Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > General Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-24-02, 01:54 PM   #1
BlackEagle
Registered User
 
BlackEagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Somewhere between Spain and Russia ;-)
Posts: 20
Question UT 2003 Sky-Detail

Hi there!
I just installed UT2003 under Linux, but the sky-detail looks very poor compared with UT running under Windows.
All graphics settings are set to "highest"...

I made some screenshots:

This one is from Linux:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	shotlinux.jpg
Views:	296
Size:	67.9 KB
ID:	417  
BlackEagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-02, 01:55 PM   #2
BlackEagle
Registered User
 
BlackEagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Somewhere between Spain and Russia ;-)
Posts: 20
Default

And this one is from Windows:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	shotwindows.jpg
Views:	277
Size:	90.0 KB
ID:	418  
BlackEagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-02, 03:58 PM   #3
Matthyahuw
Registered User
 
Matthyahuw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 919
Send a message via ICQ to Matthyahuw Send a message via AIM to Matthyahuw Send a message via Yahoo to Matthyahuw
Default

Did you put some funky config settings in your XF86Config file?
It looks like you forced S3TC-1 compression, and that method has been the bane of nV's exsistance forver it seems like...
__________________
Shalom!
Matthyahuw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-02, 04:35 PM   #4
BlackEagle
Registered User
 
BlackEagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Somewhere between Spain and Russia ;-)
Posts: 20
Default

Nope, I can't find something about S3TC-1 Compression in the XF86Config-file....
BlackEagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-02, 09:11 PM   #5
Euphoria
--- ephor ---
 
Euphoria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 197
Default

Yeah, thats strange... Mine looks fine.
Euphoria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-02, 05:38 AM   #6
BlackEagle
Registered User
 
BlackEagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Somewhere between Spain and Russia ;-)
Posts: 20
Thumbs down

Quote:
Yeah, thats strange... Mine looks fine.
Very helpful post, indeed....
BlackEagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-02, 12:19 PM   #7
volt
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 1,556
Default

Why don't we post our Xfree86 configs?
I will get mine in couple of hours
__________________
[b]Optimization guidelines by Koji Ashida of NVIDIA:[/b][list][*]Use fx12 instructions whenever possible[*]Use lowest pixel shader version[/list][url=http://developer.nvidia.com/docs/IO/10878/ChinaJoy2004_OptimizationAndTools.pdf]source[/url]

[size=1]The politics are invading the technology. We don't really like to mess with politics because that kind of adversarial relationship has nothing to do with pure technical operations and the technical specifications of what we like to play with, the hardware![/size]
volt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-02, 03:14 PM   #8
BlackEagle
Registered User
 
BlackEagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Somewhere between Spain and Russia ;-)
Posts: 20
Lightbulb

Probably good idea!
Here is it
Attached Files
File Type: txt xf86config.txt (3.9 KB, 233 views)
BlackEagle is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-27-02, 03:25 PM   #9
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default

You are using 16 bit colors change your depth to 24.
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-02, 05:50 AM   #10
BlackEagle
Registered User
 
BlackEagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Somewhere between Spain and Russia ;-)
Posts: 20
Lightbulb ARGH!!

ARGH!!
I overlooked the color-settings! Now the sky-detail looks great, thx a lot.

- BlackEagle
BlackEagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-02, 10:56 PM   #11
borgzilla
Linux Assimilator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 72
Default

I got the same problems with RTCW. Sky textures look exact the same. However that happened when I upgraded GPU from MSI GF2 Ti to MSI GF4 Ti 4200 128MB. I've also rebuilt nvidia drivers on Slackware 8.1.

Default colour depth is 24/32 bit

Any ideas?
borgzilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-02, 03:52 PM   #12
BlackEagle
Registered User
 
BlackEagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Somewhere between Spain and Russia ;-)
Posts: 20
Post

Check your RTCW graphics-settings.....
Make sure that in the xf86config the new GF4-Ti is correctly configured. Delete the old GF2 lines in xf86config.

Hope this helps.....
BlackEagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Iron Sky: Invasion Demo Dogfights Moon-Nazis News Archived News Items 0 12-19-12 01:20 PM
Return to rust: Beneath a Steel Sky 2 confirmed News Archived News Items 0 09-24-12 05:00 PM
Nforce AGP & unreal 2003 nichos NVIDIA Linux 1 10-18-02 06:21 PM
Does anyone like the cool water reflection effect in unreal 2003? imtim83 Gaming Central 15 09-20-02 11:18 PM
NV30 not shipping until Feb. 2003? sbp Rumor Mill 40 09-17-02 11:41 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.