Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-25-04, 04:46 PM   #1
DenverBuc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 137
Default Refresh Rates Determination



OK - I know this is a n00bish question, but how can I tell what refresh rates the 5900 ultra supports at what resolutions?

Also, how can I then tell my Monitor's supported refresh rates at those same resolutions?
DenverBuc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-04, 06:53 PM   #2
jimmor
Registered User
 
jimmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 568
Default Re: Refresh Rates Determination

Quote:
Originally Posted by DenverBuc


OK - I know this is a n00bish question, but how can I tell what refresh rates the 5900 ultra supports at what resolutions?

Also, how can I then tell my Monitor's supported refresh rates at those same resolutions?
Generally it is more important to know what your monitor supports, and then set rates accordingly ??

first of all, did you install your monitor with manufacturers driver, or with OS "default" or "plug and play" driver ?

If you properly installed with manufacturers driver, then for WinXP, use RefreshForce program to check and set refresh rates for your setup,

http://www.pagehosting.co.uk/rf/

Also, most important to accept that RefreshForce will identify max rates for a given resolution, so don't set anything higher than the given max values !!!
__________________
The more I know, the more I know I don't know

Intel P4 3.2 @ 3.85GHz (ASUS P4C800E-Deluxe)
BFG 6800GS (16x1,6vp) @ 300/430/1200.

Driver, 82.12 :-
Aquamark3, 75039
Codecreatures1, 90.8
3Dmark05 v120, 6195
3Dmark03 v360, 14334
3Dmark06 v102, 2949
3Dmark2001se v330, 23793.
jimmor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-04, 08:22 AM   #3
DenverBuc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 137
Default Re: Refresh Rates Determination

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmor
Generally it is more important to know what your monitor supports, and then set rates accordingly ??

first of all, did you install your monitor with manufacturers driver, or with OS "default" or "plug and play" driver ?

If you properly installed with manufacturers driver, then for WinXP, use RefreshForce program to check and set refresh rates for your setup,

http://www.pagehosting.co.uk/rf/

Also, most important to accept that RefreshForce will identify max rates for a given resolution, so don't set anything higher than the given max values !!!
Thanks! I will give that little proggie a try.
DenverBuc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GeForce4 and dual monitor refresh rates elusive NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 1 10-04-02 02:47 AM
WinXP SP1 and refresh rates?? Caleb Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 3 09-16-02 11:36 AM
bad refresh rates with 2960 matze42 NVIDIA Linux 2 09-07-02 09:13 AM
Radeon9700 Refresh Rates StealthHawk Other Desktop Graphics Cards 4 08-22-02 10:28 AM
Custom Refresh Rates, DPI, and Other Display Tweaking Phyre NVIDIA Linux 3 08-02-02 03:32 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.