Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-29-03, 06:18 PM   #1
darkhelmet03
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 62
Default NVClock and GeForce FX

Has any of you been successful in overclocking an FX with NVClock?

I have an FX 5600 and it shows 54/100 quite weird, like 3dmark03. I of course modified info.c to recognise the FX 5600 but I won't overclock because I am not sure what 54/100 actually corresponds to.
darkhelmet03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-03, 01:49 PM   #2
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default

For some reason the clock detection of the GeforceFX 5600 is different than that of the other Geforce and GeforceFX cards. Because of that the shown speeds are incorrect. Sometimes you should multiply the speeds wth 4, 5 or 6 to get correct results. Not sure what I'm doing wrong at the moment.

Even if that detection was correct you wouldn't be able to overclock your card since nvclock doesn't contain an overclocking algorithm for FX cards yet. (different working + the 2d/3d switch which makes it more difficult)

I hope this helped.
Thunderbird
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-03, 08:26 PM   #3
russofris
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 125
Default

I have tried nvclock with my FX5600. The mem speed shows as 100.285, core as 54.000.

My glxgears score is approx 5400fps at the default speed. If I do an nvclock -m 110 -f while glxgears is running, it goes up to approx 6000fps

Before
27041 frames in 5.0 seconds = 5408.200 FPS
27015 frames in 5.0 seconds = 5403.000 FPS
26837 frames in 5.0 seconds = 5367.400 FPS
26898 frames in 5.0 seconds = 5379.600 FPS
27016 frames in 5.0 seconds = 5403.200 FPS
26864 frames in 5.0 seconds = 5372.800 FPS
26986 frames in 5.0 seconds = 5397.200 FPS

After raising mem to 110
29417 frames in 5.0 seconds = 5883.400 FPS
30183 frames in 5.0 seconds = 6036.600 FPS
30244 frames in 5.0 seconds = 6048.800 FPS
30262 frames in 5.0 seconds = 6052.400 FPS
30123 frames in 5.0 seconds = 6024.600 FPS

After raising to 120
32296 frames in 5.0 seconds = 6459.200 FPS
33127 frames in 5.0 seconds = 6625.400 FPS
33064 frames in 5.0 seconds = 6612.800 FPS
33130 frames in 5.0 seconds = 6626.000 FPS
33038 frames in 5.0 seconds = 6607.600 FPS
32752 frames in 5.0 seconds = 6550.400 FPS


The -n (chip clock) does nothing for me performance wise in glxgears, so I wouldn't recommend playing around with it yet.

Thank you for your time,
Frank Russo
russofris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-03, 09:57 PM   #4
darkhelmet03
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 62
Default maybe NVidia themselves could help

After all they allow (but not condone) overclocking under Win, so why not under Linux?

To Thunderbird: Maybe NVidia could provide you with the nessecary OC clocking formulas for the FX family. I don't think that they are classified or show anything critical about the NV3x internal archtecture (other than clock throttling and driver OC in 2d/3d modes which is already widely known).

Just a suggestion.
darkhelmet03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-03, 12:27 AM   #5
russofris
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 125
Default Re: maybe NVidia themselves could help

Quote:
Originally posted by darkhelmet03
After all they allow (but not condone) overclocking under Win, so why not under Linux?

To Thunderbird: Maybe NVidia could provide you with the nessecary OC clocking formulas for the FX family. I don't think that they are classified or show anything critical about the NV3x internal archtecture (other than clock throttling and driver OC in 2d/3d modes which is already widely known).

Just a suggestion.
formulas? Why not compare the nvclock values to the actual mfr values, and multiply as necessary.

nvcolck works well. If it says the mem speed is 100, and the mfr says it's 300, then overclocking to "110" means that you've overclocked to 330. The Benchmarks above corroberate this as well. Or did I miss something?

Thank you for your time,
Frank Russo
russofris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-03, 03:03 AM   #6
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default

To get overclocking working I think you changed a lot of things. Defaultly there's no overclocking for FX cards in nvclock...

I think you changed something in backend.c, right?
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-03, 11:43 AM   #7
darkhelmet03
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 62
Default the multipliers are not constant

For example in windows for 325/500 it shows 54/100.

However if I set 325/550 it now shows 54/120!
Instead of multiplying 5x it now does a weird 4.58x!

54/100 is obviously similar to the 2D mode in win but multiplied with 6x/5x respectively. Though, in 3D mode things change dramatically (and the multipliers).
darkhelmet03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-03, 01:00 PM   #8
russofris
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 125
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Thunderbird
To get overclocking working I think you changed a lot of things. Defaultly there's no overclocking for FX cards in nvclock...

I think you changed something in backend.c, right?
No, I changed nothing. NVClock appears to work fine for my fx 5600.

Thank you for your time,
Frank Russo
russofris is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-04-03, 01:05 PM   #9
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default

Then you aren't using .7 I guess.

On windows that weird extra multiplier is a fixed number I think (verified it for some people) it can be a number between 3 and 6 I think. Not sure what registers I need to read.

On the bright side I made some progress with GeforceFX 5800/5900 overclocking. The only downside is that overclocking for those cards needs a "hack" in the form of a opengl wrapper, oh well ...
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-03, 08:34 PM   #10
russofris
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 125
Default

using nvclock 0.5.0

I didn't even know that there was a newer version.

Frank
russofris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-04, 05:20 AM   #11
Kahnmark
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5
Default Re: NVClock and GeForce FX

Frank,

Thanks for your post, I tried three different versions of nvclock, and only 0.5 will sucessfully change the core/mem clock speeds (or at least reports that it does). The problem I am having is actually that the manufacturer's settings for core and memory clocks on my card (MSI Geforce FX 5600 Ultra) are too high (400/700). I'm not kidding, my card comes like that so any 3d application freezes up after about 5 seconds. Imagine how pissed I was after installing this baby fresh out of the box and it freezes in everything after five seconds. It gets way too hot, and my cooling solution is reasonable. In any case, I have changed my clock speeds using nvclock, but supposing that won't fix the problem for good, does anyone have a suggestion not involving a water cooling system for my case?

Thanks,
Kahnmark
Kahnmark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-04, 01:10 PM   #12
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: NVClock and GeForce FX

NVClock .5 isn't made for FX5600 cards as the FX5600 works a lot different than older nvidia cards. Really use NVClock from cvs to get FX overclocking support but note that it is a bit problematic regarding different 2d/3d speeds.
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvclock able to change fanspeed Nvidia-Settings not. jcdole NVIDIA Linux 14 05-05-12 04:51 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.