Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-19-04, 02:34 PM   #1
Cheimison
Not Even Trying Anymore
 
Cheimison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 230
Default My 6800 seems to be underperforming

GeForce 6800 GT OCed, Athlon 64 3400+, 1 gig RAM
Okay, turning the quality to default and leaving AF and noAA to application controlled I ran in 1600x1200 in high quality mode on Doom3, using timedemo1, and got 34.something FPS, whereas HARDOCP was getting an average of 57.something FPS. Any ideas as to why my performance is subpar?
__________________
Keep Your People Armed
It's for the Children
Cheimison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-04, 08:55 PM   #2
IGx89
Registered User
 
IGx89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 34
Send a message via MSN to IGx89
Default Re: My 6800 seems to be underperforming

If it isn't already, try changing your AGP aperture size to 256mb in the BIOS; that seemed to help my 6800NU.
IGx89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-04, 09:10 PM   #3
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: My 6800 seems to be underperforming

Should double check to make sure your motherboard chipset drivers are properly installed and that you run the timedemo twice consecutively, taking the second score as the proper one.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-04, 09:47 PM   #4
Cheimison
Not Even Trying Anymore
 
Cheimison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 230
Default Re: My 6800 seems to be underperforming

Increased my arpeture size and updated my chipset drivers, and I did get a performance boost. However I'm still doing 52fps on the second timedemo. That's not by any means bad, but considering my card is OCed over hte HardOCP levels and my proccessor is faster and I have more RAM, I find it odd that I'd be doing 5fps less.
__________________
Keep Your People Armed
It's for the Children
Cheimison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-04, 09:55 PM   #5
IGx89
Registered User
 
IGx89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 34
Send a message via MSN to IGx89
Default Re: My 6800 seems to be underperforming

My Athlon 64 3200 @2.4ghz and 6800NU computer gets ~47fps in demo1 (2nd run) at High Quality 1280x1024 0xAA (and 49.5fps with 2xAA!?), and it also does seem slower than most benchmarks I've seen.
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+ (512k) @ 2.3ghz
eVGA 6800NU
1gb RAM
Antec SuperLANBoy w/ TRUE430 PSU
WinTV PVR-250 w/ BeyondTV3
IGx89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-04, 10:06 PM   #6
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: My 6800 seems to be underperforming

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheimison
GeForce 6800 GT OCed, Athlon 64 3400+, 1 gig RAM
Okay, turning the quality to default and leaving AF and noAA to application controlled I ran in 1600x1200 in high quality mode on Doom3, using timedemo1, and got 34.something FPS, whereas HARDOCP was getting an average of 57.something FPS. Any ideas as to why my performance is subpar?
coupla questions...

what chipset are you running on...

and do you experience subpar scores with any other benchmarks?
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-04, 10:17 PM   #7
Cheimison
Not Even Trying Anymore
 
Cheimison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 230
Default Re: My 6800 seems to be underperforming

VIA something or other on an MSI mainboard
I was generally scoring lower than normal on benchmarks, but now that I updated drivers I'll run again

And I just ran timedemo demo1 on Ultra Quality at 1600x1200 with 2xqAA (patented nVidia thing, sort of a mix of 2x and 4xAA) and 16xAF, with the Ultra Extreme Quality mod (self-shadowing) and got 40something the first time and 50fps the second time.

I think either the AGP Aperture thing or the chipset drivers were causing the hitching,
__________________
Keep Your People Armed
It's for the Children
Cheimison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-04, 10:53 PM   #8
Cheimison
Not Even Trying Anymore
 
Cheimison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 230
Default Re: My 6800 seems to be underperforming

Thanks much to everyone who responded, your recommendations have doubled my score on 3dmark2003, improved my doom3 performance noticeably and also got me to look at my case long enough to realise one of my four fans wasn't plugged in.
__________________
Keep Your People Armed
It's for the Children
Cheimison is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-19-04, 11:00 PM   #9
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: My 6800 seems to be underperforming

i was gonna say it might be an idea to get newer chipset drivers

there are new hyperion drivers out for the chipset that dropped about a week ago or less... if you don't have em... grab em...

the aperture generally doesn't make a difference but who knows... quirks abound with hardware
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.