Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-27-04, 02:59 PM   #13
nippyjun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 489
Default Re: Question about hitches w/ ultra quality

Thanks
nippyjun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-04, 05:46 AM   #14
Cheimison
Not Even Trying Anymore
 
Cheimison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 230
Default Re: Question about hitches w/ ultra quality

"internet bandwidth isn't free"
I refuse to use any connection under 1mbit, so as far as I'm concerned it is. I used the internet like 3 times a week back when 56k was the only thing around. I also basically never played until a 500mhz came out (I did play Duke 3d and Blake Stone). I always thought old computers/internet sucked.

Jpegs are actually around 1/12th the size on 15Compression (Photoshop default), but you lose image quality. I don't think they're really neccesary on a modern machine, I've got a 180 gig hard drive and a 1.5mbit uncapped cable modem, so why bother compressing anything?
__________________
Keep Your People Armed
It's for the Children
Cheimison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-04, 06:42 AM   #15
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Question about hitches w/ ultra quality

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheimison
I've got a 180 gig hard drive and a 1.5mbit uncapped cable modem, so why bother compressing anything?
Because most people dont have broadband, and are using old computers.

And the comment about bandwidth isnt about your personal bandwidth. Its the bandwidth of the servers that are generous enough to host images for free. Like nVnews. You can attach files\images to your posts.
Servers\websites pay for bandwidth. If everyone was trying to move around 6Mb image files rather than a few hundred K, servers would either have to pay out the ass for more bandwidth, or get bogged down all the time. Not to mention the poor folks trying to view the images on slow connections.

On topic though (sort of) I dont really see how jpeg compression on a screenshot would effect specular lighting or whatever Ultra mode supposedly enhances. If its that unnoticable that a minescule blur on a screenshot negates it, then why are people sacrificing performance for it?
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-04, 09:27 AM   #16
Cheimison
Not Even Trying Anymore
 
Cheimison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 230
Default Re: Question about hitches w/ ultra quality

It is noticeble in game, and I run it that way for the same reason I take screenshots in PNGs - you can tell the difference looking at it, and if you don't like the inferior quality of the compressed specular maps and 8xAF (default in High) then you'll switch up to ultra. Also, there isn't a performance sacrifice if you're running a 6800 GT or comparable. It doesn't drop your framerate in any noticeable manner, what it does is when you open a new door or pull your flashlight out in a previously pitch black room sometimes it drops to basically nothing for about a third of a second while it shuffles data around, and then it goes back up to 40-60fpsl.
__________________
Keep Your People Armed
It's for the Children
Cheimison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-04, 04:07 PM   #17
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Question about hitches w/ ultra quality

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheimison
It is noticeble in game, and I run it that way for the same reason I take screenshots in PNGs - you can tell the difference looking at it, and if you don't like the inferior quality of the compressed specular maps and 8xAF (default in High) then you'll switch up to ultra. Also, there isn't a performance sacrifice if you're running a 6800 GT or comparable. It doesn't drop your framerate in any noticeable manner, what it does is when you open a new door or pull your flashlight out in a previously pitch black room sometimes it drops to basically nothing for about a third of a second while it shuffles data around, and then it goes back up to 40-60fpsl.
Well I just ran it in ultra and high modes at 1600x1200 and took screenshots. They are too big to post because they are uncompressed ( ) but they show *0* difference in quality. I didnt have the angle perfect, but the few pixels that are different are almost completely unnoticable until I zoomed in 4:1. And the differences are so small that its impossible to say that one is better than the other.

My performance on the other hand went to crap. I dont know how you can stand that pause when you open doors\change weapons\see enemies. And load times are noticeably longer in Ultra mode. Not to mention windows was totaly bogged down after I quit the game because all of my ram was gone (but thats another problem entirely).

I guess this would work better if you could take screenshots of a scene that shows the difference in High and Ultra Quality... because in the one I had (lots of shiny metal and lights) there was NO difference. Also:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheimison
and if you don't like the inferior quality of the compressed specular maps and 8xAF (default in High) then you'll switch up to ultra..
whats wrong with using 8xAF? Isnt it on in Ultra quality too? I think it makes the game look great.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-04, 04:44 AM   #18
Cheimison
Not Even Trying Anymore
 
Cheimison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 230
Default Re: Question about hitches w/ ultra quality

Ultra is 16xAF
__________________
Keep Your People Armed
It's for the Children
Cheimison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-04, 01:50 PM   #19
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Question about hitches w/ ultra quality

high quality, and ultra quality are both 8xaf
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-04, 04:33 PM   #20
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Question about hitches w/ ultra quality

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp
high quality, and ultra quality are both 8xaf
Yeah thats what i thought, because not all cards support 16xAF... and Doom 3's scenes are probably (i havent tried it) too small to see the advantages of 16x over 8x.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nvidia driver quality decrease? legluondunet NVIDIA Linux 17 06-26-12 11:03 AM
EA gains Linux Attention. Better Quality Drivers Please! Ruinairas NVIDIA Linux 4 05-09-12 02:12 PM
1st post - XP Restore question Needa916 Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 2 09-12-02 06:24 PM
Dual boot question.. Tactics General Hardware 15 09-07-02 11:39 AM
Color quality of the GeForce4 Ti 4600 and Radeon 8500 Turnbolt NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 23 08-27-02 09:12 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.