Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-01-02, 03:33 AM   #13
SavagePaladin
info*****
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,395
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by elusive


stfu before MS puts licsensing fees on OpenGL

god, that day _will_ come, i know it
<shrug> it would be lame, but I'm not gonna worry about things that may/may not happen
SavagePaladin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-02, 04:16 AM   #14
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SavagePaladin

<shrug> it would be lame, but I'm not gonna worry about things that may/may not happen
exactly, we should only waste time speculating about things that we have evidence will happen. it will make the world a better place to have less unfounded conspiracy theories.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-02, 04:58 AM   #15
Kruno
TypeDef's assistant
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,641
Send a message via ICQ to Kruno Send a message via AIM to Kruno
Default

Bah! I'm sure some people will turn off a lot of the IQ "increasing" options because they look like crap to them (ie: shadows).
__________________
"Never before has any voice dared to utter the words of that tongue in Imladris, Mr. Anderson" - Elrond LOTR
Kruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-02, 06:46 AM   #16
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by K.I.L.E.R
Bah! I'm sure some people will turn off a lot of the IQ "increasing" options because they look like crap to them (ie: shadows).
i'm sure he'll fix them Doom 3 isn't coming out anytime soon.

anyway the game is somewhat worthless without the shadows, that's what all the hype is about.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-02, 07:42 AM   #17
Kruno
TypeDef's assistant
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,641
Send a message via ICQ to Kruno Send a message via AIM to Kruno
Default

I never did like shadows in any game. They look like crap and degrade quality (performance ain't a prob on my system but by disabling shadows you free cpu time. At least you can get 1 thing for another)
__________________
"Never before has any voice dared to utter the words of that tongue in Imladris, Mr. Anderson" - Elrond LOTR
Kruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-02, 09:57 AM   #18
SavagePaladin
info*****
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,395
Default

I dunno about that, the shadows in this Moto GP game look really damn nice.
http://www.3dgamers.com/dl/games/mot...cdemo.exe.html
game runs like a dream on my gf3 too
___
actually, everything in it looks really damn nice. save for the people off track, which never will in any racing game (yeah, so never might be a bit of a stretch, but you REALLY have to want to nitpick to care.)
SavagePaladin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-02, 02:37 PM   #19
lord kelvinn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Colombia
Posts: 20
Default

The game should run ok (30 fps) with all settings maxed out. Carmack said something like the full experience target of doom 3 was the geforce 3 class cards, and the minimum card was a geforce card. So I hope to run this game and the others that uses this engine with a geforce 4 at 1024 and all settings maxed out, without AA.
And the light system of the game is the greatest improve of the engine , if you turn it off, u will lose the greatest aspect of the game.
I dont know anything about the cpu required...(1.6G or more maybe???)
__________________
athlon xp 1.8+, asus a7v 266e, 512 ram, pny geforce ti4600
Sorry for my english
lord kelvinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-02, 09:36 PM   #20
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

that's really the thing though. yeah, a GF3, but with what CPU. 1.6GHz? that is a lot newer than the GF3. see what i'm getting at?

anyway, he never guaranteed anything, that was just his target. maybe things will run better, maybe worse. and by worse it could be 29fps, or 25fps. all baseless speculation
  Reply With Quote

Old 08-03-02, 01:37 AM   #21
nin_fragile14
Fat Tuna
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 509
Default Re: How do you think Doom III will perf on a gf4 ?

Quote:
Originally posted by demonized

Also is it possible that this game will be released in dvd-format..
or atleast have a dvd-version of the game. I want cinematics
I'm hoping they won't need a DVD because all cinematics will be in game. They'll probably look better than cinemas anyway.
__________________
2.66 P4 @ 3.0 Ghz / Geforce 6800 GT @ 410/1080/ 768 mb Samsung DDR333 @ 374 mhz / Abit IS7 / XP Pro / NEC 1760NX LCD
nin_fragile14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-02, 01:55 AM   #22
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Re: How do you think Doom III will perf on a gf4 ?

Quote:
Originally posted by nin_fragile14


I'm hoping they won't need a DVD because all cinematics will be in game. They'll probably look better than cinemas anyway.
yes, but would in-game cinematics run at 30fps
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Now Available - Doom 3: BFG Edition News Archived News Items 0 10-16-12 02:20 PM
Doom 3 BFG Edition will feature entire Doom series, seven new Doom 3 levels News Archived News Items 0 05-31-12 06:40 AM
Quakecon Doom III footage volt Gaming Central 7 08-17-02 01:11 AM
Doom III: Who cares? PCarr78 Gaming Central 36 08-06-02 01:55 PM
New DOOM III screenshots! malachi1313 Gaming Central 26 08-01-02 09:33 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.