Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-06-04, 11:52 AM   #1
tosh_2410
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2
Default Black stripe on my monitor

I'm using SUSE 9.0 on a Toshiba 2410-404-Notebook with nvidia GeForce4 420 GO.
I succeeded in installing the nvidia driver with YOU. But when I first started KDE the monitor resolution was set to 800x600 and a black stripe appeared on the right side of the screen. From SaX2 I can see that the resolution is set to 1024x768 with 16 bit.
Can anybody help me to fix that problem?
tosh_2410 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-04, 02:15 PM   #2
matjaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 11
Default Re: Black stripe on my monitor

I had the same problem on a toshiba 5105. It seems that the monitor is not sending correct information to the driver or the driver is not interpreting it correctly.
The solution seems to be to extract the driver without running the installer. I think the option is "--extract-only".
Then go to "/NVIDIA../usr/src/nv".
Open "os-registry.c" in the folder with your favorite editor.
Change the follwing parameter to be (somewhere towards the end):
static int NVreg_SoftEDIDs = 0;
Also change (this might be different but this options works for me):
static int NVreg_Mobile = 2;
Save, and run the installer in the extracted folder. Its under /NVIDIA.. named nvidia_installer.
I hope this works for you.
matjaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-04, 02:30 PM   #3
tosh_2410
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2
Default Re: Black stripe on my monitor

Thanks, but unfortunately it didn't work, there is still the black stripe.
tosh_2410 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-04, 02:53 PM   #4
matjaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 11
Default Re: Black stripe on my monitor

Try to add the lines:
Option "FlatPanelProperties" "Scaling = default, Dithering = default"
in the driver section of the XF86Config. I have no idea what else might be going on, although its about time the driver got this right by itself. Also when installing with suse make sure its loading the driver you installed by hand instead of the driver it installed. I had several issues with suse over that. You might want to try editing the loading of the modules as specified in the other thread on this issue.
matjaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-04, 04:50 AM   #5
UncleZeiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 15
Default Re: Black stripe on my monitor

Try also
Option "IgnoreEDID" "1"

It works for me (Toshiba 1410-303), but only for the native mode! Non-1024x768 modes still have the black stripe, and this drives me CRAZY!
__________________
--
phoenix foundation
UncleZeiv is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$167.00 - lenovo LS2221 Black 21.5" 5ms Widescreen LED-Backlit LCD Monitor News 21.5-Inch 0 06-10-12 01:21 PM
$139.99 - SAMSUNG S22B150N Black 21.5" 5ms Widescreen LED Monitor News 21.5-Inch 0 06-10-12 01:21 PM
$224.99 - Dell UltraSharp U2212HM Black 21.5" 8ms Widescreen LCD IPS Panel Monitor w News 21.5-Inch 0 06-10-12 01:21 PM
$239.99 - ViewEra V191HV-B Black 19" 5ms LCD Video Monitor News 19-Inch 0 06-10-12 01:13 PM
First monitor is black when going to virtual console, when using twinView zeBarbu NVIDIA Linux 2 09-07-03 09:35 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.