Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-02-04, 06:40 PM   #1
marcw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3
Unhappy 6106 breaks xawtv

I use xawtv to watch TV on my Hauppage WinTV card. My OS is FC2. Everything worked fine until I installed the 6106 driver yesterday. When I start up xawtv, my machine instantly freezes. Locks up tight. Mouse is frozen inplace, no keyboard, only a hard bounce cures it.

Xawtv works fine when the Nvidia driver is not installed. Likewise, I haven't had any issues with the Nvidia driver with anything else besides xawtv. In my previous FC1 installation, xawtv worked both with and without the Nvidia driver.

Therefore, I think I can logically conclude that 6106 has broken xawtv. I think. Does anyone else experience this? What are my options? I'd really like to have both xawtv and Nvidia play nicely together.
marcw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-04, 08:41 PM   #2
Doogman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 21
Default Re: 6106 breaks xawtv

Did you try:

xawtv -noxv
Doogman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-04, 09:39 PM   #3
marcw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3
Red face Re: 6106 breaks xawtv

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doogman
Did you try:
xawtv -noxv
I hadn't until your suggestion. Same results; it froze up tight.

But there is a hint of good news. I received a tip on the Fedora list that adding the option of "-remote" worked for someone else who was having the same problem. IT WORKED! It's my understanding that the "-remote" option disables overlay mode.

So here is my command line that works:
xawtv -remote -noxv

The bad news is that having to run this command line has its drawbacks: it sucks down some CPU time - about 25% (I use to have 0%), and I can't make the image full screen.

The bottom line is that I now have a workaround, albeit not perfect, and that Nvidia needs to work on things so that I can once again use overlay mode.
marcw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-04, 06:33 AM   #4
energyman76b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Clausthal/Germany
Posts: 1,104
Default Re: 6106 breaks xawtv

Hi,

1) try xawdecode. It useses xatv's xawtvrc, has some nice features and is more stable than xawtv for me.

2) try kicking dga out of your XF86Config

3) are you loading the v4l module in X86Config?
energyman76b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-04, 06:43 AM   #5
marcw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3
Default Re: 6106 breaks xawtv

Quote:
Originally Posted by energyman76b
1) try xawdecode. It useses xatv's xawtvrc, has some nice features and is more stable than xawtv for me.
Thanks, I'll try it.



Quote:
Originally Posted by energyman76b
2) try kicking dga out of your XF86Config
dga is not used.



Quote:
Originally Posted by energyman76b
3) are you loading the v4l module in X86Config?
Yes. Actually, it's in xorg.conf. Fedora gave up on Xfree86.
marcw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-04, 08:11 AM   #6
Doogman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 21
Default Re: 6106 breaks xawtv

I have to use "xawtv -noxv" to get my version to work. It's been like that for quite a few driver revisions; xawtv says it's a Nvidia bug. By the way, I didn't get a lockup, just a blue screen and no TV.

Another app you might want to try is tvtime, it works fine...
Doogman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-04, 02:51 PM   #7
energyman76b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Clausthal/Germany
Posts: 1,104
Default Re: 6106 breaks xawtv

Hi,

I use 'simple XV' with xawdecode with earlier drivers and it worked fine, but not 'better Xv. With 6106 even 'better Xv' is working for me.
energyman76b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-04, 12:40 AM   #8
Doogman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 21
Default Re: 6106 breaks xawtv

Good hint on xawdecode. It works fine without needing the "noxv" option like xawtv requires.
Doogman is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-22-04, 11:09 AM   #9
bill_bool
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 3
Default Re: 6106 breaks xawtv

Same crash for me with my Mdk Cooker and 6106. Symptoms are the same : no more keyboard, everything is locked (not event possible to telnet to kill the app).

the -noxv option doesn't change anything at all.

I'm gonna try the remote one now....
bill_bool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-04, 06:58 PM   #10
Catonga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2
Default Re: 6106 breaks xawtv

I have the same problem with 6106 AND 6111.


I will downgrade to an older 5xxx nvidia driver until NVidia fixes the problem.
Catonga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-04, 08:16 PM   #11
energyman76b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Clausthal/Germany
Posts: 1,104
Default Re: 6106 breaks xawtv

Well, since xawdecode is not broken, maybe it is a xawtv bug=?
energyman76b is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gigabyte Breaks Ivy Bridge and DDR3 Overclocking World Records News Archived News Items 0 05-30-12 05:00 PM
Chip Shot: Intel Breaks the Top 10 on "The Gartner Supply Chain Top 25" List News Archived News Items 0 05-26-12 06:00 AM
bttv and xawtv freeze drifter NVIDIA Linux 7 09-17-02 09:52 PM
xawtv problem rbroman NVIDIA Linux 3 07-31-02 12:42 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.