Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-03-04, 07:09 PM   #1
Subtestube
Anisymbolic
 
Subtestube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 1,365
Default Rome: Total War - graphics in the Demo

Anyone know if the 'reflective water' should work in the demo on a 6800 NU? Just interested, because it doesn't work on mine. Hrm.
__________________
Dr Possible: Core 2 Duo E6400 on Gigabyte GA-965P-DS4. Galaxy GeForce 7600GT. 2GB Corsair XMS 2 DDR2-6400 RAM (CL5). ATi Theatre 550 Pro. Windows XP MCE. All stored in Piano black Antec Sonata II, with a broken door.

Mobile: ASUS M2400N, Pentium M 1.5 GHz. 512 MB DDR RAM. Intel EXTREME graphics. Windows XP SP 2 / Ubuntu 5.10.

Ridiculous DOES not have an 'e' in it. It comes from "ridicule" and has less than nothing to do with the colour red.
Subtestube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-04, 07:44 PM   #2
Clay
Registered User
 
Clay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,992
Default Re: Rome: Total War - graphics in the Demo

I'm not getting any reflection either.
__________________
SLI GeForce 7800 GTX 512MB @ 550/1700 | MSI K8N Neo4/SLI | A64 X2 4400+ Toledo | CORSAIR XMS 2GB (2 x 1GB) TwinX PC 3500 | Silverstone ST65ZF 650W| 93.71| XP SP2 and a Dell 2405FPW

I personally believe that us americans are unable to do so because osama.

People out there in our nation don't have that, And I believe that our education like such as south africa and such as the Iraq.

everywhere "such as". And I believe our education should help the US should help the south africa and the iraq and the asian countries so we can build up our future.
-- Miss Teen South Carolina

Clay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-04, 01:28 AM   #3
nVidi0t
Quad Damage
 
nVidi0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: San Fancisco. CA
Posts: 1,569
Send a message via ICQ to nVidi0t
Default Re: Rome: Total War - graphics in the Demo

No reflection here.
__________________
System: Intel Core 2 e6600 @ 3.6ghz (450*8) @ 1.475v | Koolance Exos 2 Water Cooler | 4096Mb Mushkin ASCENT 8500 @ 2.1v @ 1160Mhz| Asus P5k Deluxe P35 'bearlake' 804bios | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 850W| BFG 8800GT OC2 675Mhz | 150GB WD Raptor X | Seagate Barracuda 250GB SATA | Lian Li V2000 PC2 Case | Pioneer DL Burner | Creative Sound Blaster X-FI FATAL1TY FPS | Dell 2707WFP 27" LCD | Windows Vista Ultimate | Sennheiser HD-590 Prestige/Sennheiser HD-650 Headphones w/ Emmeline Hornet Amp | Razer Deathadder | Razer tarantula Keyboard |
nVidi0t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-04, 04:52 AM   #4
RoJo
Feel the Nforce...
 
RoJo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 85
Default Re: Rome: Total War - graphics in the Demo

Same here also!
__________________
Intel i7 920 DO @ 4ghz | Gigabyte EX58-UD5 | BFG GTX295 @ 648 2220 | Patriot Viper 6GB | Samsung T240 | Vista 64 | X-Fi Fatal1ty | Logitech Z-5500 5.1
RoJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-04, 06:07 AM   #5
Mr.Clawz950
Hi
 
Mr.Clawz950's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: KY, USA
Posts: 122
Default Re: Rome: Total War - graphics in the Demo

Yep, ditto.
__________________
System 1 : AMD X2 6400+ @ 3.4Ghz | ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe | 4GB OCZ PC6400 (2x2048) | Dual BFG GeForce 8800GTXs | Western Digital 74GB Raptor | Western Digital 250GB HDD | Lite-On 52x24x52 CD-RW | Memorex DVD-R | X-Fi Fatal1ty | Antec Plusview 1000AMG w/CoolMax 850Watt PSU | Windows Vista 64-bit | 20Mbps/2Mbps Cable

System 2 : AMD X2 5200+ @ 2.8Ghz | ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe | 4GB Corsair XMS2 PC6400 (4x1024) | BFG GeForce 7800GTX | Western Digital 74GB Raptor | Western Digital 160GB HDD | Lite-On 52x24x52 CD-RW | Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS | Antec Plusview 1000AMG w/TruePower 550Watt PSU | Windows XP w/SP2 | 20Mbps/2Mbps Cable
Mr.Clawz950 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-04, 07:36 AM   #6
Subtestube
Anisymbolic
 
Subtestube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 1,365
Default Re: Rome: Total War - graphics in the Demo

I think we've established that that shader does NOT seem to be functioning in the demo Still gonna buy the game when it comes out though, in all probability.
__________________
Dr Possible: Core 2 Duo E6400 on Gigabyte GA-965P-DS4. Galaxy GeForce 7600GT. 2GB Corsair XMS 2 DDR2-6400 RAM (CL5). ATi Theatre 550 Pro. Windows XP MCE. All stored in Piano black Antec Sonata II, with a broken door.

