Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-20-04, 05:17 PM   #1
SNIKT!
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Default fx5900xt power shortfall

Just bought Chaintech FX5900XT.
Got message not enough power to run it satisfactorily.
Sounds like I need to hook up supply directly to psu but user guide offers no guidance.
Anyone give me any advice on this?
SNIKT! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-04, 05:42 PM   #2
MOC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ridley Park , PA.
Posts: 43
Default Re: fx5900xt power shortfall

First do you no the size of your P/S
I would think that 450watt would be
the smallest you would go.

I just bought this one for a 2nd
P/C.
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...104-968&depa=0

I have this one too.
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...103-924&depa=1
__________________
3400+ CG Mobile 754 @ 2772Mhz
Modded XP-90 (for mobile)
DFI 250Gb _NF3_UT
G.Skill DDR 400 _ 1Gb
BFG 7800GS_OC _ 565/1560
3_DiamondMax _ 300Gb
Thermaltake Purepower 680W PSU
Thermaltake Xaser III
MOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-04, 06:24 PM   #3
subbo
Registered User
 
subbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 452
Default Re: fx5900xt power shortfall

I've been using a 250W for the FX5950U for a year.. 450W? bah.
btw doesnt that message only apper when the power cable isnt hooked to the card
subbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-04, 06:33 PM   #4
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default Re: fx5900xt power shortfall

I got the message repeatidly when I first installed my FX5900XT. I had an Enermax 350w at the time and was surprised it wasn't enough. So I bought an Antec True 550w and it never happen again. But for FX cards, an Antec True 430w or equivalent is fine.
__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-04, 06:52 PM   #5
ricercar
fugue master
 
ricercar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: silicon valley
Posts: 1,603
Default Re: fx5900xt power shortfall

I've seen that message appear for a 5900 Ultra with power cable attached on PSUs up to 350W, but never on my 380 or a higher wattage PSUs. FWIW all PSUs tested are Antecs, but YMMV.
__________________
I used to drive a Heisenberg, but whenever I'd glance at the speedometer, I'd get lost.
ricercar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-04, 01:10 AM   #6
mezkal
Registered User
 
mezkal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: ...Twisting the Vertices of Reality...
Posts: 358
Default Re: fx5900xt power shortfall

Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIKT!
Just bought Chaintech FX5900XT.
Got message not enough power to run it satisfactorily.
Sounds like I need to hook up supply directly to psu but user guide offers no guidance.
Anyone give me any advice on this?
Frankly it's really a driver issue. I've only got that Sentinel message with 62.2X and 61.77. No other driver set has ever complained. Try Switching drivers.

Also, I'm not sure that you the molex connector connected. Make sure you do.

Cheers,

mezkal
__________________
Core 2 Duo e6750
Gigabyte N650i DS4 Motherboard
4GB PC 6400 Corsair XMS2 DDR2 RAM
Zalman CNPS 9700 HSF
Thermaltake Soprano Case w/ clear side door and all three fans mounted
Antec TruPower 2.0 PSU
Gigabyte Geforce 8600GTS Fanless
2 x Dvico Hybrid HDTV tuners
1 x Loewe 32" SDTV @ 1440x820 custom res via SVIDEO
(can't afford a new TV just yet)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NVJoe
In defense of Cooper Lawrence : "I hate gamers and the gaming community."
mezkal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-04, 02:41 AM   #7
SNIKT!
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Default Re: fx5900xt power shortfall

THX everyone for your advice.
It was the loex connector and now use 400w psu and all sems to be fine.

Now Doom 3 awaits - any recommendations as to settings to get th emost out of this game.

My computer specs are:

Processor
Model : AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2400+
L2 On-board Cache : 256kB ECC synchronous write-back

Mainboard and BIOS
Bus(es) : ISA AGP PCI USB SMBus/i2c
MP Support : No
System BIOS : American Megatrends Inc. 07.00T
Mainboard : ECS K7S5A
System Chipset : Silicon Integrated Systems (SiS) SiS735 CPU to PCI Bridge
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 133MHz (266MHz data rate)
Installed Memory : 512MB DDR-SDRAM
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 133MHz (266MHz data rate)

Video System
Monitor/Panel : Hansol 710P/710D
Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce FX 5900XT

MultiMedia Device(s)
Device : MPU-401 Compatible MIDI Device
Device : Standard Game Port
Device : Creative SB Live! Value
Device : Creative Game Port

Operating System(s)
Windows System : Microsoft Windows XP Home Ver 5.01.2600 Service Pack 1

Psu
Mercury 440w model KOB AP4 400CE
SNIKT! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-04, 02:45 AM   #8
SNIKT!
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Default Re: fx5900xt power shortfall

sorry for loex read molex!

NVIDIA driver installed is 61.76
SNIKT! is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New DLC Available - Warlock: Master of the Arcane - Power of the Serpent News Archived News Items 0 05-29-12 05:30 PM
After Greenpeace Protests, Apple Promises to Dump Coal Power News Archived News Items 0 05-18-12 03:10 AM
Power Management (XP) Iron1384 Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 6 08-22-02 01:29 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.