Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-01-04, 05:25 PM   #1
Sugarat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5
Default GeForceFX Dual-screen no work!

Hi All,

Can somebody please point out to me what it is I'm missing here. I have three large Sun monitors connected to my system. Two of them (the middle one, and the left one) are fed from a GeForce FX. The right one is fed by a PCI Radeon card. With my current configuration none of them seem to be working, although the middle screen and the right one, driven off a radeon 'were' working before I fiddled with the config file.

I don't want to use TwinView, but instead want to have each head on the GeForce FX configured in x.org as a separate display. Having followed the NVIDIA Instructions.. I've got precisely nowhere.

Help!

Log file and config file follow.. Many thanks.

Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
	Identifier     "Multihead layout"
	Screen      0  "Middle"
	Screen      1  "LeftScreen" LeftOf "Middle"
	Screen	    2  "RightScreen" RightOf "Middle"
	InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
	InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
	Option	    "Xinerama" "on"
	Option	    "Clone" "off"
EndSection

Section "Files"
	RgbPath      "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
	FontPath     "unix/:7100"
EndSection



Section "InputDevice"
	Identifier  "Keyboard0"
	Driver      "keyboard"
	Option	    "XkbModel" "pc105"
	Option	    "XkbLayout" "gb"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
	Identifier  "Mouse0"
	Driver      "mouse"
	Option	    "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
	Option	    "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
	Option	    "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
	Option	    "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
	Identifier   "MiddleMonitor"
	VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
	ModelName    "GDM-5510"
	HorizSync    30.0 - 130.0
	VertRefresh  48.0 - 170.0
	Option	    "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
	Identifier   "RightMonitor"
	VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
	ModelName    "GDM-5510"
	HorizSync    30.0 - 130.0
	VertRefresh  48.0 - 170.0
	Option	    "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
	Identifier   "LeftMonitor"
	VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
	ModelName    "GDM-5510"
	HorizSync    30.0 - 130.0
	VertRefresh  48.0 - 170.0
	Option	    "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
	Identifier  "Nvidia0"
	Driver      "nvidia"
	Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT, CRT"
	#BusID		"PCI:1:0:0"
	Screen		0
EndSection

Section "Device"
	Identifier 	"Nvidia1"
	Driver		"nvidia"
	#BusID		"PCI:1:0:0"
	Screen		1
EndSection

Section "Device"
	Identifier  "RadeonCard"
	Driver      "radeon"
	VendorName  "Videocard Vendor"
	BoardName   "ATI Radeon 7000"
	#BusID       "PCI:2:5:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
	Identifier "Middle"
	Device     "Nvidia0"
	Monitor    "MiddleMonitor"
	DefaultDepth     24
	SubSection "Display"
		Viewport   0 0
		Depth     24
		Modes    "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
	EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
	Identifier "LeftScreen"
	Device     "Nvidia1"
	Monitor    "LeftMonitor"
	DefaultDepth     24
	SubSection "Display"
		Viewport   0 0
		Depth     24
		Modes    "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
	EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
	Identifier "RightScreen"
	Device     "RadeonCard"
	Monitor    "RightMonitor"
	DefaultDepth     24
	SubSection "Display"
		Viewport   0 0
		Depth     24
		Modes    "1280x1024"
	EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "DRI"
	Group        0
	Mode         0666
EndSection

Section "Module"
	Load  "dbe"
	Load  "extmod"
	Load  "fbdevhw"
	Load  "glx"
	Load  "record"
	Load  "freetype"
	Load  "type1"
	Load  "dri"
EndSection
Sugarat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-04, 05:27 PM   #2
Sugarat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5
Default Re: GeForceFX Dual-screen no work!

Here is the log..
Attached Files
File Type: txt Xorg.0.log.txt (29.5 KB, 146 views)
Sugarat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-04, 05:22 PM   #3
scowl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 31
Default Re: GeForceFX Dual-screen no work!

Whenever you get the "Multiple displays connected, but only one display allowed" error that means you need to put "ConnectedMonitor" options in each Screen section. Put

Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT-0"

in your LeftScreen "Screen" section and

Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT-1"

in your Middle "Screen" section.

And it will work for some stupid reason.
scowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-04, 06:11 AM   #4
Sugarat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5
Default Re: GeForceFX Dual-screen no work!

Do those option strings need to be in the Screen section then, - I thought they needed to be under the device sections?

Thanks for your advice however, - gave it a try and still no joy. I've got the middle and right screen working, but the extra head of the GeForce still no wanna play.

The log now contains this:

(WW) NVIDIA: More than one matching Device section found: Videocard2

I am rapidly coming to the conclusion that X is a pile of sh**. How can I fix this problem now..?

