Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-13-04, 10:11 PM   #13
Ludic
Hardware Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Western New York
Posts: 75
Default Re: how higher you want the quality in Doom3?

FPS must really suffer in levels like that.
__________________
Athlon 64 3400 w/1MB & Thermalright SLK-948U w/80mm Vantec Blue LED fan and Arctic Silver Grease
MSI K8N Neo Platinum nForce 3 250GB
2 x 512MB = 1GB Corsair XMS3200C2 w/ Platinum HS
2 x 160GB Hitachi SATA in RAID 0
SoundBlaster Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro
256MB BFG GeForce 6800 GT OC
Aspire Blue XSuperAlien Case w/ 6 Blue LED fans
500W Aspire Power Supply ~ 34A @ 12V : 30A @ 5V : 28A @ 3.3V
21" Compaq V1100 Monitor
Ludic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-04, 10:40 PM   #14
majortom
Done
 
majortom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: the evil empire
Posts: 328
Send a message via AIM to majortom
Default Re: how higher you want the quality in Doom3?

hey, you said that you can use far cry textures, right? lets settle the whole 'farcry can render as good as doom3/ doom3 can render far cry better" issue over with
__________________
- oh man, the water effects in source look amazing!
- really?
- yeah, i tried to touch it, and my hand got wet
- cool!
- oh wait, never mind. i just peed on myself


---------------------------------------------------------
Mein Comp!:
MSI 6380 kt266| XP 1700+| 512M PC3200 @ 266mhz | 80 gig | MSI radeon 9800 pro 128m (r360 core)| nec 2500a 8x single layer burn (dl hack)| thermaltake silentpower 420W PSU| POS generic case| Grado SR 60 headphones
majortom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-04, 11:04 PM   #15
Da Alians
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 33
Default Re: how higher you want the quality in Doom3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by majortom
hey, you said that you can use far cry textures, right? lets settle the whole 'farcry can render as good as doom3/ doom3 can render far cry better" issue over with

heh..try making some random outdoor map if u can, might be interestin
Da Alians is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-04, 12:01 AM   #16
Banko
Red Pepper Vodka
 
Banko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,155
Default Re: how higher you want the quality in Doom3?

I would make something but the Doom 3 Editor sucks compared to UnrealED which I'm used to :/
__________________
Work/Gaming PC:
Lian-Li PC-80
Intel Core i7 860 @ 3.53
MSI P55-GD80
G.Skill DDR3-1600 8gb 4x2gb
Asus DRW-1814BLT SATA
ATi Radeon 5870
OCZ GameXStream 700W
Windows 7 Ultimate

HTPC/Second Gaming PC:
Gigabyte GA-EP45-DQ6
Intel Q6600 @ 2.8
G.Skill DDR2 4gb 2x2gb
NVidia 8800GTX
OCZ GameXStream 700W
Banko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-04, 03:17 AM   #17
anzak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,553
Default Re: how higher you want the quality in Doom3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Banko
I would make something but the Doom 3 Editor sucks compared to UnrealED which I'm used to :/
I feel your pain. I have been mapping with UnrealED for years but I have trouble even navigating the view ports in the Doom 3 Editor.
anzak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-04, 03:53 AM   #18
Nv40
Agent-Fx
 
Nv40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: everywhere
Posts: 2,216
Default Re: how higher you want the quality in Doom3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bad_Boy
any chance you sharing that high texture map for us?

i have a poor conection 56k , but as i have said you can get free high quality textures if you know where to look . use the search engines Google for it. this is what i got after doing this ..

http://www.google.com/search?q=free+...utf-8&oe=utf-8

here is just one..

http://www.mayang.com/textures/

However better read tutorials how to apply custom textures in

Doom3 ,since you need also speculars and Bumpmaps of each texture. good news is that there are TExtures packages that include them (no need to manually create them ),bad news is that most of them are not free. for professional textures just also use the search engine. but people looking into making their own level ,start first using Idsoftware game textures ,since they have done the hard job for you ,you just need to drag and drop in your levels. with custom ones you need to know alittle bit more ,how add them in your game,here is a nice tutorial list that you mat try .ww.doom3world.org/phpbb2/viewtopic.php?t=3017

my custom textures are "static" ,like any other ,in the sense that they always looks the same way whereever you use them . but Doom3 also support "dynamic textures" .. animations with them and also you can do many cool effects with them. like in the picture here..



the yellow Solar Table ,its a texture i took from the game , for the nice look of it , it has self ilumination in the center ,incandesence effects that usually are demostrated in latest Directx9 demos.



other textures make walls to looks transparent or with animated effects ..textures that does many crazy things with lighting.. in other words many cool things are going to happen with the tools already available in the game . just wait and see.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	doom3_pic5.jpg
Views:	339
Size:	79.4 KB
ID:	7501  

Last edited by Nv40; 08-14-04 at 04:56 AM.
Nv40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-04, 08:57 AM   #19
Bad_Boy
god of war.
 
Bad_Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: greensboro, nc.
Posts: 2,912
Send a message via AIM to Bad_Boy
Default Re: how higher you want the quality in Doom3?

oh ok thanks. guess i should learn how to make a map first lol. ill go find some tutorials. :x
__________________
[PS ID: Bad_Boy]
Bad_Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-04, 03:01 AM   #20
<slayer>
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11
Default Re: how higher you want the quality in Doom3?

Nv40: How is fps when using those levels? If good, how do you think it would be on a normal sized map?
<slayer> is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-15-04, 06:04 AM   #21
Nv40
Agent-Fx
 
Nv40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: everywhere
Posts: 2,216
Default Re: how higher you want the quality in Doom3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by <slayer>
Nv40: How is fps when using those levels? If good, how do you think it would be on a normal sized map?
i have an atlonxp1900 + GT ,and that level doesnt do justice to the perfomance my system can push. 1600x1200 all maxed there ,feels very smooth. and i have 5 point lights there in that level. Doom3 custom levels with High quality textures should be perfectly playable if you have a fast video card . at least 1GB of ram ,should be in your list of things to buy ,since it really helps in the performance in all the most demanding games. but with 256 memory still it should be still playable. Doom3 have quality textures too.. just they are not used that much.. extract your last PK4 file in doom3 in a separate folder and use photoshop to explore the textures in the game. you can also use them with any 2d/3d program if you like.

here is a nice set of professional quality textures ..

http://www.doschdesign.com/products/textures/

they cost a bit more than Doom3 .. and also have the bumpmaps and speculars maps included that you need for Doom3. or you get the free ones in internet and tweak them by yourself .if you know how in photoshop.
Nv40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nvidia driver quality decrease? legluondunet NVIDIA Linux 17 06-26-12 11:03 AM
EA gains Linux Attention. Better Quality Drivers Please! Ruinairas NVIDIA Linux 4 05-09-12 02:12 PM
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-31-02 12:59 AM
Color quality of the GeForce4 Ti 4600 and Radeon 8500 Turnbolt NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 23 08-27-02 09:12 PM
GeForce4 image quality - need some HONEST opinions ErrorS NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 24 08-22-02 07:39 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.