Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-18-04, 01:08 AM   #1
Mike89
Dude, where's my brain?
 
Mike89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: In California choking from all the liberal BS
Posts: 1,185
Default Taking the 60 fps cap off Doom 3

Use this command to take the 60 fps cap off Doom 3.

com_fixedtic -1

The game then definitely runs faster than 60 fps.
__________________
I7 3770 @ 4.4 gig (Noctua NH-U14S Heatsink), ASRock Z77 Extreme6, 16 Gigs (2x8) Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600, EVGA GTX 680 Signature 2, Acer P236H 23" (1920x1080), X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Pro, 2 WD 640 gig SATA HDDs, WD 750 gig HDD (eSata), WD 1TB Black HDD, Sandisk 32 GB ReadyCache SSD, 2 SATA DVD Burners, Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speaker System, Corsair TX750w PSU, HSPC Top Deck Tech Station, Windows 7 Pro x64
Mike89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-04, 01:18 AM   #2
-=DVS=-
.:. Lafiel .:.
 
-=DVS=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Outerspace
Posts: 3,009
Talking Re: Taking the 60 fps cap off Doom 3

Do monsters run like crazy then ?
__________________
.:. Lian Li X500FX .:. i7 2600k .:. PNY GTX 680 .:. Corsair DDR3 8GB .:. Silverstone 800W PSU .:. Asus P8P67-M Pro .:. Crucial M4 SSD 512GB .:.
-=DVS=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-04, 02:57 AM   #3
Kickus_assius
Defenestrator of the Weak
 
Kickus_assius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 338
Default Re: Taking the 60 fps cap off Doom 3

Thanks for finding the command works like a charm although gameplay usually dips under 60FPS as soon as you see a monster anyway, but 200FPS when nothing is around is neat to see.
Kickus_assius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-04, 05:00 AM   #4
Edge
3d animator for hire!
 
Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,564
Default Re: Taking the 60 fps cap off Doom 3

Erm, not exactly taking the 60FPS cap off of Doom 3, more like removing the speed cap and tieing how fast the game runs to your framerate (anyone remember those REALLY old DOS games that did that?). Not to mention for a lot of people (like me and my computer) this would make the game run much slower, I was only getting 15 FPS in the final battle so turning this on makes the game run at about 1/4th it's normal speed. Though it does look increadibly cool dodging rockets and sending enemies flying in slow-motion...
Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-04, 12:02 PM   #5
Mike89
Dude, where's my brain?
 
Mike89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: In California choking from all the liberal BS
Posts: 1,185
Default Re: Taking the 60 fps cap off Doom 3

That code keeps the player moving constant regardless of the fps.

I got that of nvnews. I think what you are talkiing about is using "1" instead of "-1". If you use "1" then the player movement will be tied to fps meaning at 180 fps the player will move 3 times faster than at 60 fps. No way would I want that.
__________________
I7 3770 @ 4.4 gig (Noctua NH-U14S Heatsink), ASRock Z77 Extreme6, 16 Gigs (2x8) Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600, EVGA GTX 680 Signature 2, Acer P236H 23" (1920x1080), X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Pro, 2 WD 640 gig SATA HDDs, WD 750 gig HDD (eSata), WD 1TB Black HDD, Sandisk 32 GB ReadyCache SSD, 2 SATA DVD Burners, Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speaker System, Corsair TX750w PSU, HSPC Top Deck Tech Station, Windows 7 Pro x64
Mike89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-04, 12:37 PM   #6
Edge
3d animator for hire!
 
Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,564
Default Re: Taking the 60 fps cap off Doom 3

Wait...how does it remove the tic limit without affecting game speed? All movement and actions are tied to the 60fps tic, if you remove it then nothing is keeping track of the game speed, and afaik there's no way to actually get more than 60fps without simply removing the tic rate. Hmm, that's wierd, I'm gonna have to check this out and figure out how it works, although why wouldn't it be like that by default?
Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remastered Doom 3 BFG Edition Game Coming with Stereo 3D Support News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 06-01-12 05:30 AM
Doom 3 BFG Edition will feature entire Doom series, seven new Doom 3 levels News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-31-12 05:40 AM
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-30-02 11:59 PM
Doom 3 technology for Quake 1 Kruno Gaming Central 104 10-09-02 09:56 PM
low fps why??? nipster Benchmarking And Overclocking 4 08-07-02 02:35 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.