Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-29-02, 12:51 PM   #13
potash
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Oppps, the attachment lost when I preview the post.
Attached Files
File Type: txt xfree86.0.log.txt (20.8 KB, 216 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-02, 12:54 PM   #14
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default

Perhaps it really is a driver bug. The chipset doesn't seem to be supported then. (the log file still isn't complete)
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-02, 01:04 PM   #15
potash
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

You mean the new log file is also incomplete?

Well, the log file is obtained after I logout of my X session and returns to text mode in run-level 3.

If this is really a driver bug, I hope it will get fix so I don't have to dump my Gigabyte M/Board.

Or should I dump it?
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-02, 01:29 PM   #16
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default

So X starts after all? How do you start X? Are you switching to runtime level 5 (gdm/xdm/kdm) or do you use just startx? For testing I would use normal startx.
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-02, 01:36 PM   #17
potash
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I used normal startx in both cases. In the first case, the X server seems to hang or something, the X-shaped cursor never show up. In the second case the X server starts and the desktop loaded. Both tested in run-level 3.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-02, 01:46 PM   #18
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default

So X shows things after all or was that only on the other non-SIS 646 DX system?

If you still don't get an image on the SIS 645 chipset report a bug report I think to linux-bugs@nvidia.com
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-02, 10:07 PM   #19
potash
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

No, X didn't show up on the SiS 645 DX chipset machine, but it work on another machine with older Asus M/Board (can't remember the chipset off my mind). Perhaps I'll try again later on to confirm it, and submit a bug report if it don't work.

In the mean time, do you, or anyone, know of a good MicroATX form factor M/Board that has a AGP slot, support PC-2100 SDRAM, onboard NIC and audio, to recommend?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-02, 12:49 AM   #20
thebunny
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

The NVidia's driver will use the loaded agpgart.o (if it's loaded) no matter what XF86Config says. Did you try unloading agpgart (oh and DRI as well) before doing startx?

Just a thought..
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-02-02, 04:34 AM   #21
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default

It is actually better for him to use agpgart since agpgart has support for new chipsets earlier than the builtin nvagp. And normally it doesn't really matter which you use.
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-02, 10:14 AM   #22
thebunny
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Oh I see. I was just speaking from my experience. I have a VIA Apollo Pro 133A north bridge which is quite old and well supported in the kernel yet all the games kept crashing until I went with the NVidia AGP (I removed both agpgart & DRI). Well in any case, he can remove the DRI because NVidia isn't using that at all. Right?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-02, 11:14 AM   #23
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default

Things like DRI and agpgart are in modules so that is not a problem at all. If I were him I would send a bug report to nvidia. Normally when any agp is disabled (not using nvagp/apgart) a system should still function using the drivers in X. His chipset is too new to have been added to the drivers. (he can add it to nv.c not sure if he did it already and compile a custom driver to use)

linux-bugs@nvidia.com
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-02, 04:33 PM   #24
lunix
Registered User
 
lunix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 69
Send a message via MSN to lunix
Default

Hey, I had the same problem with my SIS 645 Ultra. In the BIOS on the 1st or 2nd screen disable APIC. For some reason with APIC enabled it was not assigning a IRQ to VGA. I could tell cause NVDriver bitched about it when I modprobed it from CLI.
__________________
Gentoo
lunix is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.