Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-08-04, 01:23 PM   #1
swampfootjoe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2
Question tripple monitor setup

Hi,

I have a tripple monitor setup up and running with two nvidia cards (geforce2 agp dual head / geforce2 pci single head)
X runnes fine but I am not to happy with the performance, if have to use xinerama and that really slows thing down.

Does anyone know a way to enable glx on all monitors (not just the main screen) and how to improve performance with xinerama

thanks by forehand

Swamp Foot


Here is my XF86Config ;######
###
### Tripple Monitor Setup with geforce2 agp(dual)/pci(single) head cards
### info: swampfootjoe@hotmail.com
###
### To do's :
### - Enable glx on all three monitors
### - Find a way to improve xinerama performance or finding
### other solution
###


# Enable Xinerama
Section "ServerFlags"
Option "Xinerama" "true"
EndSection

Section "Files"
FontPath "unix/:7100"
FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/Type1"
FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/CID"
FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/Speedo"
FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/misc"
FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/cyrillic"
FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi"
FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "GLcore"
Load "bitmap"
Load "dbe"
Load "ddc"
Load "extmod"
Load "freetype"
Load "glx"
Load "int10"
Load "record"
Load "speedo"
Load "type1"
Load "vbe"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Generic Keyboard"
Driver "keyboard"
Option "CoreKeyboard"
Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
Option "XkbModel" "pc104"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Configured Mouse"
Driver "mouse"
Option "CorePointer"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "Protocol" "ImPS/2"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "true"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Nvidia0"
Driver "nvidia"
BusID "pci:1:0:0"
Option "NoLogo"
Option "NoBandWidthTest"
Option "RenderAccel"
Option "IgnoreEDID" "1"
Option "DPMS"
Screen 0
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Nvidia1"
Driver "nvidia"
BusID "pci:1:0:0"
Option "NoLogo"
Option "NoBandWidthTest"
Option "RenderAccel"
Option "IgnoreEDID" "1"
Option "DPMS"
Screen 1
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Nvidia2"
Driver "nvidia"
BusID "pci:2:10:0"
Option "NoLogo"
Option "NoBandWidthTest"
Option "RenderAccel"
Option "IgnoreEDID" "1"
Option "DPMS"
# Screen 2 # don't use "screen" on the pci card
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Generic Monitor"
HorizSync 28-150
VertRefresh 75
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Nvidia0"
Monitor "Generic Monitor"
DefaultDepth 16
SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Nvidia1"
Monitor "Generic Monitor"
DefaultDepth 16
SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen2"
Device "Nvidia2"
Monitor "Generic Monitor"
DefaultDepth 16
SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen 0 "Screen0"
Screen 1 "Screen1" LeftOf "Screen0"
Screen 2 "Screen2" RightOf "Screen0"
InputDevice "Generic Keyboard"
InputDevice "Configured Mouse"
EndSection

Last edited by swampfootjoe; 06-08-04 at 09:02 PM.
swampfootjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-04, 06:37 AM   #2
rednuht
GeForce FX5600 (1.0-5336)
 
rednuht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: uk
Posts: 164
Default Re: tripple monitor setup

These quotes are from the README for the latest NVidia driver, maybe you should check in with the Xinerama developers.

o Both display devices share one frame buffer. Thus, all the
the functionality present on a single display (e.g. accelerated
OpenGL) is available on TwinView.

OpenGL + Xinerama
Currently, OpenGL will not display to anything other than the
first head in a Xinerama environment.
rednuht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-04, 10:03 AM   #3
swampfootjoe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2
Cool Re: tripple monitor setup

Thnx for the info,

I hope there is a way to have twinview also manage screens accross
video cards (nvidia ones with the same chipsets), up to now twinview will ony manage the two heads on one card, not including the head on the other card

I will contact the xinerama development crew, thanx for the quick reply

greets

Swamp Foot
swampfootjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.