Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > General Software

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-03-04, 08:15 PM   #1
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Need help setting up an old machine for gaming...

Alright, I just got a power supply for my brother's old computer and its up and running. Heh, this computer is what id consider a perfect example of a 1996\1997 era gaming computer... check these specs:
Pentium MMX 200Mhz
96Mbs EDO RAM
Sierra Screamin 3d 4Mb Graphics Card (Rendition Verite 1000 chip)
Sound Blaster Live! Value (we had an old Aztech Sound Galaxy Washington 16 A... but my brother sold it, so this was the next best thing :P)
2.5Gig Quantum BIGFOOT Hard drive (5 1\4" hard drive!)
And the most dangerous and heavy AT case ive ever seen

Anyway... I need some help! Im trying to get this computer running so I can play some of my old favorite games...
Such as:
Crusader: No Remorse and No Regret
Harvester
Syndicate Wars
and some others

I was thinking of running Win98SE on one hard drive and DOS on the other... but i dont have DOS! Anyone know where I can get MSDOS 6.2?

Any other advice is welcome. I consider myself quite proficient with modern machines, and i know most DOS commands... but by the time i was tweaking and gaming, i didnt use DOS any more. So im gonna need a bit of help.

Thanks
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-04, 10:24 AM   #2
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default Re: Need help setting up an old machine for gaming...

Would you even need to install DOS? Can't you just restart 98SE in MS-DOS mode?
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-04, 01:54 PM   #3
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Need help setting up an old machine for gaming...

Quote:
Originally Posted by stncttr908
Would you even need to install DOS? Can't you just restart 98SE in MS-DOS mode?
I dont know if thats the same, plus, this is an old computer so it would take quite a while to boot, load windows and then shut down windows and load DOS.
Im not real sure where to go with this thing right now, i used a program that creates a DOS bootdisk for gaming (all sound, CDROM, Mouse and VESA drivers) but when i tried installing Bureau 13 it shows one frame of the intro video and hard locks. It might be the CDROM too, it seems kind of flaky.

I think im going to just go ahead and install 98SE on the 2.5gig, then try some of the games in Windows on there. They will probably work.

Actually Bureau 13 works fine in Windows XP, no setup needed. Just install and run and everything, even the CD music works perfectly. Its Crusader and Syndicate Wars im trying to get working. Heh, you should see how fast syndicate wars (cd rip version from an abandoned ware site) runs on my current computer when i run it in compatibility mode. It runs at least 10 times normal speed, and theres no sound :P
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-04, 09:27 PM   #4
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Unhappy Re: Need help setting up an old machine for gaming...

Well the 2.5gig Bigfoot is dead. I dont know how it happened, but it just wont even format anymore. It has errors, even after deleting a partition, restarting, creating a partition, restarting and the running format.

And windows setup wont even run on the other drive for some reason. This sucks
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-04, 01:24 AM   #5
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default Re: Need help setting up an old machine for gaming...

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
Well the 2.5gig Bigfoot is dead. I dont know how it happened, but it just wont even format anymore. It has errors, even after deleting a partition, restarting, creating a partition, restarting and the running format.

And windows setup wont even run on the other drive for some reason. This sucks
I'm sure you can hit up eBay for a dirt cheap low capacity drive.
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-04, 09:11 PM   #6
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Need help setting up an old machine for gaming...

Well, it looks like im going to start my project back up again... my girlfriends dad is really into computers and has been for a long time, so he gave me a box full of parts he doesnt need any more. Among them:

6.4Gig Maxtor hard drive
1.2Gig IBM hard drive
~800Mb Quantum hard drive

and a few Pentium 133s, and some SIMMs and DIMMs, and a 32Mb PCI TNT(maybe a TNT2, cant tell) and a Pentium Pro with a voltage regulator (never seen a PPro before.... this thing is freaking gigantic.. ). And he threw in a pile of Unix\Linux software for me to try out some time since ive never even used any Unix.

I'll test these drives out some time, then throw one in the other comp
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-04, 07:06 PM   #7
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Need help setting up an old machine for gaming...

Well, ive got one of the drives in the old comp now (turns out it was a 2gig, not a 850Mb) and its working beautifully! I also got a good old ISA creative sound blaster 16 (the biggest one) to go in the machine too. It works GREAT.

I have Windows 98SE running, and i can just boot to command prompt if i want to play a dos game. Crusader: No Remorse is running great... god this game is fun

I also installed Command and Conquer (the original) just for something to do (tho i did play this again about 2 years ago) and it also works great!

Time to buy some more old games, and have some fuuuuun Im so glad this thing is up and running... and its stable as hell. These old Pentiums are still my favorite CPUs
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-04, 11:54 AM   #8
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Need help setting up an old machine for gaming...

I have a question guys. Some times my mouse just stops responding for a few seconds, its like the input just STOPS. I can still use the keyboard, but the mouse just wont do anything. It does it in windows 98SE and in DOS mode, although in DOS mode (specifically when in a heated battle in Crusader ) the frozen mouse seems to last much longer.

This mouse works fine on another computer. Its the only PS2 mouse we have in the house so thats why im using it. It has a serial adapter on it (USB to PS2 to serial doesnt work) but i dont see why that would cause it to get screwy. Im thinking maybe theres some sort of conflict with the serial ports. Any ideas?
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New DLC Available - Ridge Racer 7 Machine & The Gallows News Archived News Items 0 06-08-12 05:20 AM
Now Available - The Dream Machine, 20% off! News Archived News Items 0 05-12-12 12:00 PM
New DLC Available - Ridge Racer Unbounded - 1 Machine and the Hearse News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 01:10 PM
Favorite OS of all-time. PCarr78 Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 86 02-19-08 11:51 AM
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-30-02 11:59 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.