Code:
# Xorg configuration created by system-config-display

Section "ServerLayout"
	Identifier     "Multihead layout"
	Screen      0  "Screen0" LeftOf "Screen1"
	Screen      1  "Screen1"
	Screen      2  "Screen2" LeftOf "Screen0"
	InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
	InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
	Option	    "Xinerama" "on"
	Option	    "Clone" "off"
EndSection

Section "Files"
	RgbPath      "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
	FontPath     "unix/:7100"
EndSection

Section "Module"
	Load  "dbe"
	Load  "extmod"
	Load  "fbdevhw"
	Load  "glx"
	Load  "record"
	Load  "freetype"
	Load  "type1"
	Load  "dri"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# Specify which keyboard LEDs can be user-controlled (eg, with xset(1))
#	Option	"Xleds"		"1 2 3"
# To disable the XKEYBOARD extension, uncomment XkbDisable.
#	Option	"XkbDisable"
# To customise the XKB settings to suit your keyboard, modify the
# lines below (which are the defaults).  For example, for a non-U.S.
# keyboard, you will probably want to use:
#	Option	"XkbModel"	"pc102"
# If you have a US Microsoft Natural keyboard, you can use:
#	Option	"XkbModel"	"microsoft"
#
# Then to change the language, change the Layout setting.
# For example, a german layout can be obtained with:
#	Option	"XkbLayout"	"de"
# or:
#	Option	"XkbLayout"	"de"
#	Option	"XkbVariant"	"nodeadkeys"
#
# If you'd like to switch the positions of your capslock and
# control keys, use:
#	Option	"XkbOptions"	"ctrl:swapcaps"
# Or if you just want both to be control, use:
#	Option	"XkbOptions"	"ctrl:nocaps"
#
	Identifier  "Keyboard0"
	Driver      "keyboard"
	Option	    "XkbModel" "pc105"
	Option	    "XkbLayout" "gb"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
	Identifier  "Mouse0"
	Driver      "mouse"
	Option	    "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
	Option	    "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
	Option	    "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
	Option	    "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"

	#DisplaySize  400	300
	Identifier   "Monitor0"
	VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
	ModelName    "GDM-5510"
	HorizSync    30.0 - 130.0
	VertRefresh  48.0 - 170.0
	Option	    "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
	Identifier   "Monitor1"
	VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
	ModelName    "Monitor 1280x1024"
	HorizSync    31.5 - 79.0
	VertRefresh  50.0 - 90.0
	Option	    "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
	Identifier  "Videocard0"
	Driver      "nvidia"
	VendorName  "Videocard vendor"
	BoardName   "NVIDIA GeForce FX (generic)"
	Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT-0"
	Screen 0
	#BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
	Identifier  "Videocard1"
	Driver      "radeon"
	VendorName  "Videocard Vendor"
	BoardName   "ATI Radeon 7000"
	BusID       "PCI:2:5:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
	Identifier  "Videocard2"
	Driver      "nvidia"
	VendorName  "Videocard vendor"
	BoardName   "NVIDIA GeForce FX (generic)"
	Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT-1"
	Screen 2
	#BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
	Identifier "Screen0"
	Device     "Videocard0"
	 Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT-0" 
	Monitor    "Monitor0"
	DefaultDepth     24
	SubSection "Display"
		Viewport   0 0
		Depth     24
		Modes    "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
	EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
	Identifier "Screen1"
	Device     "Videocard1"
	Monitor    "Monitor1"
	DefaultDepth     24
	SubSection "Display"
		Viewport   0 0
		Depth     24
		Modes    "1280x1024"
	EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
	Identifier "Screen2"
	Device     "Videocard2"
	Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT-1"
	Monitor    "Monitor0"
	DefaultDepth     24
	SubSection "Display"
		Viewport   0 0
		Depth     24
		Modes    "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
	EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "DRI"
	Group        0
	Mode         0666
EndSection
Sugarat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-04, 03:26 PM   #5
scowl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 31
Default Re: GeForceFX Dual-screen no work!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sugarat
Do those option strings need to be in the Screen section then, - I thought they needed to be under the device sections?
Well in my case they worked in the Screen section.

You might want to try uncommenting the BusId lines. I'm sure you can isolate the problem by eliminating things.
scowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with dual monitors on 302.17 edsrzf NVIDIA Linux 7 07-11-12 05:10 PM
Toshiba Sat 1950 screen setup beaulieu NVIDIA Linux 7 06-13-03 03:17 PM
Redhat 8.0 NVIDIA works - INSTRUCTIONS STEEL1 NVIDIA Linux 267 04-15-03 06:48 PM
Need help to get the X to work on my Acer TravelMate 630 knchee NVIDIA Linux 16 09-19-02 10:16 PM
Dual Display with main CRT, and secondary TV-out BlackDogg NVIDIA Linux 3 08-10-02 09:52 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.