Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-01-04, 06:36 PM   #25
Goth
Registered User
 
Goth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 113
Default Re: Game patch sizes - out of control

Quote:
Originally Posted by Galeo Deus
Uhhh... Who the hell has dial up anymore? I know only 1 person that does personally, and I know a lot of people.

In other words, who cares what the patch sizes are? I like how new content is added and stuff after release, i.e. the Battlefield series, etc.
Boys in the woods still have dial up
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+ 2.5Ghz (venice core)
ASUS A8V Deluxe
2048MB OCZ Gold PC4000
BFG 6800 Ultra OC
Maxtor 80GB ATA133
Sony 16X DVD RW
WinTV 250
SuperFlower 550w PSU 30A 12V Rail
WinXP x64
Goth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-04, 09:28 PM   #26
LycosV
Registered User
 
LycosV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 888
Default Re: Game patch sizes - out of control

I think patches should be patches, and new content should be seperated to bonus packs. Patches should be small, bonus packs can be however large they want. I was reading about the latest WC3 patch, it changes a few unit balances, adds nothing, and weighs in at twenty-something megs! That's insanity, it's freaking unit balancing people, they could do it with a small script file. Anyway, I agree: out of control.
LycosV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-04, 09:53 PM   #27
Edge
3d animator for hire!
 
Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,564
Default Re: Game patch sizes - out of control

Doesn't that Warcraft 3 patch contain all the previous upgrades and content from the previous versions though? Using the auto-updater it only took me a minute or so to get on my 56k, so it couldn't have been more than a few hundred kilobytes to update from the previous version. But since the previous upgrades contained 2 extra campaigns and a few extra units, to make the newest update standalone you would need to include those things.
Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-04, 10:05 AM   #28
DarkKeeper
Registered User
 
DarkKeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 16
Default Re: Game patch sizes - out of control

I don't really have a problem with the patches, the size is getting pretty big but I don't mind waiting. I seldom have problems with my games anyway I only download the patches to prevent any from happening.

I've never had any issues with patches, most of the time it's seamless installs and I rarely notice the difference from before the patch was installed.
DarkKeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-04, 10:50 AM   #29
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: Game patch sizes - out of control

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edge
Doesn't that Warcraft 3 patch contain all the previous upgrades and content from the previous versions though? Using the auto-updater it only took me a minute or so to get on my 56k, so it couldn't have been more than a few hundred kilobytes to update from the previous version. But since the previous upgrades contained 2 extra campaigns and a few extra units, to make the newest update standalone you would need to include those things.
whoa..extra campaigns and units? How many units and where are these campaigns? I know they added that new neutral hero for purchase that the Taverns, but there were other units, too?
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-04, 03:30 PM   #30
Edge
3d animator for hire!
 
Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,564
Default Re: Game patch sizes - out of control

Well they also had a few campaign-specific units in the patch as well, but I don't think they added any other regular units that can be used in multiplayer aside from the Goblin Tinker. The campaign I was talking about is parts 2 and 3 of the Orc part of the game, in the retail release only part 1 was availible. They also had new voice clips and such for the campaign. I'm pretty sure the data for the extra campaign levels uses up 90% of the patch sizes.
Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-04, 01:07 AM   #31
Son Goku
Registered User
 
Son Goku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: 439 East District, Mount Paozu
Posts: 1,714
Default Game Companies aren't the only ones

While discussing patch file limits (I'm on DSL, so no biggie for me); it would be remiss to not mention Microsoft and their Service Packs I remember when Service Pack 3 for Windows NT 4.0 was only 17.5 MB...and yes I was on dialup then. Now, looking at my Service Packs directory for Windows XP...

Quote:
E:\users\Son_Goku\Service_Pack>dir
Volume in drive E has no label.
Volume Serial Number is 5435-8612

Directory of E:\users\Son_Goku\Service_Pack

06/17/2004 05:12 PM <DIR> .
06/17/2004 05:12 PM <DIR> ..
09/09/2002 05:50 AM 140,440,152 xpsp1_en_x86.exe
06/17/2004 05:11 PM 277,197,032 xpSP2.exe
2 File(s) 417,637,184 bytes
2 Dir(s) 4,881,261,568 bytes free

E:\users\Son_Goku\Service_Pack>
That's RC2 for SP2, as it's RTMed already...we'll see the final soon.

Anyone want to hazzard a guess at what Service Pack 3 (whenever we see it) might weigh in at?
Son Goku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-04, 02:43 AM   #32
evilchris
 
evilchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,411
Default Re: Game patch sizes - out of control

Programmers are definitely more lazy now. They know they have gigabytes of RAM and HD space available on their target platforms, and no longer produce "tight" code. Back when you had a 386 and 4MB of RAM stuff was tight!
__________________
[CENTER][SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
[/CENTER][B][CENTER]--Communist Party of America--[/CENTER][/B]
evilchris is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-04-04, 12:13 PM   #33
LycosV
Registered User
 
LycosV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 888
Default Re: Game patch sizes - out of control

Quote:
Originally Posted by steeda
Programmers are definitely more lazy now. They know they have gigabytes of RAM and HD space available on their target platforms, and no longer produce "tight" code. Back when you had a 386 and 4MB of RAM stuff was tight!
I think you just nailed it.
LycosV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-04, 02:42 PM   #34
eL_PuSHeR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Motril, Granada, SPAIN
Posts: 278
Wink Re: Game patch sizes - out of control

I second that...
__________________
AMD Athlon XP 1800+
ASUS A7V333
1GB 266Mhz DDR SDRAM
Creative GeForce4 Ti4200
Integrated CMI8738 audio
eL_PuSHeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-04, 03:42 AM   #35
PsychoSy
 
PsychoSy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Monroe, MI
Posts: 489
Send a message via ICQ to PsychoSy Send a message via AIM to PsychoSy
Default Re: Game patch sizes - out of control

I remember when video drivers were 2-6MBs.

Using GetRight + 56K dialup here would've have worked. The freenet thru the library system would disconnect you after 3 hours at first. When more people signed up for accounts, that changed to 1 hour. Paying for a local dial-up ISP didn't help much as the longest you could stay connected was 4 hours. Some of those ISPs folded or were bought by larger conglomerates that required payment by check or credit card (I only used cash). Those small mom-and-pop ISPs that were left sucked balls, leaving me without much of an alternative. My last dial-up ISP was Earthlink ...
__________________
[b][i]A man's ambition must be small,
To write his name on a s**t-house wall.[/b][/i]
PsychoSy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
(Kotaku) Do We Really Need Video Game Consoles Anymore? [Speak Up On Kotaku] News Archived News Items 1 06-16-12 11:35 AM
Saturday Crapshoot: Quest For Glory 4 1/2 News Gaming Headlines 0 06-09-12 11:10 AM
Remastered Doom 3 BFG Edition Game Coming with Stereo 3D Support News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 05:30 AM
Saturday Crapshoot: Star Trek: The Next Generation News Archived News Items 0 05-12-12 12:00 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.