff like that in ConnectedMonitor; ..)
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-04, 01:26 PM   #4
C-Otto
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 12
Default Re: Unable to set TFT as first Screen with twinview

I understand many users have this problem. But I don't understand why I did not get an answer to my mail (to nvidia-bugs) or even an helpful or explaining answer to my post? Am I doing something wrong?
I am very dissapointed.
C-Otto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stubborn screen res problem Alpsoandso NVIDIA Linux 6 05-03-12 07:00 PM
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-31-02 12:59 AM
XF86Config for a Quadro4 without TwinView? Twirlip NVIDIA Linux 1 10-09-02 11:36 AM
Twinview with TV-out karlaugust NVIDIA Linux 10 08-28-02 05:20 PM
Unable to set desktop to 32-bit color cgi-bin NVIDIA Linux 10 07-30-02 01:15 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.