Mobile: ASUS M2400N, Pentium M 1.5 GHz. 512 MB DDR RAM. Intel EXTREME graphics. Windows XP SP 2 / Ubuntu 5.10.

Ridiculous DOES not have an 'e' in it. It comes from "ridicule" and has less than nothing to do with the colour red.
Subtestube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-04, 10:16 AM   #7
BioHazZarD
USCM Marine
 
BioHazZarD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,369
Send a message via MSN to BioHazZarD
Default Re: Rome: Total War - graphics in the Demo

what they are disabled in the demo wtf..?
__________________
Chieftec Miditower /w 5 case fans | Corsair 620W HX PSU | Asus M4N98TD EVO SLI | AMD Athlon2 X2 260 3,2GHz | Corsair 3GB PC3-10666 | eVGA Geforce GTX 460 1GB (336shader) | Samsung Spinpoint x2 250GB HD +SATA 320GB | SB Audigy 4 @ 2.1 | Samsung Syncmaster BX2331 TFT 23" running 1920x1080@60hz | Windows XP PRO SP2 | |
BioHazZarD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-04, 12:44 PM   #8
nVidi0t
Quad Damage
 
nVidi0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: San Fancisco. CA
Posts: 1,569
Send a message via ICQ to nVidi0t
Default Re: Rome: Total War - graphics in the Demo

I'm still buying the game. It stomps every other RTS game into the ground. I cant wait to get my hands on the campaign map.
__________________
System: Intel Core 2 e6600 @ 3.6ghz (450*8) @ 1.475v | Koolance Exos 2 Water Cooler | 4096Mb Mushkin ASCENT 8500 @ 2.1v @ 1160Mhz| Asus P5k Deluxe P35 'bearlake' 804bios | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 850W| BFG 8800GT OC2 675Mhz | 150GB WD Raptor X | Seagate Barracuda 250GB SATA | Lian Li V2000 PC2 Case | Pioneer DL Burner | Creative Sound Blaster X-FI FATAL1TY FPS | Dell 2707WFP 27" LCD | Windows Vista Ultimate | Sennheiser HD-590 Prestige/Sennheiser HD-650 Headphones w/ Emmeline Hornet Amp | Razer Deathadder | Razer tarantula Keyboard |
nVidi0t is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-05-04, 06:37 PM   #9
slybeans
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 13
Default Re: Rome: Total War - graphics in the Demo

would my specs run it alright?
slybeans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-04, 07:20 PM   #10
Subtestube
Anisymbolic
 
Subtestube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 1,365
Default Re: Rome: Total War - graphics in the Demo

Ahhhhm... would you like to tell us what your specs are? Then maybe we can help you! As for why they're disabled, search me! In the Far Cry demo DX 9.0 effects were disabled also. It's possible that when the TW demo was finished they hadn't finalised shader versions and so just left 'em out.

EDIT: Sorry, just checked your public profile. Yes, there's no reason your PC shouldn't run the game fine. You probably won't be able to set all the detail settings to full, but the game ran fine on mine even when I was using an MX 460. You might be a wee bit CPU limited, but apparently the engine scales very well, even when thousands of soldiers are battling at once.

EDIT 2: Anyone know if the game is going to be using any SM 3.0 functions in the long term? As I would've thought that something like this would be a *perfect* candidate for geometry instancing.
__________________
Dr Possible: Core 2 Duo E6400 on Gigabyte GA-965P-DS4. Galaxy GeForce 7600GT. 2GB Corsair XMS 2 DDR2-6400 RAM (CL5). ATi Theatre 550 Pro. Windows XP MCE. All stored in Piano black Antec Sonata II, with a broken door.

Mobile: ASUS M2400N, Pentium M 1.5 GHz. 512 MB DDR RAM. Intel EXTREME graphics. Windows XP SP 2 / Ubuntu 5.10.

Ridiculous DOES not have an 'e' in it. It comes from "ridicule" and has less than nothing to do with the colour red.

Last edited by Subtestube; 09-05-04 at 07:32 PM.
Subtestube is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thoughts from console owners on NVIDIA's GEFORCE GRID MikeC Console World 11 05-27-12 08:43 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.